We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Makahuena at Poipu
Ranked #21 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will stay here again!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in 1309 and were very comfortable. Plenty of room for a family with 2 teenage boys. Bedrooms were comfortable and the kitchen well equiped. The condo was very quiet. The only noise came from the crashing waves, not loud neighbors. The lanai was a great place to sit and sip morning coffee watching the ocean. We were pleasantly suprised to find the condo had all the toys necessary for a fun beach outing. They were probably left by previous guests but saved us on rental fees. Very happy with that!

The only downside is the stairs. It's impossible to get to the condo without going up and down stairs. However, once you've done your initial haul in it doesn't matter.

Location is great. Brennecke Beach and Poipu beach are a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeattleTraveler1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
54
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Beautiful property in Poipu. Well furnished condo with amazing views. Oceanfront units hear the crashing surf. Take a short walk out to the point for incredible sunrises and watch sunsets from the point at Makahuena. Nice pool. Hot tub broken for most of our stay, but they were working to get it fixed and had the repairs done a few days into our stay. Didn't have a chance to use grills, but there is a grill area as well as a tennis court and basketball hoop. All units have washer/dryer, a big plus if you're traveling with a family or staying long. Enjoy meals on your balcony or lanai. We never ate insiide! Short drive to great beaches. For excellent snorkeling off the beach, try Baby Beach--just a short drive in the car. We were able to easily park on the street every time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Our unit was ocean front, so you want to be prepared for crashing of waves against rocks all night. We loved the sunset from the deck. Close to poipu beach. tennis court has lights till 9pm. Quiet, clean, condo units.

Room Tip: Recommend going through Vacation Rental by Owner. Might get a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed in Unit #4303 for six days in February, 2012 and were very unhappy with the condo. I suppose the main criticism is that the beds were awful, apparently like "cardboard" in two bedrooms. The bed in the master bedroom had a foam slab atop what was likely a very old mattress. The foam was soft, and I woke up with a backache every morning, and I don't have back problems. The furnishings were very outdated. You had to press the toilet button for approximately 30 seconds before the toilet would flush. When we arrived, several plugs didn't work, the microwave didn't work, one sliding bathroom door was off its track, and the tv was a 12" substitute. Within a few days, the management had fixed these things. The slatted bathroom doors provide no privacy and are laden with dust. The carpeting did look fairly new, and the unit had been painted in the last couple of years. Combining this condo with horrid weather (heavy rain, very strong winds) made for a poor trip, although we tried to make the best of it. Until it's improved and the beds are replaced, stay away from #4303.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane12685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erniekan, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
The Makahuena is a beautiful and comfortable Condominium complex. Each condominium is individually owned and is upgraded by its owners. The owners of this particular unit has not upgraded their unit due to the economic situation which caused some hardship for them. However, whenever an appliance fails to function or some repairs needs to be completed the owners are always willing to approve replacement of items and/or repairs and instructs the Management Company to complete whenever needs to be done. On another note, prior to guest arrivals, the housekeeping department cleans and checks the unit. The Front Office Manager or Manager does a follow up and checks the unit after the housekeeper is done servicing the room to ensure the rooms is cleaned, comfortable and that all electronics are functioning properly.

Unfortunately, items such as micro-waves will cease to function after many months or years of constant use. The microwave in your unit failed to work and a new microwave was ordered to replace the broken microwave unit. We placed a temporary loaner TV in your unit until the following day when a new TV could be ordered, and unfortunately the track door came off of its tracks that leads to the entryway half bath and was corrected the following day.

Tthe weather was extremely bad but we can not control mother nature. Normally Kauai is always sunny of the South shore however, due to a tropical depression that encompass the entire Hawaiian Achepelago we experienced high wind and lots of rain.

We apologize for any inconvinience that you and your family experienced while vacationing here on Kauai and at the Makahuena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This was our 2nd trip to Kauai. We stayed at the Makahuena in August, 2011 with our 3 teens and found the unit very homey. The gated pool area felt very secure, and we used the pool every day; very refreshing. The grounds keeper was very friendly and helpful. We loved having our morning cup of coffee at the point while watching the sunrise, and the turtle watching in the afternoon. We also utilized the BBQ area. It was a nice place to meet other travelers and compare island knowledge. We enjoyed having the full equiped kitchen, dining area, and the unit was clean & spacious. We checked out other hotel resorts while we were here, but most were stuffy and generic for our taste. We felt at home here, so much that we're staying at the Makahuena again when we return in June, 2012!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusiWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erniekan, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Susi/Witt - Thank you so very much for your review. It is not often that individuals take the time to write positive comments and we appreciate your comment. Looking forward to see you and your family again in June 2012.

Mahalo nui loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

There is nothing like falling asleep to the sound of the waves craching on the bluffs, which were practically right outside our room!
We had rented an oceanview condo from Castle Resorts 7 years ago and loved it. The tradewinds kept things cool, and it was our 1st time renting a condo for a vacation, instead of staying in a hotel. A home away from home is what it felt like! When we saw the ocean front condos in front of us, we knew we had to stay there on this trip! So glad we did!

Room Tip: Ask for either Ocean View or Ocean Front Condos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyndamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erniekan, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Aloha Lyndamama,

We appreciate your comments and glad that your stay here at the Makahuena was pleasant and wonderful. You are correct, falling asleep listening to the waves and the ocean breeze is such a soothing and comfortable feeling.

We hope top see you again in the very near future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

9 adults in 3 units on the property for a family birthday. One oceanfront unit, one oceanview, and one with a garden view. All were happy with the accomodations they received as well as the grounds. The pool was small, but was good enough for a quick cool off after the hot tub.Could not have had a better location to view the sunrise as well as the sunset everyday. And the whales. They were totally incredible and absolutely were a treasure to behold everyday.
Definitely a car is required for this location, although there are great places to walk from the property, to get around to get groceries etc definitely requires personal transport.
Evelyn in the office was great. The only real problem we encountered in one unit was with the internet. The problem was handled immediately and taken care of within an hour with assistance from the 3rd party service provider.
Would return anytime.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LauraSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erniekan, General Manager at Castle Makahuena at Poipu, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Aloha Laura Sidney,

We would like to express our appreciation for your comments. We do have a gem of property that sits on the edge of the small cliff overlooking the the Pacific Blue where one can view the early morning sunrise and view the sunset on the same afternoon. If you decide to visit our island again be sure to make your reservatins at the Makahuena.

Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poipu hotels
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Poipu Shores Resort
#13 of 29 in Poipu
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Hideaway Cove Poipu Beach
Koloa
The Point at Poipu
The Point at Poipu
#2 of 29 in Poipu
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Makahuena at Poipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Makahuena at Poipu

Property: Castle Makahuena at Poipu
Address: 1661 Pee Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9593
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Makahuena at Poipu 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makahuena at Poipu is an oceanfront condominium on the southernmost point of Kauai that offers a rare opportunity to experience both a stunning sunrise and sunset. Accommodations include one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include a pool, jet spa, tennis court, and barbecue grills. Front Desk Hours: 8:30am - 4:00pm After Hours Check-In: Please call the resort in advance for after hours check-in instructions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Makahuena at Poipu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Makahuena At Poipu Hotel Poipu
Castle Makahuena At Poipu Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing