We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough great things about this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have stayed here 3 times. The location, service, and resort itself are top notch.

Paulie, Mark, and Cindy in Lavas beachside bar are outstanding. They give impeccable service and are an absolute pleasure to talk with. Benji behind the bar at Rumfire is also fantastic. He really strives for quality customer service.

If you have the means even just for a night or 2 get an ocean front room. The views are incredible. We have also stayed in the garden rooms and find them to be clean and comfortable. Just a short walk to the main pool and beach. Rooms in both wings are standard hotel rooms, but have everything you need.

Beach is one of the best on the island for lounging and swimming. Resort has snorkel gear for rent at a reasonable rate. Oceanside pool is nice too. Never had an issue finding chairs around the pool either.

Food at Rumfire is great. Free wine tasting 3 nights a week. There are also plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

It would be really hard for you not to enjoy yourself here. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Yes, you are going to have to pay a $28 daily resort fee. All resort style hotels seem to be doing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJ20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,311 - 1,317 of 2,260 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

I have so many wonderful things to say about this hotel. From the beginning of check in we had a very nice receptionist who was very helpful and helped to start things off on a good note;) I was very very happy with our ocean front room. It was spacious and clean and loved our view!!!
We had gone down to Lavas to eat and the food was great. We had a great waitress that was very catering and friendly. Also got Bannana bread from the cafe by the lobby. Loved it so much that I made sure to buy more to take home with me. The ladies that work there are also very friendly. Let me not forget the valet and bell man they were attentive and friendly to.
An overall Amazing experience.
We will be back again next month ;) I encourage everyone to stay at the Sheraton Kauai.
A 5 STAR stay for me!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kissycuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I've never had a bad experience with Sheraton ever until now..and I'm very disappointed. We flew in from Seattle on a late flight and checked in. The garden view room was outdated, dirty, had a distinct smell and we saw 5 bugs within 5 minutes. There was also a sheet covering the ceiling I'm assuming there may have been water damage before. Once we saw the fifth bug were like we can't stay here, all the rooms were booked including oceanfront(oversold) and it took awhile to get ya in another room in the 7000 building. Finally I was thinking ok it's not updated but it's cleaner than the other room and no smell... I think we can tough it until we saw a large bug running up the walk by the bed... So we took our things got into the car and drove down the road looking for anything without bugs this was now 2am and 5am seattle time. We ended up finding a nice room at koa kea. Anyway I always thought who could go wrong with a Sheraton..? Boy was I wrong... And I have stayed at sheratons in New Orleans, Mexico, Seattle, Arizona, etc.. They need to renovate those rooms and reevaluate how the company wants to be known for because frankly now I have to think twice about booking at Sheraton now.:(

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tommerjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Aloha tommerjc,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Sheraton Kauai Resort. We were sorry to read of your disappointment; our guests' comfort is of the utmost importance to us, and we diligently implement a pest control program at the resort. We are also sorry that you did not enjoy the room's canopy decor, which accents all of our double-double rooms. Our team has reached out to connect with you in person, and we look forward to the opportunity to turn around your impression of Sheraton Kauai Resort. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The room was right on the water with a spectacular view. The staff was all smiles and helpful. I have multiple food allergies and Executive Chef Roger Liang went out of his way to make sure I was taken care of during our entire stay there.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Aloha billkathy88,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate you highlighting the great service and facilities you enjoyed during your stay. We hope you will visit us again in the near future, and look forward to welcoming you back to Poipu Beach and our resort upon your return. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is the perfect combination of old Hawaii and modern conveniences. GM Chip, Executive Assistant Annette, Front Desk Betty and the entire staff are here to please you and make your vacation memorable. The entire staff exudes the Aloha spirit. Improvements in the gym equipment, afternoon social for Starwood Preferred guests, large pools, restaurants on property, etc. all make this a desirable destination, not to mention the perfect location on the south shore of Kauai. Even the housekeeping staff is trained to please (special compliments to Elsie).

Room Tip: Building 2 facing the ocean/pool provides wonderful morning sunrises and relaxing evenings hearing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billkathy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great hotel, value, and location. The property is divided by a road down the middle (not busy), with one side being on the ocean side and the other across the road. Since we booked really last minute, we were put in a room in building 6 at the back of the property, which seemed odd for being a SPG Gold member. We arrived at night so we didn't mind, but he room was a bit dated. The next 2 nights we asked to be switched to the ocean side of the property and got a room in building 1. While we didn't get an ocean view, it had ok views of the front lagoon. Compared to our room in building 6, this room was more spacious and more updated.

Location: Great location for the Poipu area. Walking distance (~0.5 to 1mi) to a lot of local restaurants and safe at night. Great beach area with optional water activities.

Hotel: Hotel grounds were impressive and well kept.

Food: We didn't eat any meals at the hotel though the restaurants seemed nice. We did get room service our first night since we arrived late. Simple things like french fries and pita with hummus, were horrible. Soggy half cooked fries and hard hummus.

We spent most of our time off the property eating and exploring the island, but overall had a great stay here. We also got access to a hospitality suite after check out to shower and change before our late flight, so that is definitely a plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ocean side of the property. While the other side has ok garden views, and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We enjoyed the stay. The hotel rooms were clean, the staff very helpful and friendly, the location fantastic. Please note, that the hotel is a bit old and run down. Often there were not enough beach towels available at the pool so bring your own towels with you. The room we had was very dark but everything else was already booked so we were not able to switch the rooms. Overall we had a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: the rooms in the back of the hotel are smaller and darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kooomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,382 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $263 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing