We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allerton Garden Visit”
Review of Allerton Garden

Allerton Garden
Ranked #3 of 32 things to do in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: NTBG’s Allerton Garden Garden is located on the south shore of Kauai in the picturesque Lawai Valley. Tours run daily and include a ride from the Visitors Center in Poipu along a scenic coastal route and continue along the valley rim on a former sugarcane train railbed. Visitors disembark on the valley floor to explore this former private estate, named by National Geographic Traveler magazine as one of the 50 places to see in a lifetime. Plants form the walls of outdoor rooms, the canopy of trees the ceiling. Housed within are elegant statuary and water features. A popular spot for photos is the ‘Jurassic trees’, with their massive curving roots.National Tropical Botanical Garden is a nonprofit institution, dedicated to saving and studying tropical plants.
Kansas City, MO
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Allerton Garden Visit”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Spectacular tour of the beautiful Allerton Garden (National Tropical Botanical Garden)! We learned about the phases of plant life on Kauai..."primitive (before man arrived on the island), native (what the Polynesian settlers brought with them) and modern. Our guide, Juan, was positively delightful and did all that he could to educate us on how Robert Allerton labored and used his ingenuity to create this paradise. He explained how each of the separate "botanical rooms" were created and the significance of their man made and natural features. Juan was expert at communicating and establishing a bond with the group he was leading. He also shared insights gained by his long time working at Allerton on what Robert Allerton was trying to accomplish and the ingenuity to bring this work of art to fruition. The tour used comfortable tour buses to transport the group to the garden. From there, it was pretty easy walking and everyone in the group (about 30) seemed capable of handling it. (bring mosquito repellant/bug spray and use it before heading out on the tour...and of course, a good camera to capture the beauty.) Pick up some of the tourist guides available around the island (e.g., Old Town Koloa) and look for discount coupons to save you a few dollars on the price of admission. Juan did a great job and I walked away with a great understanding of what Robert Allerton wanted to accomplish, how the garden has been maintained by the NTBG non-profit organization, and the beauty of the plants/trees we saw.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tomtin2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    179
    52
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My husband and I took the evening tour of Allerton Gardens and absolutely loved it. The grounds are breathtaking and the we were served a very nice meal at the house located on the grounds at the beach. It as so tranquil and peaceful. I didn't want to leave. We would definitely go back if we are in the area and would encourage anyone to go if they have the chance!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffro626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

So when you are booking a tour, make sure to get the descriptions of each tour which vary in price range. The less expensive tours do not include any of the buildings which we totally missed out on. The garden is spectacular and our tour guide Juan was ridiculously knowledgeable on just about everything. Bring mosquito repellent, water, hat and camera and maybe a snack if you go for the tours longer than 2 hours. Hideo Tashima was a genius!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Redhawk48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“No flowers”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I realize that most people enjoy this tour, but we were disappointed. Other than the occasional ginger plant ( or similar type plants), there are no flowers. Even the bougainvillea, which was blooming like crazy all over the island when we were there, wasn't blooming here. I expected more landscaped looking gardens, but this is more like a park or jungle. There are water features, but they were, in our opinion, run-down looking. Perhaps we are a bit spoiled having seen incredible gardens all over the world. I guess plant lovers enjoyed it. There wasn't much history except about Allerton. We found it to be a waste of our time, when there is so much to see and do on Kauai. Once you start the tour, you have no choice but to finish it as they take you in on a bus. I would only recommend this tour for people who love plants, or have done just about everything else on the island and are looking for something else to do that won't break the bank. The highlight was the trees with the large roots that you see people posed in front of. But it wasn't worth 3 hours of our time to see that. Most of the plants/trees that are there you can see by driving around the island, especially the north shore. Perhaps our tour guide just wasn't all that good in that he failed to engage us in the history of the island or the plants themselves. He kept talking about a 50 gallon water drum and that Allerton wanted the water features to look dirty. Maybe if we had gone in with the correct expectations we would have enjoyed it more, but then we probably would have chosen a different garden, one that is more of a garden and less of a jungle.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank txsrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Don't miss this historic tour!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Allerton is my favorite place to visit while in Poipu.
On private property, but a dinner tour in the original home is available. Don't miss this piece of history.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theadora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allerton Garden also viewed

 

Been to Allerton Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing