We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Slice of Heavan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Spent three nights here with a friend recently, and our experience could not have been better From the man who greeted us with shell leis to the check in to the concierge and on and on, everything was spectacular We had had an amazing oceanfront room where the surf was crashing on the rocks about 50 yards away. THere was a delightful coffee/breakfast/snack place or an open air venue for breakfast and lunch. And the Rum Fire restaurant offered a wonderful meal. The room amenities excelled, and having two sinks is always a plus. The pool and beach offered spectacular views And being and SPG member gave us 10% on all food purchased. Could not have asked for a better experience.

Room Tip: splurge on the oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aretha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Aloha aretha23,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for taking the time to share your experience. It is a pleasure to hear from our satisfied guests and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your arrival experience, accommodations and restaurants. We appreciate you being a loyal SPG member and are happy that you were recognized for being a valued member. We hope you will consider visiting us again the future and look forward to being of service to you once more. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,531 - 1,537 of 2,331 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights - not long enough!! Kauai is an unspoilt island with fabulous scenery. The Hotel is right on the beach. We had an oceanfront room, wonderful view of palm trees, volcanic rocks and the waves crashing on to the shore. Our room had a large balcony. Two double beds, plenty of space. Lots of chairs near the pool overlooking the beach. We thought this was paradise, and if it was not so far away would return without a doubt.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We loved our time at this hotel! Friendly, efficient service, the best SPG Gold Member recognition we've ever gotten anywhere, an unbelievable view from our room and lots of other little perks made this 15th anniversary trip so wonderful for us.
We loved our convenient location, the laid-back ambiance and clean, clean clean rooms, pool, hot tub, beach and grounds. Just perfect for us...and we're already dreaming of our next getaway!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at this property in October, so I'm a bit behind in my review, but still wanted to share the experience.

Overall, the hotel grounds and beach are well above average and those are both worth the stay alone.

However, the room left something to be desired. I had booked a "Deluxe Ocean View" room, but requested for a king bed and had called twice before the trip to confirm. I was told that there wouldn't be a problem, that a king room had been reserved for me. Even my Starwood mobile app confirmed that we were to have a king room. Upon checking in, I was told that there were no king rooms available and would be in a two-deluxe bed room instead. This was disappointing, but it was clear that the hotel was full and there was nothing that could be done. What was worse, the "Deluxe Ocean View" room I paid extra for should have been called "Pool With Ocean View" room. Though it was a large room, it was directly over the pool, tucked in a corner, and had standard hotel decor. Thankfully, we were not in our room all that much for our trip.

(In hindsight, I should have called Starwood for help, but not sure that they would have done anything, despite my membership.)

But there are some great things about this Sheraton that are worth mentioning. If you are there on a Friday and a Starwood member, make sure to hit the "Social Hour" at 5pm. It's a great way to watch an amazing sunset while sipping on some good wine. I would recommend skipping out on the main restaurant, as I felt it was a bit overpriced for the quality, but the pool side restaurant is great for breakfast (again, it's a bit pricey, but service and quality make up for that). Also, as a Starwood member, make sure to get a wrist band that will provide discounts while on the property - just make sure to alert your server that you have a wrist band, as we did not receive discounts on every bill.

Bottom line is that this Sheraton is really all about location. Service is generally friendly (upon check in, the valet literally threw my rental car keys on the desk because i wanted to take one of my bags with me) and happy hour specials at pool side bar/restaurant are nice. I might go back now that I know what to expect.

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean view rooms, as most are right over the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcyrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Aloha tcyrol,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for your recent visit to the islands and for taking the time review your stay. We appreciate you highlighting our beautiful hotel grounds, great beach location and services available to our guests such as our Sheraton Social Hour. However, we are sorry for the challenge you faced regarding your desired bedding as well as the lapse in service with our valet. We value our loyal SPG members and your comments have been shared with our team to continually improve upon our guest experience. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to the islands and our resort in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent our first 2 days on the south shore of Kauai and decided to stay at the Sheraton because of its location and the reviews we read. The staff was very friendly and initially the hotel looked nice in the lobby but when we got to the room it was very small and a bit dated. Furnishings looked fairly old but the bed was comfy. We got a garden unit room which was very removed from the pool and beach. Expected more for almost 200 a night after taxes plus they charge you a ridiculous $31 resort fee. They give you a sheet that explains what you get...free internet (which ours never worked), a social cocktail hour (only certain nights of the week which our stay had none), parking, use of the pool and rental towels, etc.
We also had problems getting hot water from our sink. Shower worked fine but none at the sink. The front desk was very nice and sent someone out right away to fix but it still didn't work after he left.

Positives about this hotel:

Great beach
Friendly staff
Great location

Negatives

Overall poor value
Small pool
Resort fee and what you get for it
Garden view buildings very far removed from rest of amenities

If I go back I'll spend the extra 60-70 dollars and stay at the Grand Hyatt which we visited right up the street that looked way nicer.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Schnieckos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Aloha Schneickos,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased you found the staff to be friendly and our beach location great, but are sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your visit. We would like to encourage you to reconnect with us so that we may investigate the status of the hot water in your room. We also apologize that your Wifi did not work as expected - we are updating our services and regret that the transition did not take place in time for your visit. We hope you will consider joining us in the islands again and look forward to being of service to you when you do. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This resort is so nice and comfortable. Very very clean. The beds were super comfy and the view from our oceanfront room was amazing!! The only downside is that there is only 2 laundry facilities for the whole resort. And it's kind of pricy...but it's Hawaii everything is expensive. :)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I celebrated an early 25th wedding anniversary here at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. Breathtaking ocean and mountain views, amazing sunrises and sunsets, waves to lull you to sleep and also to gently awaken us in the morning were part of the romantic delight of Poipu Beach. Hawaiian music played softly in the background of the lobby area, computer area and the Rum Fire Courtyard 24/7. Top of the line equipment was used at the ocean view fitness room. Manager Elaine was both professional and personal. We had Starbucks coffee in our room daily. Also, this resort had a Starbucks cafe on site. Access to the quaint shops of Koloa was very convenient. Ahhh!!! Being world wide travelers, we feel this was the most beautiful, romantic vacation venue we have ever experienced in our senior lives. Aloha! Mahalo to the entire staff here. Lush vegetation surrounded the property while pathways meander throughout all the 22 acre resort, with amazing ocean and garden views. Paradise found in a natural Disneyland-type setting. We are ready to return to our Kauaian Romantic Delight. Aloha!

Room Tip: Ocean front, poolside rooms were centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katibarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Aloha katibarton,

Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for your momentous celebration, and our warmest congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary. It was a pleasure to connect with you during your time with us and I appreciate you highlighting our resort as a great destination for those seeking a romantic vacation. Wishing you many more happy years together and we look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $291 - $780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Starwood, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing