We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My family and I just returned from our vacation in Kauai. We had a wonderful experience at the Sheraton. The check-in staff was very helpful and accommodating. We had a wonderful ocean front room. The grounds are maintained nicely, and the views of the ocean are fantastic! Guest services was also quite responsive to our requests and promptly followed up to ensure everything had been complete to our satisfaction. The pool area was well staffed,with plenty of onsite activities throughout the day (introduction to hula dancing, lei making, scuba training, etc.). The wait staff was excellent. The property is well located - close to good restaurants, shopping. The property also has nice walking paths along the ocean. My only concern was that the prices in the coffee shop and restaurant were far too high for the items sold. Very likely, this prompts their customers to seek meals elsewhere off-property. Doesn't make sense to price so high your patrons go elsewhere. The Rum Fire Grill (restaurant on property), however, is a good place to eat, with nice service and fantastic on beach views. All in all, we have a wonderful time in Kauai and look forward to returning to Poipu and to the Sheraton.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the ocean side of the property. The rooms across the street, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,787 - 1,793 of 2,260 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just returned from our stay here at the Sheraton and really enjoyed ourselves, the biggest bonuses being the location in Po’ipu and the truly gorgeous beach at the hotel. We travelled around the entire island and spent time at several other beaches and I think the beach at the Sheraton is up there with the best of them. The rooms were clean and comfortable; however they were definitely a bit dated. Also, as previous reviewers have mentioned, this is an enormous property, which we didn’t mind as we didn’t spend much time there aside from the beach and pool area, but for folks who enjoy a more intimate feel, this would not be the place for you. The additional daily resort fee was kind of a disappointing extra charge, and someone else also commented on the awful Wi-Fi. These were drawbacks for us as well, but they were really minor. Overall this is a nice place to stay, particularly for families as the beach and pool areas are safe, clean and very beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmig222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just got back from our week-long stay in Poipu. We had booked through American Airlines Vacations and had booked a deluxe ocean view room. Upon arrival they had us slotted for a garden view. I was fairly upset, as we had already paid for this. Unfortunately, they were 100% capacity and would not be able to move us for a few days. (Please note, we were told this was an error from AA vacations but are still looking into it) However, when they did move us, they upgraded us (for free) to a luxury ocean view. This was a fantastic view! Two balconies! They kept the grounds up very nicely. However, both of our rooms appeared to be fairly worn and needing some upgrades. Both rooms there were some spots of peeling paint and some "speed bumps" in the carpet, which desperately needed to be pulled. Even though these rooms were worn, they were clean and comfortable. All the staff was friendly and helpful - from the front desk personnel, bellhops, manager, housekeeper, etc. This was also a great location - less than a mile from the Shops at Kukui'ula and Poipu Shopping Village (both with restaurants/shops) and you could walk right out onto the beach. So, even though this wasn't PERFECT, if you can overlook some of the old paint and worn carpet, you will find this to be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A beautiful location and an outstanding hotel. Everything went off without a hitch from check-in to check-out. We had an ocean front room facing west. Room was large with lanai, large private dressing area with 2 sinks with large counter and shower/bath/toilet area. Access to closet from both bed area and dressing area. Room very comfortable and bright with room darkening curtain over the patio door. Appeared to have been recently remodeled. On beach, adequate pool. Staff was great, outstanding restaurant (Rum Fire) on property, as well as coffee shop--no gift shop, but small shopping center within walking distance. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'm staying at the Sheraton in Poipu right now, and let me tell you, this hotel is far from being what they advertise themselves to be. For the $300+ you pay for a standard room off-season, you should get a whole lot more. Here are the deal breakers so far:
*our first room that we were assigned (building 7, 3rd floor) smelled like mold so bad that made my eyes water. There was no fuss when we asked for another one, so I'm sure they have received this complaint before. I ask why not fix the problem rather than putting guests through the experience again and again?
*you're informed of the $30 daily resort fee for amenities such as wifi, parking blahblahblah. The wifi is the worst wifi I've experienced since the 90's. You literally have to wait minutes for every page to load. They charge $50 to your credit card every two days to cover the $30/day which will be wonderful to figure out during check out how much you still owe. Wouldn't it be simpler to charge $30/day or settle the bill upon check out? They have your credit card on file so they can make you pay at the end. I hate this bit, feels like fuzzy accounting.
*our key cards randomly work or not, both for the parking lot and our room. I see other people battling with them too.
*I received a gift certificate from a sweet friend for a massage at the hotel spa. I understand there are hotel upgrades going on, but the spa staff even felt horrible about the fact that the massage is actually given in a room that they use as their office. I would expect that in times such as relocating and construction, they would offer discounts or inform guests in advance to not expect the relaxing atmosphere of a spa. I don't blame them for the weather not cooperating for the outside massage, but giving it in an office for $160 is borderline outrageous.
*lastly, the sheets are ill-fitting on the beds, they are too small for them, so as soon as you lay down and turn, there is no sheet under you and you end up on the mattress.

The rooms are ok, nothing to write home about, the grounds are well kept and pretty, though we did walk by a dead koi fish on multiple occasions on our first day, the poor thing was on the lawn, took the gardeners a day to notice and pick it up. The free water bottles are a nice touch in the room every day, though I'm afraid to find out at check out that we'll be charged for them too. The location of the hotel is great but definitely not unique, so coming back is out of the question for me.

I would not come back here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zsuzsanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Aloha Zsuzsanna M,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for taking the time to share your experience. I tried to reach out to you following your post, and I'm sorry we were unable to connect so that I could personally address your dissatisfaction. However, we are pleased to have resolved issues such as your mattress sheet that you mentioned. At Sheraton Kauai we strive to create a warm and welcoming experience for all of our guests, and it is with regret that some of our facilities fell short of your expectations. With regard to moving rooms, we are always pleased to assist guests with finding a room that best suits their needs. With particular regard to the technological issues you experienced, please note that we are actively working on improving wireless connectivity in the guest rooms to supplement the Ethernet that is provided. We thank you again for your patronage and look forward to the chance to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I'm so sorry for those who have been writing bad reviews. Perhaps it was the holiday season when everything is crazy. We ALMOST cancelled this visit based on the crappy reviews. But decided to stick it out. We checked in late - so in a 2 bed room vs king. Leona (short for amazing) was awesome. She took the time to fully check us in despite the growing line of people behind us. We received free mai tai tickets as gold SPG members and a bottle of champage for my hubby's birthday. Valet was included *free* as SPG gold members and a hotel credit. True to her word, Leona had us in a king ocean front the next day. WOW! We received nothing but amazing service. The pool side restuarant, Lava's, was not inexpensive (this is Hawaii, this is a resort), but surprisingly it was excellent food and not outrageously priced. Sit at the bar - faster service. The complimentary wine tasting was great. The concierge (Candy and Shantalle) were awesome, providing knowledge and expertise that we, as veterans, did not know. Lovely, lovely time - thank you Sheraton.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front, if you can. But garden view has their own quieter pool! Ocean front is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scuba_Divers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Pros: Clean, beachfront with great swimming, SUP and a little surf break for beginners and a reefy advanced break basically in hotel front, friendly stuff, fridge in the room, good location in the south shore and no chickens on property (they're around and they're like to leave surprises ;))

Cons: We had a room in the back building at the star guest level which was very dark, small and sad; bathroom a little run down but clean; make sure you confirm your bed request by phone prior to arrival otherwise you won't get it; not enough beach towels for all guests so bring your own;

Shop around if you rent surfboards, the surf rental on the beach is way more expensive than competitors along the main road; rent a car if you want to surf as conditions vary and there is always a break that will have a decent swell.

Room Tip: the back buildings have a lovely garden view but if you get 2 queens - the room will be tiny and da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mooch1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,384 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $265 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing