We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach and Location is Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beach and Location is Awesome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the property for five nights with our starwood points, we were upgraded to the garden suite and that was ok. The walk to to beach/pool area was no big deal at all and the view of the pool/gardens was beautiful. If you can use points or stay here for a reasonable price it is worth it, otherwise, I would look elsewhere. The rooms are 30 years old, showing wear/tear and you can hear Everything going on in the room next to you, might help if they would pull the beds away from the wall a little bit. Our neighbors were active and showering late at night and it was quite loud.
The staff was hot and cold. Roger at Rum Fire, where we had breakfast each morning, was an amazing waiter - service, friendliness and knowledge of the island, etc.. If you eat there, I would request his station. The boys at the towel/rental shack were really wonderful too.
Big exception was the valet parking - handed them our ticket to retrieve our car and felt like they were having an argument about who had to go get our car, never experienced that before.
It was not really warm on the island while we were there so we turned off the air conditioner, we would leave the room at 10am and maid service cleaned the room before noon and would turn the air conditioner back on and we would be out of our room until early evening coming back to a very chilly room. Seems like a big waste of electricity with the rooms being on the small side it does not take long for them to cool down.
The locations is awesome, you can walk to Poipu shopping center and the beach is perfect, we rented cabanas for $50/day two of our days and that was wonderful, the waitress for the cabana/pool area was very good.
Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Garden side, ask for a corner room so you will only have one neighbor. If you can afford it, pay fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donotcomplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    716
    341
    157
    99
See reviews for
457
1,191
41
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (873)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Mn
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We used Star Points for this stay and for the "price" it was a very good value. The location in Poipu was convenient and the beach was great. We felt pampered at our welcome with a number of amenities and gifts. Our room was a garden view across the road from the beach and main resort area. The room was a nice size, we liked having a fridge, and the bed was very comfortable. We also enjoyed the private lanai.

The room was a little worn and smelled a bit musty, but it was quiet and peaceful. The workout room was small and really hot, and at times seemed full. Staff was friendly and the Rum Fire bar was fun. I thought the pool was surprisingly small and cold -- but there was a lot of room on the beach too. Seemed pretty family friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMinTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I recently went to the Sheraton Kauai and was very pleased to see the changes. Not only the physical changes (Fully renovated lobby, rooms and restaurants) but also the attitudes and aloha spirit. I truly felt the staff appreciated me being there. My last trip to this hotel was prior to the renovations and the property was tired and so was the staff. From what I understand, Sheraton brought in the GM from Sheraton Maui and he transformed the Kauai property.

We had dinner at the new RumFire Restaurant...awesome food and presented in very unique and fun ways.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

More like it. Excellent service and location. Shuttle offered to local restaurants. Housekeeping excellent, nice spacious rooms, great beach and pool. Would go back. Oceanview room had a private lanai. Walk down the beach to see Monk seals.

Room Tip: Oceanview a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WirePaladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I'm going 4 stars (out of 5) on this one. Much of this has been said, but I'll reinforce.

The Good:
- Size! I listened to other reviewers and booked the deluxe ocean front room on the beach side. The walk from my room to the pool was 30 seconds and to the beach was 45 seconds. Do not underestimate the convenience of this. After staying at the Hilton Grand Wailea in Maui where it was a 20+ minute walk from my room to the pool, this was heaven
- Location. Hotel is on the beach, a 2 minute drive to Kukui'ula Village Shopping which has very good restaurants, and a 5 minute drive to Poipu public beach which has snorkeling and a protected kids area
- Staff. Contrary to other reviewers, I found the staff friendly and helpful
- Room. Clean, modern, fridge included, and large, comfortable balcony facing the ocean
- Pools. Small but never crowded during our stay. The small pool was great for a 5 year old, and the hot tub was delightful

The Not So Good:
- 2 full sized beds. We travelled as a couple with a 5 year old and got 2 full sized beds instead of queens. The room was large and could have easily accommodated 2 queen beds. A cot was priced at something like $80 per day so we declined.
- Restaurants. We read the reviews and tried hard to stay away from the hotel restaurants. However, at times convenience beckoned and we did do 1 dinner and 1 lunch and both were truly disappointing. I heard from other guests that the breakfast was awful but we bought fresh fruit at the local markets and ate on the balcony so I can't confirm that
- $30 "resort fee" includes Internet which was slow and at times unuseable

Tips:
- The building on the "other side of the road" really looked dreadful. Pay extra for the deluxe ocean front room
- Rent a car. We booked through Pleasant Holidays in LA and got a Mustang convertible included in our package which made the trip much more enjoyable
- As stated everywhere, don't eat in the hotel restaurants if you can avoid it
- I paid $5 for a tiny tube of fish food at the public Poipu surf shop. I ran into some Canadians who bought a year's supply at Walmart. The public Poipu beach has a great variety of tropical fish so plan on buying fish food somewhere

Bottom line:
- Good value at this price point. If you're planning to spend most of your day at the beaches, pool or exploring the island it's a good choice. For honeymoons or luxury stays, probably not.

Room Tip: The building on the "other side of the road" really looked dreadful. Pay extra for the del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p_mitch_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a ground floor ocean front facing palm trees and black lava in April 2012. It was our best couples vacation ever. The room was huge and very comfortably laid out. The bed and bedding were 5 star. The view from the room and from the very private patio was spectacular to say the least. Because the resort was one of the first in Poipu the location is unsurpassed with exquisite sunrise views to the left and equally gorgous sunset views to the right.

The staff were friendly and helpful always- from the bellman who greeted us when we first arrived (offering very helpful local insights and suggestions at our request) to the reservation clerk who upgraded our room upon learning we are spg members and who provided an appreciated amenity upon learning we were celebrating our anniversary to every single staff we pased (including grounds keepers and housekeepers who invariably greeted us with a big aloha smile). We ate lunch twice by the pool in the open air restaurant and found the food to be both tasty and reasonably priced.

The grounds were beautiful and so very well maintained. We ate a light breakfast by the koi pond each morning and enjoyed the birdsongs and the colorful flora with our morning coffee. What a great way to start the day!

While the workout facility was well below Sheraton standards and badly needs a renovation it was adequate (though just) for our early morning workouts and didn't significantly detract from an otherwise excellant experience.

Room Tip: Gef an oceanfront room in the west wing of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Sheraton is located in the best spot in Poipu - beautiful swimmable beach, close to the Beach House (for the best snorkeling) and just a few minutes from great restaurants. My husband and I had a beautiful, ground level oceanview room (1104). This wing of the hotel is away from the pool so much quieter and has incredible views of the sunset. Relaxing on our lanai each evening for wine and the sunset show was great. I could go on, but I'll leave it at his: The only negative I have about this hotel is that the hot tub could have been hotter and I wish the jets were stronger.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Property: Sheraton Kauai Resort
Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing