We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Property....But” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Ahwahnee, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Property....But”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was my 4th trip to this hotel in 4 years and will most likely be my last.

Overall the grounds of the hotel is above average BUT their rooms need some major attention. Our room had mold/mildew in the shower area, wine stains on the grout, cracked bathroom sink, facets handles that were loose and TERRIBLE beds.

I've stayed about 1000 nights in hotels over the past 14 years and never had a bad nights sleep due to the bed until this stay. The beds were so concave that when you were on the edge you immediately fell into the middle.

Also this resort charges a $30 resort fee for parking, wifi and activities. I have NO problem with this as long as things work. WiFi NEVER worked in my hotel due to reception. We signed up for an activity and made changes to our schedule for it. The instructor no-showed and we had to find something else to do, which was easy, but if I'm paying a resort fee the hotel needs to meet their end of the bargain as well.

I would like to say thank you to the hotel for "waiving" their early departure fee as we checked out 2 days early and moved to the Hyatt. The Hyatt is simply in a class of their own.

Very curious as to what the hotel will reply. Email was sent and the only response was, "thank you for your comments we will look into changing the beds out". So much for loyalty, we do visit Kauai every year for the past 4 years and will continue. Just not sure it will be at this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgolf2k01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Aloha tgolf2k01,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for sharing your experience with us. It is important to us to hear from our return guests and your comments are taken seriously and have been shared with our team. We apologize that your room did not meet your expectations, particularly with regard to your bed. We do have options available for guests who are not satisfied with their bedding and welcome you to reach out to housekeeping in the future so we may ensure your stay is more comfortable. With regard to the activities instructor, we apologize for the inconvenience; there was an unforeseen emergency and a replacement was not immediately available. We understand our guests' excitement to participate in our resort activities and will improve our communication regarding unexpected cancellations from here forward. Your loyalty is important to us, and we appreciate you connecting with us offline regarding your recent stay so that we have the opportunity to turn around your experience. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Sheraton Kauai next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    708
    336
    154
    96
See reviews for
448
1,183
39
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overgaard, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you want to spend a lot of money with little return then this is the place to go.
Room is just average, views are great. No fan in bathroom. Very little usable storage space. There is a $30/day 'Resort fee' that many other resorts around there don't charge. You pay for WiFi. Cabana rentals are $$ and you beach side service is slow.
Quite frankly I would not go back to the Sheraton again. Overrated and overpriced

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Aloha Irma,

Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are sorry that our rooms did not exceed your expectations. Many of our guest truely enjoy that our rooms are so close to the ocean. Our resort includes many other amenities other than wi fi. We also offer beach cruiser bikes, Zumba, yoga, lei making, shuttle service in the Poipu area, complimentary wine tasting for SPG members, complimentary water in you room. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future so you can experience all that our property has to offer.

Warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Staying here currently. We have had to make several calls to get extra hangars. The maintenance person never showed to fix the tub so my hubby did it himself..... There were hairs and sand in our tub. They never came to clean it so I went and got stuff to do it. The location is excellent. At least that makes up for a little of it. We picked this place to celebrate my hubby's birthday and our anniversary...... I know it'll get better. I will write a review when we get home.

Room Tip: Building 3 partial ocean views are great views!!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NJSHORECPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week. It was a pretty good location on the souther part of the island. The pool is small but nice. Only issue is there are not enough umbrella's. The room was large but could use some more storage space. Overall we really enjoyed it and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Gorgeous views, excellent room and services. Parking was easy if you do not want to valet. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the tours and area. I would definitely encourage anyone to stay here. We loved it and didn't want to leave. They really made it a wonderful first visit to Kauai! Highly recommend this resort!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a king viewing the garden are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reislinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Aloha reislinggal,

Mahalo for sharing your recent experience at Sheraton Kauai Resort, and thank you for highlighting our great views, comfortable room and friendly service. We strive to create a memorable stay for our first-time visitors to the islands, and it gives us great joy to hear that you had a wonderful visit. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the islands in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent the second half of our honeymoon there in Oct of 2010 for a week then off to my sisters wedding in Oahu. Beautiful grounds, courteous and helpful staff and close to the attractions in Kauai. Poipu beach has been rated the most beautiful in the world several times. How can you go wrong! Very romantic, nice shops around and some really good restaurants. Its time to go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank testafoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here one night after two weeks on the island.
We could not upgrade to an ocean view, but they did give us an upgraded garden view. It did look out to front street, but had a very pretty garden and pond view right in front of us. It was great for sitting out in front with coffee in morning.
We had to leave our first resort at 11 that day and couldn't check in until 3 at the Sheraton. When we asked them about earlier check in, we were told that we would probably get into room much earlier. We sat around in lobby for four hours and finally asked at 3 if we could get in. At first they said it still wasn't ready but then was suddenly ready. What a wasted day.
We did walk around and found that their beach seemed nice , but the pool area was small with no shade...not even many umbrellas.
By the time we got to the room, a storm had come in so that meant our last day of snorkeling was ruined.
We did love the room and especially the beds and linens. I came home and changed out all my linens to white and bright.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Property: Sheraton Kauai Resort
Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing