We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath of fresh air...................”
Review of Coastline Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coastline Cottages
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breath of fresh air...................”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Each August we go to the island of Kauai, and have been fortunate enough to discover Coastline Cottages. Staying in Turtle Cove Cottage is one of the high lights of our year. The cottage is prefect. A wonderful floor plan, simple, calm, embracing. When we arrive the cottage is always spotless, waiting for us. The lanai overlooks an amazing area where turles rest.. Sitting on the lanai sipping wine, and watching turtles is one of my favorite things in the word. Located in a wonderful nerghborhood, we take daily hikes to Spouting Horn, and Poipu Beach. It is our home away from home, Lorie even booked me a massage with JOY. ( I have made my next appointment with them already) If you are looking for somewthing special, Coastline Cottages has what you are looking for!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pastelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
171
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maui, HI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed at Coastline Cottages' beautiful Poipu Kai cottage in Poipu, Kauai. This beautiful home was situated well back from the main road, and faced out on a common area, so it was completely private and extremely quiet.

The included amenities were amazing, and of a quality we have never experienced before on Kauai or any other Hawaiian island. This home features gorgeous hardwood floors throughout, granite counter tops, huge refrigerator with multiple freezer / cold storage drawers, 6 burner stove, lovely, tasteful artwork and knick-knacks everywhere, huge HDTV with great in-house sound system so we could enjoy music all over the home (including in the pool area), high-speed internet, extremely comfortable master bed, multiple wonderful bathrooms with huge showers and a soak tub in the master bath, and full sized laundry facilities with consumables provided.

But our favorite part was the private pool and enclosed yard. The pool was warm, well-lit, CLEAN, and nicely shallow for its full length. With the lovely, sculpted landscaping surrounding the pool and plenty of lounge furniture around, we spent most of our stay on the lanai, soaking up the sun and dipping in and out of the pool. Fantastic!

The only drawback was that the home is not air conditioned. However, upon arriving, we opened every window in the house and all the interior doors, and in very short order the wonderful Kauai breezes were cooling the home satisfactorily. The stand-alone fan that was included in the second bedroom we used all over the house for extra cooling, and we found it to be enough. However, the second bedroom was very warm and stuffy, so we didn't spend any time in there. If we had been traveling with another person, they would probably have found that room to be overly warm, but still very luxurious and comfortable.

Also, if Lori and the management reads this, I would also suggest that it's time to replace the cushions on the outdoor furniture. They are still comfortable and functional, but they are quite sun-faded, and a bit dusty. When I was wet from the pool, I hesitated to sit on the chaise lounge cushions, because I didn't want to have all that Poipu dust stick to me. So I made sure to put a towel down first, and that remedied the problem easily. The cushions just stand out against the immaculate condition of the rest of the home.

If you're looking for luxury accommodations in Poipu and desire a private home rather than a condo / hotel situation, then I highly recommend the Poipu Kai Cottage from Coastline Cottages. I can't wait for my next vacation!

M.K., Kihei, Maui, HI

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mkluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We have been staying with Coastline Cottages in Poipu twice a year since 1997. Last summer we enjoyed their lovely Poipu Kai Cottage and have it reserved again this August. We really enjoyed our stay in their oceanfront Turtle Cove Cottage last February. We had a blast watching the sea turtles gather in the cove every day.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2009

We enjoyed a very relaxing week at their Poipu Kai Cottage. The home was lovely and having our own pool was great. I liked getting up early for the easy walk to Shipwrecks Beach. There was a monk seal on the beach nearly every morning. And grabbing a cup of Starbucks coffee on the terrace at the Grand Hyatt was a nice bonus.

We scheduled Joy for massages. She was so wonderful we scheduled another session before we left, and we are still talking about her.

We come to Kauai every year and we are so happy to have found Coastline Cottages, its Poipu Kai Cottage and Joy. Three less details to research!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We spent our honeymoon at the Poipu Kai Cottage. It was heavenly. Beautiful bed and bath, exquisite furnishings with island-style fabrics, and well-stocked kitchen complete with the Henckel knives. We barbecued when we weren’t walking over to the Hyatt to try out one of their fab restaurants. We enjoyed napping and reading on the comfy chaises by the pool and appreciated the adaptor for our ipod and the outdoor speakers. Attention to detail was amazing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Coastline Cottages has done it again. Their Poipu Kai Cottage is so beautiful yet comfortable. We relaxed by our private pool, hiked the oceanfront trail above Shipwrecks Beach, golfed at the Poipu Bay golf course, soaked in the deep tub, and slept great every night in the wonderful king bed. We had fun cooking in the well-stocked kitchen while listening to our iPod playlists over the home's sound system. We enjoyed the short walk to the Grand Hyatt Kauai and all their restaurants. Sushi Night at Stevensons Library was a highlight. Lori arranged for an in-house massage for my husband while I enjoyed a facial at the Hyatt spa. Steve said it was the best massage ever. We have been recommending Coastline Cottages and their Poipu Kai Cottage since returning home to Vancouver and we just bought a 50" TV. We were totally spoiled by the home's Pioneer HDTV. Watching the Masters was amazing. What a week. We will return - the sooner the better

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margdecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjueju
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Our recent stay at Turtle Cove Cottage in Poipu, Kauai was the “best vacation ever”. This was our 4th visit to Hawaii and our 2nd time on Kauai, our favorite island. Turtle Bay Cottage was lovely with a fantastic view – we especially enjoyed watching the green sea turtles that came into the cove to sun themselves on the rocks just off the lanai. The atmosphere was quite and serene; the location was perfect – a short walk to the beach, close to restaurants and shopping and centrally located for excursions around the island. Lori was very accommodating in procuring supplies for us so that we didn’t need to shop for food, coffee, etc on our way from the airport. We are already starting to plan a return trip, possibly with our kids and their families, and look forward to staying at Turtle Cove or another Coastline Cottage again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjueju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,272 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastline Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastline Cottages

Property: Coastline Cottages
Address: 4730 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 20 years welcoming Kauai visitors, our Poipu Kauai luxury oceanfront cottages are locally owned and managed. Emphasis on privacy and service, Coastline Cottages is the perfect choice for honeymoons, romantic getaways, and for those who just want to escape life's hectic pace to relax and recharge. Impeccably clean, fine beds and linens: Standard. Grocery shopping for Arrival, In-Cottage Massage Therapy and Private Chef Service: Optional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coastline Cottages Hotel Poipu
Coastline Cottages Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing