We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,498)
Filter reviews
2,498 results
Traveler rating
882
869
401
205
141
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
882
869
401
205
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum fireocean wingocean frontgarden poollava restaurantlavashspg memberthe linkthe main hoteloceanfront roombeach sidepoipu beachkauai resortbreakfast buffetstarbucks coffeeour honeymoonhospitality room
Filter
Updating list...
1,287 - 1,292 of 2,498 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2015

First of all I never take the time to write a review. Second my family and I our fortunate in that we travel a lot. I say this not to brag but to qualify this review. We were there Dec 16th-27th and stayed in an ocean front suite (1418). Room was roomy, functional, and the Lanai was extra large. The grounds are beautiful and we found the staff to be friendly and excellent. Snorkeling off the beach was good with plenty of fish and several turtles. You can surf, boogie board off the beach but it isn't easy unless you venture out quite a ways. Poipu is a super area with lots off food options. It is quiet after 9pm so if you are looking for night life I would recommend another destination. The only problem we had was with the Rum Fire restaurant and the manager made that right. Pay the extra money to get Oceanside. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 717flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2015

Aloha,

On behalf of the Sheraton Kauai Resort, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience here with us. It is delightful to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time during your stay. As a resort, we are constantly trying to improve our services and property in hopes to meet or even exceed our guest's expectations. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. Should you return to the island of Kauai, please feel free to contact a Guest Services Manager and we would be happy to connect with you. We hope you had a wonderful and safe return journey home. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2015

We stayed at the Sheraton Kauai Resort in November for my cousins wedding and loved it!

As a gold SPG member we were upgraded to an ocean view and it couldn’t have been better. We overlooked the pool and ocean and were a little worried about the noise but with the balcony door closed we didn’t hear a thing.

The room was nice – nothing spectacular but it was clean, comfortable and a good size.

As for the property, it was lovely. The wedding took place on the lawn oceanside and it was beautiful. Friendly staff and delicious food I might add.

The only downside for us, when we arrived the first night it was about 10:00 p.m. and there was nothing open expect for the “café.” The $14 small salad wasn’t worth it at all. So I may suggest you pick up something along the way.

If you can, get an ocean view room - you'll be glad you did :)

Room Tip: From what others told us – definitely upgrade to the Oceanside of the resort.
  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kari l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2015

Aloha kari l,

Thank you for being a part of our Starwood brand. We appreciate you loyalty as a gold member to SPG. We also want to thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Kauai Resort and for taking the time to send in yoru review. Kauai is known for its beautiful landscapes and ocean, but most dining options will be closed after 10pm except for some fastfood restaurants in the main town of Lihue. We were happy to read that you enjoyed the amazing beach view that surrounds the ocean and beach wings of our property. We hope you had a great time on Kauai and that you will visit us again.

Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2015

The beach is a killer and the pool is no slouch. Get your great spot early for sunset as the sunset is quite a show and is an event like Key West. There are plenty of chairs in the pool area but not the beach which is just a few steps away. Not sure why there are negative reviews. We booked a basic room and at check-in it paid to be nice to the receptionist as we got a nice upgrade in our room and the room was the quality you expect from a Sheraton. The main restaurant is a little pricey but the food was excellent. There is also a great little deli on site that opens early and stays open late. The hotel is kid-friendly which you may or may not like but we found it not to be a problem. If you are into the plants and flowers walk across the street to the ponds and gardens.

Room Tip: Get beach side or sweet talk the receptionist and hope for the best.
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015

Aloha Nash P.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience here at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. It was a pleasure serving you and your ohana. We are pleased that you were able to connect with our receptionist while you were here and able to enjoy the sunset on our ocean front pool. We hope you had a safe journey home and that you will come back again soon to the Sheraton Ohana.

Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2015

This hotel is not worth the price and I would highly recommend you do NOT stay here. The hotel is outdated and staff is not friendly. We had numerous problems with the cleanliness of the room and the quality of the food. When we complained to the staff they did not do anything to solve the problems. We could here the people having sex in the room next to us as well. There are many other hotels to stay in and look there before you stay in the Sheraton.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Aloha Craig M,

Thank you for sending in your review on your experience while staying with us at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. We appreciate that you chose to visit us and value the feedback of all of our guests. We apologize to you for not being able to provide you a satisfactory stay in regards to the look and feel of our property. We strive each day to provide each and every one of our guests with a memorbal experience. We are very sorry that you were unhappy with guest service and felt that we did not empathize with your dissatisfaction. Our hotel is divided into two different looks, the garden being more traditional, and the ocean more modern and spacious. Again, thank you very much for staying with us and we hope you had a pleasant journey home.

Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2015

The best this property has to offer is the location, both on the island as a whole (dry/sunny side) and within the Poipu area itself (beach and close food/shopping/activities). Having an inside recommendation we knew, in a sense, that the property was getting a bit tired and we can confirm that, although we felt we got what we paid for (Just under $300 with tax and resort fees per night). I think that was a good price so something to shoot for. We had an Ocean Deluxe, single king on the third floor of building 1 and the patio with it's views are classic Hawaii.

Warning: A visit to the concierge will bring out a small calendar which will lead to trip planing which will lead to the dreaded Timeshare meeting pitch. Just get get the info you need. As my girlfriend says, they're just doing their job.

The room was clean, nothing fancy, yet it was good sized. We liked the closets that opened from both the sink side and the bedroom. If you're short it could be a short-cut to the bathroom. There was a fridge, which we stocked with beer to bring to the pool, discreetly of course. In general the room had everything you needed and everything worked. It was just a bit dated. I felt the bed was too soft for my liking and the comforter was very heavy and did not breath. This lead to being too hot then too cold then too.... I guess I can't use just a sheet. Also the WiFi was slow for us. There's a safe, single cup coffee maker and plenty of channels on the TV if you want them. Really the best part of the room was the patio and the view over the volcanic rock beach.

For the property it's pretty much the same, clean and maintained, just a bit dated or tired. The Sheraton is an open air complex and exposed to the weather so things wear down and I understand that. You can only add more paint so many times. The grounds were very well kept. We had no problem getting spots at the pool though we would go in the afternoon. It was still busy and we had to do some looking to get what we felt was a good location. Thought link was too over priced and we only split a late sandwich the night we got in town. It was a ham sandwich. This was the only food we ate at the hotel so I can't comment on the restaurants but with so many options around why eat hotel food was our thinking.

Some other things:

- There are a half dozen eating options within walking distance and plenty more if you increase your walk.
- Driving on the island is easy and parking free.
- As you may know, almost nothing is open after about 9:30 p.m.
- Be careful. We saw multiple people with injuries that occurred on their trip. I ripped off a chunk of my toe wearing flops where I should not have.

All and all it was fine and for the right reasons we'd come here again. Just have the right expectations.

Room Tip: Building 1 has the nice ocean views without the pool out in front.
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015

Aloha and thank you for your thorough review of our property along with sharing your most recent stay with us here at Sheraton Kauai. We are grateful that our accommodations met your needs and that you were able to enjoy not only the amenities in the unit but also the services provided around our resort. It is true that shops and restaurants around the area close relatively early but we do provide decent variety of food items and products at our Link Cafe till 11pm. A stroll in the dark maybe a little rocky at times but we can definitely provide flashlights for those sleepless nights. Our units do vary in sizes but the amenities provided within are consistent throughout our resort. Again we thank you for sharing your experience with our future guests and look forward to your next visit to our beautiful island of Kauai.
Mahalo
Sheraton Kauai Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews