We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hike with great views”

Makawehi Lithified Cliffs
Ranked #10 of 30 things to do in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hike with great views”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hike is very scenic next to the ocean it can get very hot when you are off the trail by the ocean and do not feel the trade winds. If you like taking pictures of the scenery and like knowing the history of the trail I would suggest walking it and taking your camera and binoculars.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank clntr2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    46
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Secluded, scenic hike”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The cliffs are great, unlike most of the other scenery on Kaua'i. We only saw a few other people in the hour we were hiking, too. The landscape, even though right next to a huge resort and golf course, was pristine.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMK47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice view of rocky coast”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We've been going to Kauai for many years but somehow managed to miss this attraction. Depending on the path you take, it can be easy or tricky (but doable for most people). The path we took near the edge of the beach did require a little bit of minor climbing but you are rewarded with a nice view from the top of the cliff. We didn't go all the way down to the cave but will try that next time when there is more daylight. We got there just before sunset and got a beautiful view. There is a small parking lot but if you can't park there, we seen others park up the street.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank snak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a must see if you enjoy a little walking around for some amazing views! We visit it every time we come to Kauai!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hulalulabunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elk river idaho
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Keep walking to the CAVE.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I know trip advisor lists this as a separate attraction but do it at the same time.
The reviewers are right about the cliffs, but they have missed 99% of this walk if they don't walk to the Makuawahi cave and Mahlepu Beach. Just keep going another few minutes.
The cave is one of the top two archeological sites in all Hawaii and open with talk story tours on Sundays. The Burney family that has excavated the caves works with the People from Niihau and have restored many native plant species . They have brought in Giant land tortoise to eats weeds and seeds. The turtles are in an enclosure just past the cave. Self guiding brocures out at several locations.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank ruthevansidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makawehi Lithified Cliffs also viewed

 

Been to Makawehi Lithified Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing