We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Poipu Kai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Villas at Poipu Kai
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great stay. We were in a three bedroom unit on the ground floor. Our unit was beautifully decorated and maintained--a class act all the way. These aren't cheap, but a full (and fully equipped) kitchen giving you the serious option of in-room meals more than made up for that. Full washer and dryer in the room was also a lifesaving and reduced the packing burden substantially for a family of four on a one week trip. There is a nice pool and spa area complete with barbeque grills for guest use. My 11yo LOVED the pool. Importantly, there are beach chairs, sand toys, boogies boards, and (limited) snorkelling equipment available to guests to borrow. This is an important thing when visiting Hawaii. Most folks ending up buying/abandoning cheap equipment or renting beach stuff while in Hawaii, and that ain't cheap. Factor this in when considering costs. We made great use of this little perq.

The Villas back to a nice walking/biking trail that in one directions leads down to Brenneckes Beach/Poipu Beach, and in the other to Shipwreck Beach. Poipu Beach is about a 5-10 minute walk, easy for the kids, and Shipwreck maybe 10-15 minutes. Groceries, great food, all within a 3 mile drive. High speed wireless internet that was actually high speed. Nice patio for coffee in the morning and a glass of wine to watch the sunset. Perfect.

Only fly in the ointment for us was a family of thunderfoots upstairs that seemed to pace the apartment constantly. I would (and will) absolutely stay in these again, but will weigh the risk of noisy upstairs neighbors vs. the schlep up the steps carefully next time.

Room Tip: They will close off bedrooms in the larger units and price the unit lower if they have unrented unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank btiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    37
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
140
41
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Not the cheapest place to stay but when you figure that you have a washer and dryer available and full kitchen the savings in clothing needed and eating out evens it out. There was just my wife and myself so they closed off two of the bedrooms for a cost savings. We had a huge amount of space for the two of us. If you want a place right on the beach, a place where somebody cleans and makes your bed then this is probable not the place for you. If you want a place that is on a paved walk greenway to three beaches( 5 to ten minute walk), then this is an excellent value. Always remember that there are very few beaches on this island where you can walk for miles on the beach itself but this location gets you to a large beautiful beach which is not very good for swimming(Shipwreck Beach) but is very pretty and wide. This my favorite. You can also easily get to Poipu Beach which is better for wading and swimming, a family beach. The staff was very helpful and fixed our dishwasher promptly when it did not work. Complaints? Not deal breakers but they need to maintain the washer and dishwasher better. Cleaning and wiping the underside surface of the clothes washer seal and running a bleach clean cycle would help immensely. Also a vinegar cleaning cycle would help with the dishwasher. We did the bleach cleanse ourselves due to the mold smell, a problem with all front load washers. These two things would require very little time and expense on the cleaning staff's part. Our unit looked out on the pool and we had very little problem with noise, etc. so would I stay here again? Yes. If I wanted to be right on the beach, I would probably try to stay at the Grand Hyatt at Shipwreck Beach and take a lower amenity tiered room to save $$, but remember your not going to cook in your room or have the space and I mean lots of space. It's as big as a lot of big city apartments.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Loved the Villas at Poipu. Would definitely stay there again. The Villas are located in the center of another condo group. But there are so few Villas they form a tight circle of buildings around their private pool area, so you feel like your away from the hustle and bustle of Poipu. You see few other vacationer, when out and about on the Villa property.

The pool is not huge but there usually was only about 5-7 people in the fenced area. Always enough loungers to sun in. Pool is a little cold, but I went to the ajointing hot tub. Few people used in the evening.

Lauren(manager)/Todd are quick to tend to a emergency. Within twenty minutes of calling Lauren at 9:30 pm the problem was solved. Todd put an end to the chirping smoke detector.
Brought two batteries and changed the one chirping and the one in the hallway,too

I walked for 5 minutes down the walkway and only found the tennis courts NO Beaches. We took are car and went to the three beaches.

Room Tip: A210 has many pluses and a few negatives. The master bedroom had done. The queen bedroom up front ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmlcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here. The convenience of a working kitchen, washer dryer and access to beaches was paramount for us with a newborn. It was easy to get to so many places from the villas.

We were very happy with the Villas team and their quick responses to emails and questions. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feefoiegras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked our stay almost a year in advance. We were given a unit on the parking lot with the other view of the outdoor cooker. Tried to change but they were unbending. If you book insist on a true "garden" view.

The couch was really bad and we had to call Ann on the 800 number to have it changed out. TV's were great. Clean and acceptable kitchen.

The pool in NOT heated and believe me it needs to be in Jan on Kauai.

Property is very loud and we were faced with car lights all night, horns honking, etc. INSIST you not be on parking lot.

Great work out facilities. Close to beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottsdaleRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went to Kauai to attend my brother's wedding, and this was the place they'd done the block of "rooms" for the wedding guests. My wife and parents stayed in a 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo with a pool view. From the moment we walked in the door, we were floored with how beautiful the place was. 3 full baths, 2 king beds (some of the best sleep I've had in 2 years), and one room with 2 twins. The master bedroom was ridiculous. Awesome bed and massive bathroom, with shower, separate tub, and private toilet room. The patio has 6 floor-to-ceiling glass doors? panels?, which all completely open the living room to the outside. Since we had our full family at this event, it made for an easy place for everyone to gather, mingle inside and out of the condo, and easy access to the pool, too. And the hot tub and pool are great, with gas grills out there for the fish you catch on your deep sea fishing tours. One last gleaming thing, they have front loader washer/dryer combos in them with detergent included, so you can pack lighter and just do a load of laundry in the middle of your stay.

This place is fantastic. Perfect location near beaches, restaurants, and shops. Private setting without 100's of other families running around or making noise in the middle of the night. It's not the cheapest, but it's a vacation. You get what you pay for. A+ for this place.

Room Tip: The pool view is great, but not necessary. I'd go for a ground level room, though, to get the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drdave75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We chose the Villas at Poipu Kai because we were traveling with another family and were able to book a four bedroom condo in what looked to be a very convenient area on the south side of Kauai. Overall, I loved the place and would recommend it to others. Here's a quick summary of what I liked and didn't like:

--The condo itself was beautiful with tasteful furnishings and high end appliances. The lanai off the living room looked out at the mountains. We were in a "poolside" condo which I would recommend over a "garden" condo. Our unit seemed a lot nicer than one of the garden villas that I saw. Also, because of the size of our group we were in a penthouse (D300) which was awesome. Our building was one of several surrounding the really attractive pool area (with hot tub).

--The service was excellent. Lauren, who manages the place, was highly responsive to our needs. (In addition, she put us in contact with Stephanie Michel of Island Girl Activities who acted as a concierge and booked several outings for us. She was great.) We paid a daily fee for "basic" maid service which meant we didn't have to run the dishwasher or make our beds every day...which we appreciated. I was surprised, though, that this service wasn't included already. The bedrooms included one king (in a master suite), two rooms with queens and one room with twins. This wasn't the ideal set up for as as we had two adult couples and 4 teenagers. Would have preferred more flexibilty in bed set ups.

--The Villas are very conveniently located. It's a short walk to two beaches in one direction and another short walk to a 3rd beach the other direction. The downside is that you're in the middle of a development which is in the middle of other developments. So you're not getting the experience of looking out at the ocean and there is no feeling of remoteness. You just need to know that going in, as we did. There were really great tennis courts right behind our condo but they were expensive to play on. We ended up getting an annual family membership at this tennis club because that was less expensive than paying a la carte two times.

Overall, a really great week.

Room Tip: Poolside villa penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Poipu Kai

Property: The Villas at Poipu Kai
Address: 2373 Hoohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Poipu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#6 Green Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Poipu Kai 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Poipu Kai is a new boutique resort, situated in the heart of the Poipu Kai Resort. One of the finest properties ever developed on the island, these Poipu vacation rentals include 3-4 bedroom poolside villas and 2-4 bedroom garden villas. The Villas are luxurious throughout, including gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, custom cabinets, and SubZero refrigerators. Completely furnished with decor to compliment the plantation style, the poolside villas offer hardwood and tile flooring, natural stone bathrooms, and expansive lanais that extend the living area outdoors. Mountain, ocean, and pool views enhance the experience. A tropical pool, hot tub and water features are surrounded by island landscaping. Each villa includes central air, a true luxury on the island, and The Villas is the only condo property in Poipu Kai with its own exercise facility. Along the five-minute stroll down the tropical greenbelt, you will pass the Poipu Kai tennis club and pool on your way to famous Kauai beaches. And world class golf is just a two iron away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Villas at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Hotel Poipu Kai
The Villas At Poipu Kai Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing