We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caring Staff, best beach in Poipu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
641 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
“Caring Staff, best beach in Poipu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have stayed here three times. The first time was in 1981 before Hurricane Iniki when you walked right out of your doors onto the beach and rates were $33 a night. Those days are gone but this is still a very nice hotel situated directly on one of the best beaches on the island.
The staff that checked us in the past two times were excellent. I believe one girl was named Velvet and the other was a shorter woman with short hair who took some pictures for us. The one hotel bellman was very helpful with giving us dining and tourist suggestions. The young girl we had for the ukulele lesson and lei making was sweet and hard working. The young man who took us out to the tidepools was interesting as well. They have bikes on premises that you can use that are part of the resort fee and we had a nice bike ride with them. The hotel staff allowed us to stay at the hotel using the pool and beach after checkout while waiting for our 11pm flight back to the mainland and they have a hospitality room you can use to change and shower.
We were here in March 2013 and January 2014, both times having the garden rooms. We did not mind crossing the street to go to the beach. The insides of the room were nice, clean, with a nice balcony overlooking gardens. There is a nice pool for the garden rooms. I was very happy with the location of the room that we stayed in this past January. The one that we stayed in March 2013 was near their laundry. We had to walk by a high fence down a sidewalk that reminded me of an alley. I think that walkway may need improvement but the room itself was fine. The color scheme of the rooms were fine and not too loud. Rooms were clean and no problems with maid service.
I did not eat at any of the restaurants so I can't comment on those. The pool was nice and warm, although it would be nice to have a place to shower off your feet before going from the ocean to the pool. The pool and hot tub seemed to be a good size and the walkway in front of the beach is lovely.
I also think the resort fee is a bit steep but overall, I would stay here again as it has an excellent swimmable beach and is in a good location for touring the island

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angeleyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Aloha angeleyes27,

It is always a pleasure to hear from return guests, and we thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort once again. While the rates are not the same as in 1981, we hope you were able to see some familiar faces as we have many team members that have been with the resort since your first stay. We appreciate you highlighting our team members that provided great service and are pleased you enjoyed the resort amenities and activities. We hope you will consider Sheraton Kauai again when planning a future visit and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back once more. Mahalo and a hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    708
    336
    154
    96
See reviews for
448
1,183
39
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We went to Kauai with another couple for two week in the beginning of January of 2014. First half of our stay we stayed at the Sheraton, second half we stayed at the Grand Hyatt.

Positives: Location is good. The beach is very beautiful, the gym overlooks the water and they have fire pits on the grounds at night. The pools (I think there are two) were pretty nice. The experience with Ryan at concierge made me bump my rating from a two star to a three. He was extremely helpful and very funny as he assisted us in booking some excursions. He took his time with us and was very informative. We really appreciated all of his help. This hotel should appreciate all of his efforts.

Negatives: Rooms are extremely dated and have a thick musty scent. Bathrooms are in major need of renovations. Certain buildings are older than others. Rooms that connect to another room via a door are not very insulated from sound. Also, you can hear the water going through the pipes when your neighbor showers. It is extremely loud. We encountered this issue in building 4 but it resolved when we were moved to building 8 (which I suspect is a newer building.) I did not enjoy showering in our bathroom as I found it to be very dilapidated and gross. The gym has a pleasant location but three of the machines were broken when we went. it's a small gym so three makes a big difference.

Room Tip: Building 8 = slightly better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MDP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Aloha MDP007,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for your recent visit to the islands and for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate you highlighting Ryan's great hospitality as well as the resort's location and beautiful beach front. We have shared your kind comments with our team. We have also shared your feedback regarding areas for improvements in your room and the fitness center as it is invaluable for us to hear comments from the guest perspective. We hope you will consider the resort for a future stay and look forward to welcoming you back with warm aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This might have been a fine hotel/resort before the property owners became so greedy and continued building residential towers across the street from the beachside amenities. Considering its residential capacity, the pool and beach area is much too small. Avoid the option to include a "complete breakfast buffet," as the choices are better and more varied at a cheap Residence Inn. The onerous "resort fee" includes WiFi, which is unusable unless you know enough to request your own in-room router you can plug into the Ethernet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Aloha Howard G,

Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Kauai Resort during your recent visit to the islands. We appreciate your feedback with regard to our amenities and wifi. The resort continually strives to enhance the guest experience, and we are pleased to let you know that an upgrade has been completed for our wifi service. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, we welcome the opportunity to connect with you. Mahalo, and we hope for the chance to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
184 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a family vote on this rating with my daughter giving it a 4, my wife a 3, and me a 2. The positive is the great beach. My daughter loved the sandy beach. There were many mixed aspects, like service. Some employees were excellent and some did not care. Very inconsistent. One negative was the concierge who kept pushing a time share sale. Another was our room on the other side of the road which was straight from the 1950's. Each receptacle had a power strip and when my wife used the blow dryer, the lights would flicker. ..in summary, if the beach is the big thing, this is an ok place. I think there are much better choices like the Hyatt and Marriott. With all that said, it's hard to have a bad day on vacation in Hawaii.

Room Tip: If you can stay on the beach side of this resort, then that is the key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manzanitabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Aloha Manzanitabay,

Mahalo for joining us at Sheraton Kauai Resort for your recent family vacation and for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased you and especially your daughter enjoyed our great oceanfront location. We were disappointed to hear that the service you received was not consistently excellent as that is certainly what we strive for. Your comments have been shared with our team in an effort to continually improve the guest experience at Sheraton Kauai. We hope you will join us at our beautiful beachfront location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Just stayed for a week here. Nice hotel, we stayed across the street, no beach view from the room. However if you come out of the room onto the corridor, you get a good view of the beach.
Paid a pretty high cost, nothing spectacular about the room, but they do provide good coffee( really nice) and are happy to top up as necessary.
The resort activities are interesting. The yoga classes are really good, lasting a good 1.5 hours. Signed up for the snorkelling insrtuctions and it was great. Got quite a few tips from my instructor. They had complimentary scuba and surfing classes too, unfortunately I did not have time. The wifi was good and complimentary.
Given it an average in view of the price!
Worth the stay only if your company is footing the bill! Unfortunately breakfast is not included with the room stay.
Close to poipu village, great shopping there, got some lovely rainbow glass earrings

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sleepSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Aloha sleepSingapore,

Thank you for joining us at Sheraton Kauai Resort during your visit to the islands, and we appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. Thank you for highlighting the variety of resort activities you enjoyed during your stay, including our oceanfront yoga and introduction to snorkeling. We are sorry that you did not feel your stay met your expectations for overall value, however, we hope you will consider a stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We just had a week of our life in this amazing hotel. It sits right on the most beautiful beach with crystal clean water, palm trees, views to die for - especially the sunsets. This is a huge hotel complex with different buildings, with the more luxurious accommodation right on the beach and several lower end buildings across the road. We stayed in the main building, the room was large, bright, modern and clean. Same applies to the lobby, common areas and the pool. Everything is attractive and very well maintained. Staff is polite and attentive. The only issue I have with this hotel that they do not provide umbrellas for guests. The orientation of the beach and the pool area is such that there is absolutely no shade all day long. There are a few tall palm trees that provide no shade to speak of. There are five sunbeds (for hundreds of guests) with shades for rent ($50/day) and five cabanas ($100/day). I find this absurd, considering that guests already pay top $ to stay here. I recommend to buy a cheap umbrella at a local Walmart and enjoy the great beach.
Breakfast buffet is top notch, huge selection, everything is delicious and fresh.
I have to say that the beauty and comfort (other than the umbrellas) of this place have completely won us over and we would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building if you can afford it. It is quite a hike to get to the beach, pool and oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJZ154984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel 12 years ago and were somewhat dissapointed but it fit our budget for this trip and we stayed in an "Deluxe Oceanfront" room - highly recommend the additional cost as some of the other rooms are across the street and no real view. The room was nice - nothing special - but the view was amazing. We liked the intimate feel of this resort - everything within a close distance with the pool bordering the beach. The pool was upgraded significantly form my last visit and the beach is the best I've seen in Kauai. My only complaint was the hotel's effort to charge us $75 for the roll-away bed our 13 year old slept in. We got it waived, but needed a manager's approval and the roll-away itself wasn't comfortable.

Room Tip: Request an Oceanfront room - but not one with the pool in front - the pool is great, but a little no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Property: Sheraton Kauai Resort
Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing