We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Value for Kauai Accomodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villas at Poipu Kai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Villas at Poipu Kai
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Value for Kauai Accomodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Not much to add to many of the previous posts. These are really, really nice accommodations.
They were built in 2008 and the builder has held them due to downturn in economy and now the unsold units are up for sale. We went on the Open house to see the other units 3 bedroom just out of curiosity.

We stayed for 4 nights in the 2 bedroom Garden Villa. The Garden Villas are buildings G and H on the map. They have their own parking lot and each unit has its own assigned parking spot. The turn for the garden villas is at Regency Villas sign. Otherwise your in the parking lot for the Other Villas in Buildings A thru F and will have to walk through the bushes to get to the front of the building.
Best not to arrive at night – lack of lighting and buildings are not clearly labeled nor are their signs directing you to buildings to orient yourself.

Lauren was quick, efficient and pleasant in communications. Our first night we had an issue with the stove/oven and after a call to her, not more than 5 minutes later the maintenance guy was there to fix it.

We had a unit on the ground floor of building G. We had no issues with hearing anyone above us but there were people in building H, who were quite loud and were running around the grounds so it made sitting on our balcony (lani) not so peaceful, Not really an issue for us, other than that we had a wonderful time.
The Garden unit we had, was 2 bedrooms (Master bedroom with queen bed and separate bath and other bedroom which had 2 twin beds) separate Bathroom, a spacious Living room and Dining area and a modern kitchen with all the necessary kitchen tools one would normally use.

The Villas come with the basic in supplies/condiments/supplies and the Big Save supermarket is a quick drive. We had stopped at the Wal-Mart but the shelves were somewhat bare as far as groceries. There is a Safeway towards the Princeville area, but we found the Big Save met our needs.
The Villas are located about 5-10 minutes from the beach by walking in either direction. The pool area is nice but there is no slide or kids area.

We felt this alternative gave us more rooms and saved us money. It worked out to be about $250 a night compared to the $250 to $375 a night per room not including daily resort fee at the nearby Hyatt. We would definitely book again.

Tip – the soil on Kauai is red, so do not bring or wear white unless you want clothing to turn a reddish /off white color even after washing. Also you are requested to remove your shoes while in Villas so as not to drag in the red soil and soil the carpet so bring easy on and off shoes especially if you have children.

Recommend:
Princeville Ranch Zip and Dip Tour
Safari Helicopter tour
Kauai Backcountry Adventure

Room Tip: If you can afford to get a poolside villa do. Also get one on the upper floor to give you more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewburghNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    39
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
141
43
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I recently was married on the island at Shipwrecks Beach. While planning our wedding, I searched around for a spot that would keep our family close..boy am I glad we decided to stay here! We booked the Ohana House and D300 (Penthouse) and both units were unique in their own way.

The wedding party stayed in the Penthouse, a total of 6 of us. It was amazing! The layout was perfect and decor was modern and well thought out. The view from the master bedroom was beautiful...close enough to see the beach! And had a wonderful shower and soaking tub.
We were on the 3rd floor and had a private elevator entrance which was very convenient.

We rented the Ohana house for our family. A perfect spot for them and a really nice backyard for BBQing and little ones to run around in. My family loved it!!!! The entrance was beautiful and welcoming for sure asnd the layout provided privacy for everyone. The only comment I have about this home is that some of the doors did not slide and the blinds were a little dirty. But not something that would keep us from renting it again.

Lauren was a super nice manager, allowing us to check in early and also placing our wedding guest bags in each room! Above and beyond for sure and we couldn't have been happier.

The beach is ony a short 5 minute walk, which we did every day to see the sunset. It is very close to a lot of cool shops and places to grab a bite, even old Koloa. Folks around the Villas are really friendly.

We are definatley coming back, can't wait to book again. We miss Kauai so much! Anyone thinking about staying here, no need to second guess, BOOK IT!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at this beautiful condo. Everything was new and well maintained. Great furnishings. Staff was very friendly. A close walk to the beach and very convenient to the Poipu area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyvilleTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in a 3-bedroom Poolside Villa in building A. We were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful and clean our condo was. Everything that we needed for our stay was taken care of. It had beautiful furnishings with granite counters and wood floors. We also loved that we had a washer and dryer in the unit. The lanai was large and we enjoyed spending time there for our meals. The location of the Villa was excellent. Beaches were just a short stroll away. The pool was beautiful and clean and we were pleased that there were beach chairs and other beach items that we could use. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else than the Villas at Poipu Kai when we return to the island of Kauai. We would definitely recommend this property to others!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigi410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family recently stayed at the Villas at Poipu Kai and had a wonderful experience from beginning to end. The staff was all very kind and helpful and the property was truly wonderful! Our Villa was beautifully decorated, extremely clean, and had everything we needed to make it our home while on Kauai. We were able to walk down to Poipu or Brennecke's Beach in just 5 minutes (with two small children), and shopping and restaurants were just a few minutes drive away. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to stay in the Poipu area and I can't wait until I can go back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiggottFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the lovely 3-bedroom Poolside Villas during our recent trip to Kauai. The Villa was clean, comfortable, and very spacious. We especially loved to dine out on our lanai for breakfast and dinner, if we weren't out exploring! The Pool and surrounding area was clean and well kept, and the views were so nice we didn't mind the short walk to the beach.

We had initially considered staying at a nearby hotel, however after staying at these Villas, I don't think I will ever do that again! It was so nice to have the available amenities, to cook if we wanted to, while also having the opportunity to walk to nearby restaurants.

The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. We also spoke with the fabulous activities concierge to make reservations for a local luau as well as plan day hikes.

Lastly, the location is perfect! Since the south shore receives far less rain than the north, we were able to plan our day trips up north around the weather, and make the most of our time. We are already planning our next stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMarie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently had a wonderful stay at the Villas at Poipu Kai. The property is fabulous, very clean and well maintained. The location could not have been better. Its just a short stroll in one direction to the beach to see the sunrise and a short stroll in the other direction to the beach to see the sunset. The furnishings are very nice and stylish. Everything you could possibly need is included in the kitchens and the appliances are very high-end. There are all kinds of chairs, umbrella and beach items for use. The wonderful staff make our vacation very enjoyable. The pool and beautiful hot tub are very convenient and clean. We loved our stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TereUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Poipu Kai

Property: The Villas at Poipu Kai
Address: 2373 Hoohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Poipu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Poipu Kai 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Poipu Kai is a new boutique resort, situated in the heart of the Poipu Kai Resort. One of the finest properties ever developed on the island, these Poipu vacation rentals include 3-4 bedroom poolside villas and 2-4 bedroom garden villas. The Villas are luxurious throughout, including gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, custom cabinets, and SubZero refrigerators. Completely furnished with decor to compliment the plantation style, the poolside villas offer hardwood and tile flooring, natural stone bathrooms, and expansive lanais that extend the living area outdoors. Mountain, ocean, and pool views enhance the experience. A tropical pool, hot tub and water features are surrounded by island landscaping. Each villa includes central air, a true luxury on the island, and The Villas is the only condo property in Poipu Kai with its own exercise facility. Along the five-minute stroll down the tropical greenbelt, you will pass the Poipu Kai tennis club and pool on your way to famous Kauai beaches. And world class golf is just a two iron away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Villas at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Hotel Poipu Kai
The Villas At Poipu Kai Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing