We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The beds are great, so is the pool, the grounds, and the service. The rooms in the back of the hotel are just as fine, the ocean front ones are not the only good rooms.

About that beach, though - the waves are BIG and HARSH. The hotel describes the beach as safe for kids - no way, it is not. They should change that description before someone gets hurt. I mean, if you have cool surfer kids, then - sure. It is a surfing beach, with waves and currents, and a difficult entrance into the water, because of the crushing waves. Very beautiful, but not very friendly for regular folks who just want to get in the water and are not advanced surfers.

A note for snorkelers - there are good healthy reefs out there, but you have to be REALLY advanced to brave that and get out unscratched. Even if you are advanced, I would recommend snorkeling elsewhere, because of the ever changing currents, underwater rocks covered in sea-urchins that you don't notice till you are almost (or, not almost) landing on them, the surfers who don't look where they are going, and rapidly changing water conditions. You might enter (and, entering the water is difficult) in low wind, only to find yourself in high wind with huge waves around you a moment later. And, did I mention, getting out of the water is not any easier than getting in?.. The waves sweep you of your feet and, before you know it, you have sunk knee-deep into the sand, and the next wave is coming straight at you, and you have to choose between running, swimming, or being thrown off your feet. Most people seem to choose the latter ;

Room Tip: Any room is good, they seem to take comfort seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tell-u-what-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,299 - 1,305 of 2,239 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

Love love love Poipu Beach, it's the best place to stay in Kauai. The beach is fantastic and the weather is perfect. This property, however, cannot compete with the Grand Hyatt that is located nearby for a similar-ish price. When we were here in March 2014 the pool area was SO crowded that it was almost unbearable. We escaped the chaos of the ocean front pool for some peace and quite in the garden pool area, so at least you have that option. However the garden pool doesn't really feel like a 4 star resort, it's more along the lines of a nice condo complex. There were a couple of nice touches by the Sheraton staff, they handed out popsicles and frozen yogurt pops at the pool and that was a welcome surprise. The main problem with the pool area is that it is small for a resort of this size. People are coming down early to save pool chairs, but not returning to use them for a couple hours. That isn't right and I wish the Sheraton staff would regulate that better. Also there seems to be quite the problem with pool crashers due to it's location, and that doesn't help with the pool crowding problem.

*we were incredibly spoiled from staying at the Grand Hyatt earlier in this trip, so take this review with a grain of salt, or just go book your trip at the Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaelyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton for 4 nights as part of out honeymoon - it is located on beautiful Poipu beach and has some of the best views we have ever seen - sunsets were amazing
We used points so we were provided a room across the road in one of the back pool - still amazing.

There is a pool right on the beach with Rum Fire restaurant - amazing food - great happy hour!

Hotel is located not far ( 1 min drive - 5 min walk) from a shopping and dining center - Roy's = YUM

You can get to any part of the island in no time - we did a quarter of the island each day - perfect

Purchase the guide book - Hawaii Revealed - they make one for each island - will tell you where all the waterfalls are - Queens Bath, etc - and how to get to each

Highly recommend - we will be back

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location and two pools one being almost hidden so if you like peace and quiet definitely use the garden pool. When my boyfriend and I arrived after 15+ hours of travel we were informed that the room we had booked wasn't available so they put us in a double bedded room instead. The front desk agent who checked us in was really not friendly and definitely seemed to judge the way we looked. We are in our late twenties however we both look much younger than we are and it seemed to me that she judged us and made an assumption and treated us poorly because of it. The double bedded room was terrible. We got a call the next morning at 8 am that the king bedded room we wanted was ready. Which tells me that the agent at night either had a king bedded room in a different category and didn't want to give it to us and that agent in the morning did or they had a no show that night. The concierge are nice and helpful. Some of the bell/valet really treated us badly I think his name was nick?and some like Bert were great. The food and beverage was all really good! They also had some big group on our last day there and they had a banquet right in the area that we used to get to our rooms blocked off which was really inconvenient to all the non group guests. The fire pits are great and the beach was amazing. The hotel is really close to other restaurants and shops very well located.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennefriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We travel to the Hawaiian Islands approximately 3-4times per year since 2010 and got married in Kapalua, Maui in 2012 near the Ritz. We have grown accustomed to the 4.5 to 5 star hotels, especially in Hawaii. We typically stay The Grand Hyatt in Poipu, which is arguably the best hotel I have stayed at in the world. This time, we wanted to mix it up a little. We trust in Tripadvisor and they stated that the 'Koa Kea' was the number one hotel in Poipu based on reviews and that the Grand Hyatt was #2. First of all, if you are used to big commercial results, the Koa Kea is not for you as it is a very small, used-to-be-a-motel, 'boutique' hotel. We actually cancelled our reservation at the Koa Kea and switched to the Sheraton which should be ranked higher than #6. It has a great Hawaiian feel, is right on the beach, and the staff are amazing. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 10am (which is before checkout anyways) and they gave us 2 free Mai Tai coupons for the pool bar, a box of Hawaiian Host carmel candies, and a voucher for a free bottle of champagne! Wow! Great customer service. They have a restaurant, Rum Fire, which is right off the lobby which looked very nice as well, although we haven't tried it yet. The gym and conceirge are right off the lobby which is open-air to the ocean. Not quite as grand as the Grand Hyatt but so far, a great second-best bet here on Poipu. The price for the rooms are about 1/2 of the Grand Hyatt too. Our room was on the 4th floor facing the pool (ocean view escape) and you cannot beat it. The room had vaulted ceilings with a fan, which we have not seen in Hawaiian resorts as of yet. We were in room 2412. If you are on a tigher budget for Hawaii but still want a fabulous resort experience, we highly recommend the Sheraton Kauai.

Room Tip: Again we were in room 2412 facing the pool and the ocean, "ocean view escape" rate on expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeness B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed here for a week over spring break with our 13 YO son. In my opinion Poipu is the best area to stay on Kauai. this property is very nice, it doesn't look or feel brand new but is more cozy and intimate that the larger new resorts. Its "lived in". Due to our budget we stayed in a garden view room which was fine because on Kauai you shouldn't be in your room anyway, you should be out exploring the awesome natural beauty of the island. Our room was pretty small but just fine for us 3. Great maid staff, super friendly and appreciative of even a small daily tip. The beach wasn't very large but it did have some snorkeling and was very safe for the kids which is important on this island. We spent a couple of days at the local beach park "Brennekes" which had a perfect snorkeling lagoon and a wave break for great body boarding action, plus deli for food and beverages. The main pool is nice but don't expect a lazy river or slides to keep the kids amused. The Lava restaurant was perfect for poolside food through lunch and happy hour, poolside wait staff were excellent. We only had 1 breakfast at lava and it was fine. We did eat at Rum Fire, excellent place. Other than and the Coffee shop there aren't many on-property food options. However, there are plenty of great places to eat all around the area and even with a short walk if you like. Don't complain about prices, its HI and unless you want to drive to Costco, dining is expensive. I loved that the self parking was right next to our building, VERY convenient when you have a rental car. I did spend significant time in the business center on conference calls in the wee hours and it was very functional with lots of work stations. All in all this is a great place with great staff, not over the top and just super convenient and comfortable all the way around.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moscols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Front desk staff, Heather and Betty, are fantastic! Did a lot to ensure we got the best room possible! All of hotel staff is friendly, unlike the Sheraton in Maui who all have attitudes. I'm the third generation in my family to stay here and would comeback again in a heartbeat. We even changed our flights so we could stay one extra day. Love this place--couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $239 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing