We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, classy restaurant at Koa Kea Hotel”
Review of Red Salt

Red Salt
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Salt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Koloa
Description: Red Salt’s diverse menu by acclaimed Executive Chef and Kauai native Noelani Planas celebrates fresh Hawaiian seafood and produce in a casual, yet sophisticated seaside atmosphere. Modern dinner cuisine including vanilla bean-seared mahi, ahi tartare, and the decadently layered Red Salt burger are served in a contemporary setting. Select nights, the Red Salt Lounge is host to a sushi bar featuring the day’s freshest catch in innovative, isle-inspired rolls. Lounge and sushi bar seating are not available for reservation and is first come, first served. During morning hours, Red Salt offers tropical takes on traditional breakfast dishes, such as lobster benedict and lemon-pineapple soufflé pancakes, recently featured by Food Network.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great, classy restaurant at Koa Kea Hotel”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Service and food was fantastic. Lots of great choices. Upscale menu, but very well done. Servers were very knowledgeable and helpful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    950
    342
    141
    39
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castlewellan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Special Kauai Night”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Along the sunny south shore of Kauai, there are nice restaurants anything from burgers, fish and chips to the grand night out.
For that special night, I suggest the Red Salt Restaurant in the Koa Kea Hotel. It's a small, but elegant space just beyond the hotel lobby. The windows look out over the hotel pool and the tiki lanterns.
Inside the young staff is conscientious and helpful, without being over fussy and the food, which is excellent, is served with charm and elegance. The drinks are great - cocktails and a fine wine list. Weekends see sushi in the bar area, so all tastes are catered. The Maitre d' and his staff will see you attended to with great courtesy and you will have a great night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best of the week”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

During our week stay in Kauai we had dinners at several well reviewed restaurants but thought Red Salt was the best. Atmosphere is tasteful and modern. Wait staff was efficient and attentive. It was the food that separated this restaurant from the others. We shared a shrimp appetizer which was a tasty morsel ( rather small - 3 shrimp, each with a different sauce - the waiter warned us it was on the small side before we ordered so we were not surprised). Next we had 2 different fish entrees and each was perfectly cooked, generous in size and delicious. My only issue was we waited for our last meal to eat here...otherwise we would have gone a second time.
So here is our list of favorites mostly representing the south side where we stayed( in order of preference):
1. Red Salt - by far the best of our experiences
2. Josselyn's (some of the tapa dishes are large..we shared 3 for 2 ppl and had plenty)
3. Beach House (arrive at 5 to get a front row sunset viewing table in the lounge - full dinner served)
4.Hanale Dolphin ( service was off but they were trying)
5. Brenneck Beach Grill ( good for what it is)
6.Hukilau Lanai ( Yes it is #1 on TA..but not our experience on the night of our visit)
have fun exploring and thank you for sharing, TA always helps us choose well

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PnPinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent food in the Koa Kea resort”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The food is truly excellent. They have great fish options. The waiters were always friendly and gave good recommendations. I ate their 3 times as I was staying in the resort, but would recommend for anyone passing through the south shore for a nice dinner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TimTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best food and experience”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We dined at Roys, Tidepools and Red Salt during our stay on the south shore. The food and experience at Red Salt was the best by far. The flavors were well blended with interesting tropical nuances. The service was pleasant and attentive. Excellent value compared to Roys and Tidepools. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Red Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing