We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price point for a good product!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
san francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good price point for a good product!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in mid-January. The rooms were about 90/night.

The pillow, blankets, and mattress were comfy! Shower had no issues. Room had a balcony, fridge, and large flat screen.

Location was good, short distance from two different shopping centers and a short drive to this little town area where Koloa Fish market (for poke) is located.

The property is right on Poipu Beach!

The rooms were not that big not modern but who needs that when you're in Hawaii? Hardly in the room anyways!

The staff are all very Hawaiian, aka nice, laid back, and hospitable. Laura was super helpful! She may be one of the managers there. The valet guys, Sean and Danoli(?) were also helpful and always friendly. Just love that about Hawaii(ans)!

When tides are high, you can cliff dive near by at Shipwreck Beach. It's a short drive from the hotel. I did not personally try it. I wanted to but we weren't sure if the tides were high enough. A good indicator is watching locals do it if you've never done it (at that location).

Would definitely stay here again!

Another added bonus:
Big jacuzzi and pool!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tammbams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    708
    337
    154
    96
See reviews for
448
1,184
39
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights in November and it was fantastic. As soon as we pulled up in our rental car we were impressed with this hotel. The service was great and the hotel itself looks fantastic. The lobby is open to the outdoors, like a lot of the buildings in Kauai, and opened up into a manicured courtyard filled with exotic plants and gas fire pits with circular seating around them.

We knew we had picked a good hotel right then. Our room wowed us with a balcony opening up to the ocean with amazing sunset views every night. We would sit and drink wine and watch the sun go down and it was just surreal.

The hotel property is in a great location, right on a perfect beach that is okay to swim, snorkel and lay in the sand. Which is sort of a big deal in Kauai because there are tons of beaches but lots of them are too dangerous to snorkel or swim at and not very many that are safe are right behind the hotel.

The pool area sits between the hotel and the ocean and is way nice. There is a kiosk that rents all sorts of pool and beach equipment, including beach cabanas with drink service. We rented one and watched our six year old play in the surf and boogie board.

The onsite restaurant was incredible, very expensive and the service was top notch. Some of the best tasting food I've ever had. The hotel has these huge lights that shine out onto the lava rocks along the shore so you can watch the waves crashing out of the huge windows in the restaurant while you eat.

One thing to keep in mind though is that the property is split into two parts and we got the impression the part on the other side of the street was not at all like the one we were staying at. We sort of figured that some of the more negative reviews we read before we came referred to this other half of the hotel because the part we stayed at was wonderful.

Room Tip: Just do the valet parking, its so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelpanthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

It is a bit hard to rate this one, our garden view room was perfectly adequate for the price range, with comfy bed, clean and well maintained. The location is pretty good, close to the airport, waimea canyon, etc. We like the north shore better and we had a really good time at the Westin a while ago, but this time opted for poipu because of the weather this time of year. The hotel has a nice beach and not so great pool area. The pool and area around it is relatively small and was quite crowded. Service was a mixed, friendly and good at check in, just average afterwards (and no I was not jerking anybody around, they were just really uninterested in their customers).

Now there are a lot of little things that add up to a negative impression for me. Of course we knew about the resort fee before booking but one still gets very little usable in return (2 bottles of water and internet), basically a lot of stuff (beach chairs called cabanas) cost extra, which is completely ridiculous given the 30 USD resort fee. The pool bar closes at 5 / 5:30 and rumfire is just poor value. Restrooms at the pool never got cleaned during the day, although that would have been necessary. One afternoon the pressure of the only beach shower was so low that it was not usable (presumably because preparations for a luau were made on the lawn next to it). The wifi was not usable most of the time and slow when it worked (seems like they did not install enough access points to get a strong enough signal), wired internet access was fine though. There were some issues with the TV as well, in sequences with quick cuts or fast movements (i.e. high data rates) the picture would break up and stutter (typical sign of a weak cable signal). Also, there was only one usable electrical socket in the whole room.

Finally house keeping made a lot of noise next door in the morning, obviously cleaning a room makes some noise but moving furniture around at 8 to 9 AM, really?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Captain_0veur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Average, but good enough hotel with great beach and nice pool.
Property is a bit dated but good enough.
Reception was awful and miserable woman who gave no assistance as we would not get a full credit for breakfast due to our early flight. Our breakfasts were prepaid at additional cost. After calling a a manager this was professionally and happily resolved.

However you must pre book your car from home. Dollar rental at the hotel tried to charge us about $200 a day for a car and we heard you can rent cars at the airport for $100, however you will have to pay another $40 in taxis to get there. There is a shortage of cars in Kauai and all the car rental companies are "gauging and ripping off" naive tourists. Further guest services at the hotel do not have any printed rates for cars and appear to work on inside commissions to gauge you on high daily car rates. They scribble down prices on paper without telling you the full costs of insurance, taxes, etc - very disconcerting. Avoid all this and lock your in your car cheaply in advance!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank eccaberek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at this property since 2003. Seven or eight visits now. It's almost home away from home. We take a week in January each year to relax and recharge. The property and location are great. The staff is fantastic and almost like family now. Can't say enough good things about the whole experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marwalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in an Ocean view room that had the most beautiful view of the Ocean/Beach/Pool. it was perfect. We went as they were still completing some of the renovations -- the pool opened not long before we arrived and Rum Fire had not yet opened. As a result, I felt we got a great deal on the room + rental car package.

The staff was friendly and helpful and we experienced no problems during out stay. My only regret is that they were not having their luau's during our visit. :(

I traveled in August 2011 -- but I am just now taking time to submit review.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamamy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews on this hotel. We just returned from our trip to Kauai and we had a very good experience. You cannot beat the location. The beach is beautiful, the grounds are nice and the staff was friendly. We stayed for 6 days and enjoyed every minute. We had a partial ocean view room on the 1st floor. The room was a bit small but the location was good and it was comfortable for 3 of us. The hotel offers a lot of activities. I would suggest that you book your activities or reserve a cabana by the beach as soon as you arrive since there is limited availability. See the concierge when you check in to get any information that you might need about what's going on at the Sheration or the surrounding area. She was very helpful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank VHilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Property: Sheraton Kauai Resort
Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing