We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, book direct with hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a great place to stay for couples or families. The pool and beach left nothing to be desired. We booked through hotels.com and got the usual crappy room in an old part of the hotel when we got there. I complained and we were promptly moved to a better room which made our stay very enjoyable.

Next time, I'll get the rate off hotels.com then call and book with the hotel directly asking to stay in the new part of the hotel. We stayed in building one garden room, fourth floor. The rooms are also
much larger in the new (1990s) part of the hotel.

Friendly, helpful staff that were out to please us obviously.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sublime99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Aloha sublime99,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Kauai Resort! We agree that it is a great place to stay for couples and families. We are sorry you were dissatisfied with your original room, however, we are pleased that we our team was able to secure accommodations that better fit your needs. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,707 - 1,713 of 2,239 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife, son, and I went on a vacation to Kauai in January and stayed at the Sheraton Kauai Resort during the second half of our stay on the island. We had a fantastic time. The Sheraton was very nice. The grounds were very well maintained. The hotel was right along the coast. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. When we arrived, we were greeted with shell necklaces. It was a nice touch. Our son loved it. The room we were in looked newly remodeled. It was on the inland side of the resort, so no ocean view for us, but we had a nice view of the garden pool area. They had a nice business center, a little store/cafe where you could get food/snacks and a few misc items. They have a couple of other onsite food places. We ate at the Rum Fire a couple of times and thought the food and service were great. Overall, this was a wonderful place to stay and the location on the island was great, nice beaches were so close by. We would definitely consider staying here again if we visit Kauai in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicknlinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Aloha nicknlinds,

Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for you family vacation and for taking the time to review your experience. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your visit, and we appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, RumFire and the resort's location. We hope you will choose us again for a future vacation, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a very beautiful resort! The grounds are breath taking and very clean! The beach is excellent also! The pool area is very nice, just could be a bit bigger. Love that they come around and ask you what you want to drink all day if you're sitting around the pool. I would definitely stay here again! The rooms are very nice also.

Room Tip: Any room that has a view of the pool or the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchr0xy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Aloha mitchroxy,

We appreciate you choosing Sheraton Kauai for your accommodations in the islands. It is with joy that we read your comments regarding our facilities and beautiful Poipu Beach. We are also pleased our pool servers offered great service during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I recently stayed for two nights and stayed in an Ocean Front room. I'm glad we did -- the view was great and the pool was managable and fun. For my 7 year old the pool was perfect -- much of it only 3 feet. Our room was updated, clean, and very comfortable. I can't vouch for the Garden Room side, but do youself a favor and stay Ocean Front.

The ocean is right there, accessable, and fun. The service was great too. Very managable size hotel.

Great for families.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disappointed777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great stay from the moment we got to the hotel, everything was perfect room staff and overall experience was beyond what we thought it would be! We loved dinner at the restaurant at the hotel and loved the walking distance to the nearest shopping site!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kacey_ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Sheraton hotel on Kauai is located in the southern side of the island where the waters may be most family-friendly, next to Poipu beach. The staff are friendly: pool-side, bartenders, housekeeping, concierge, check-in & gardeners. The beds are ultra-comfortable. The food at the Rum Fire was excellent. We ate at the bar. Our bartender provided us with a sample of a blended mango mojito that was very tasty, with or without the rum. The concierge set up several excursions for us: CJM horse-back riding, and Captain Andy's zodiac boat tour & snorkling on the Na Pali coast. The horse-back riding showed us views of gorgeous secluded beaches. The Zodiac tour was intense & filled with close-up views of spinner dolphins, whales & sea turtles. The resort is working on being eco-friendly, with food at the snack shop being served in compostable containers. It was a bit disappointing to see the use of leaf blowers as other areas of the island seemed to use rakes & other tools that don't waste fuel. However, the leaf blowers were generally smaller & quieter than the more offensive noise and air polluters. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with flowers and tropical plants. It was very difficult to leave; we felt quite at home.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room; the view of the grounds was beautiful. We were out of the room enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeus18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Aloha zeus18,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sheraton Kauai Resort and for choosing us for your recent stay. We appreciate the positive feedback regarding our friendly team members, and our comfortable Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds. We are always happy to hear when our guests soak in the beauty of the island, and are pleased you were able to do so through the concierge. We hope you will join us again at Sheraton Kauai in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This resort looks like the classic 1970's era Hawaiian resort. Not that it's a bad thing, just an observation. We stayed here with our 2 young boys for 2 nites after a one week stay on the North Shore. Our room, #4201, was a double (FULL beds, not queens), 2nd floor, garden view room located in one of the buildings across the road from the main resort. The room was tight and rather dated, though clean. It had a large flat screen TV along with a fridge---we really appreciated the fridge as we brought in some food from our condo from the previous week…

The common areas and pool were nice enough, but it's nowhere near the level of the Grand Hyatt, just a few resorts over to the east. So, if you're looking for an all-out resort experience, the Sheraton probably isn't for you. Nevertheless, this resort has excellent beach access (albeit, a narrow, steep-sloped beach) and if you get a room in one of the oceanfront towers, you'll have a spectacular ocean view, which will certainly make up for the shortcomings mentioned above…… One of the things we really liked about the resort were the open fire pits located throughout the courtyard….we liked to hang out by the one closest to the ocean…. It was a nice, mellow way to pass time in the evening…. The pool was a bit cold, but the many kids, including our own, didn't care----they all had a great time nonetheless. Despite much of the resort looking like a relic from the 1970's, the onsite restaurants (RumFire, Lavas), lobby and business center were recently, and very tastefully, modernized. Now, if they could only do the same for all the rooms, this would be a great resort………

So, all in all, the Sheraton Poipu is an alright resort….pretty standard issue. Since we always spend a week in a timeshare or condo-type property when we visit the islands, a standard hotel room (a small one at that) doesn't really cut it for us for more than a night or two. But we stayed an extra 2 nites after our timeshare week was over, so the Sheraton was good enough, plus the weather was a lot more pleasant than the North Shore.

Room Tip: If you could swing it, get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrangeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $239 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing