We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Good, but a few things to be aware of” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Good, but a few things to be aware of”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A very nice hotel with a beautiful location on the ocean in south Kauai. Service was very good and I would definitely consider coming back, but would like to make those considering this hotel aware of just a few things:
- The beach is excellent for swimming, not great for body boarding, surfing, snorkling or for children. The waves are generally not big but break very close to shore. Children need to be supervised and swimming is about the only water activity that works. You can rent bodyboards for $15 dollars a day but the waves don't work on the beach here for them.
- Shade is a huge issue. There are no umbrellas or trees to speak of on the beach - therefore you are exposed to constant sun. If you want, you can rent a $45 per day cabana which is really just two wooden lawn chairs with a bit of a tent awning over it. Otherwise you would need to have your own umbrella. There are lawn chairs in the pool area nearby, but limited umbrellas there - hard to find shade.
- As other travelers have noted, the rooms are not very sound proof. If you are a light sleeper, this could be an issue. Bring earplugs.
Overall, the resort is clean and has a very relaxed atmosphere. Food is not cheap, but is well prepared. Great sunsets, often see whales and a lot of pluses.
If you are coming for a great beach and water sports - I would recommend elsewhere. Otherwise, a very good choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shalom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    653
    308
    141
    85
See reviews for
419
1,080
38
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We chose the ocean front room and were so glad we did. This property is so large that it goes across the street. If you get a "garden view" you are most likely going to be across the street from the beach which is close but not quite the same as being on the ocean side. The garden rooms are nice, I'm sure, and you can save a lot of money so if that's a factor than stick with garden and just do the short walk. There are some garden rooms on the beach side but you would have to ask for them specifically, I think.

Our bed was comfortable although it seems that the sheets didn't fit that well. The flat panel TV was nice and large. Our room looked over the pool but we didn't hear much noise luckily.
The room was rather sparse but clean. We didn't hear noise from other rooms or the hall.
The housekeeping was fine. The bathroom and products were fine but nothing amazing,
all very basic in my opinion.

The beach at the property connected to other beach hotels so we could walk down the beach a bit although sometimes you climb on rocks to get places. They have a beach desk where you can rent snorkel and surf gear on property, very convenient.

The hotel has a shuttle to get around Poipu so you really don't need a car if you're staying local but we did have a car so we never used it.

The gym was very small. There was only one elliptical machine, a treadmill or maybe 3, some free weights and a few other things. It was super small considering how many rooms there are at this property. I chose to do a brisk walk instead.

The front desk was efficient. Lots of travel type desks but they aren't there all hours which was a bit of a surprise. They have travel companies as well as a concierge which was a bit odd.

Overall, I'm glad we stayed here and had a nice time. Ate in Rum Fire for breakfast. It has an awesome ocean view which we really enjoyed seeing the whales as we ate.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean front room so you're on the beach side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very relaxing, great weather (especially if you compare it to the north side of the island of Kauai) and is close to great restaurants... Especially for watching sunset over the ocean!!
For sunset you should make a reservation at "The Beach House" restaurant or go around 5pm and sit in the bar for a wonderful view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly9154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We just loved this place!!
We had a fabulous room overlooking the ocean -- we could hear the waves hitting the beach.

Also these folks understand what service is.
There was a special promo for the restaurant if you are a SPG member. They did not have it listed, but they honored it anyway.

Also, we had a problem with our rental car on the last day (the tire was looking quite flat), and the two valet guys just got right in there and they changed the tire for us. How is that for fantastic???!!!!

The rooms were very comfortable, large and with a great 4-poster bed and balcony with seating. We had problems with the wi-fi - but we asked them and they provided a router for us to use, which got us up and running quickly.

Great location too, and also meant it was pretty easy to get around the island.

Room Tip: Take a beach view room -- you won't regret it -- We overlooked the pool and found it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TorontonianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We started in a partial ocean view which was just o.k., but with the friendly staff we were able to upgrade to ocean view which was amazing....a view of paradise! For the money this location is a great view, deal and their beach beat the Hyatt's! The food was delicious and the service was excellent! And the sunsets were breathtaking!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in mid-January. The rooms were about 90/night.

The pillow, blankets, and mattress were comfy! Shower had no issues. Room had a balcony, fridge, and large flat screen.

Location was good, short distance from two different shopping centers and a short drive to this little town area where Koloa Fish market (for poke) is located.

The property is right on Poipu Beach!

The rooms were not that big not modern but who needs that when you're in Hawaii? Hardly in the room anyways!

The staff are all very Hawaiian, aka nice, laid back, and hospitable. Laura was super helpful! She may be one of the managers there. The valet guys, Sean and Danoli(?) were also helpful and always friendly. Just love that about Hawaii(ans)!

When tides are high, you can cliff dive near by at Shipwreck Beach. It's a short drive from the hotel. I did not personally try it. I wanted to but we weren't sure if the tides were high enough. A good indicator is watching locals do it if you've never done it (at that location).

Would definitely stay here again!

Another added bonus:
Big jacuzzi and pool!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tammbams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights in November and it was fantastic. As soon as we pulled up in our rental car we were impressed with this hotel. The service was great and the hotel itself looks fantastic. The lobby is open to the outdoors, like a lot of the buildings in Kauai, and opened up into a manicured courtyard filled with exotic plants and gas fire pits with circular seating around them.

We knew we had picked a good hotel right then. Our room wowed us with a balcony opening up to the ocean with amazing sunset views every night. We would sit and drink wine and watch the sun go down and it was just surreal.

The hotel property is in a great location, right on a perfect beach that is okay to swim, snorkel and lay in the sand. Which is sort of a big deal in Kauai because there are tons of beaches but lots of them are too dangerous to snorkel or swim at and not very many that are safe are right behind the hotel.

The pool area sits between the hotel and the ocean and is way nice. There is a kiosk that rents all sorts of pool and beach equipment, including beach cabanas with drink service. We rented one and watched our six year old play in the surf and boogie board.

The onsite restaurant was incredible, very expensive and the service was top notch. Some of the best tasting food I've ever had. The hotel has these huge lights that shine out onto the lava rocks along the shore so you can watch the waves crashing out of the huge windows in the restaurant while you eat.

One thing to keep in mind though is that the property is split into two parts and we got the impression the part on the other side of the street was not at all like the one we were staying at. We sort of figured that some of the more negative reviews we read before we came referred to this other half of the hotel because the part we stayed at was wonderful.

Room Tip: Just do the valet parking, its so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelpanthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,073 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Property: Sheraton Kauai Resort
Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing