We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poipu Garden Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coastline Cottages Kauai
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Poipu Garden Cottage”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Garden Cottage was not listed on the web site when we were looking for accommodation in Poipu, however after an enquiry into what was available for the dates we were travelling they very helpfully offered this cottage for our use. The garden cottage is unfortunately not an ocean front one, but is in a nice quiet location and provided a comfortable and roomy base for our travels in Kauai.
This was the first travel experience I've had where I've not encountered any property owner/manager in person which I found to be a quite odd experience - you pick up keys and drop them off in a lock box - no personal contact. Efficient and allows you a lot of privacy, but still odd. Arranging the rental was very straight forward and I found the people at Coastline cottages to be professional and helpful.
We didn't really take advantage of the facilities available for use with the cottage; but the pool did look nice. I imagine that the cottage could get quite warm in the heat of summer - ceiling fans did a lot to cool the place down. The kitchen was well equipped and Wifi was reliable. It was only the two of us but it would be easy to fit a family with 2 kids - and it has the advantage of the main bedroom being upstairs and allowing a small parent's retreat.
Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherri_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
171
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We loved watching the turtles come in to the cove every day. What a beautiful and relaxing place for our honeymoon. We were thankful to wake up in tropical paradise every day. We were so lucky to find Coastline Cottages.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoshanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had the most amazing honeymoon we could ever have imagined. The Poipu Kai Cottage was far beyond what we expected. It was better than perfect - from the decor, to the impeccable cleanliness, and lastly the delicious tropical fragrance of the reed diffuser!! Amazingly well done on all counts! We had the hardest time leaving but are already planning our next adventure to Kauai. As Lori told us, there is something in the air there! All of our family and friends have heard nothing but the highest praises of Coastline Cottage, its Poipu Kai Cottage and the island of Kauai. We look forward to a long standing relationship with the friendly folks at Coastline Cottages.

Room Tip: Ask Lori about their private chef Michael Stauber. The best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Truly an amazing beachfront penthouse. The beautiful and serene view was healing for the mind, body and soul. Every day we discovered something new around Shipwrecks Beach. The location on the island was perfect to venture out and experience Kauai. We're now planning our return. Thank you Coastline Cottages!

Room Tip: Anara Spa at the Hyatt is next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

In one word "Wow". What a fantastic house and location. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and it couldn't have been better. It was so peaceful and beautiful. Beautiful master suite, great kitchen and wonderful pool. A wonderful choice for us, thanks to Lori at Coastline Cottages.

Room Tip: Stevenson's Library for live music, sushi and martini.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I have vacationed on Kauai for over ten years and have finally found the home to rent. Their Poipu Kai Cottage is beautiful, very charming, comfortable and elegant. The location was good, nice to walk to the Hyatt and beaches. Lorie was very helpful and efficient. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Day passes available at the Hyatt's Anara Spa and their cardio room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our flight was delayed, and we got in after dark, and I took a few wrong turns, but after I pulled out the GPS it was easy. That has been the only bump in our trip. The rental #801 was awesome. I am so glad I stay here rather than some smal over priced hotel room. I have two bathrooms, a large master suit, kitchen, living room. and a great view of the open grounds around the property. The beach is about 2 minutes away. I will definitely come here again. No noisy neighbors like happens so often in hotels. This has been a great place to stay. The kitchen is well stocked and we save a lot of money by going to the grocery store for breakfast. Thank you Coastline Cottages!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cazdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastline Cottages Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastline Cottages Kauai

Property: Coastline Cottages Kauai
Address: 4730 Lawai Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating 20 years welcoming Kauai visitors, our Poipu Kauai luxury oceanfront cottages are locally owned and managed. Emphasis on privacy and service, Coastline Cottages is the perfect choice for honeymoons, romantic getaways, and for those who just want to escape life's hectic pace to relax and recharge. Impeccably clean, fine beds and linens: Standard. Grocery shopping for Arrival, In-Cottage Massage Therapy and Private Chef Service: Optional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coastline Cottages Hotel Poipu
Coastline Cottages Kauai Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing