We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Nearby Hotels
$387
$329
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $472/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$739
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$449
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,599
$699
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$362
$329
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $382/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kiahuna Plantation Resort(Poipu)(Great Value!)
$214
$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,326)
Filter reviews
2,326 results
Traveler rating
1,833
347
100
36
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,833
347
100
36
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred saltpool barsmall hotelnespresso machineour honeymoonocean frontcontinental buffetpoipu beachsushimega resortsbreakfast packagevalet guysmacadamia nutsturn down serviceeggs benedictrain showeran ocean view room
Filter
Updating list...
2,204 - 2,209 of 2,326 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I did not stay at Koa Kea but spent time at the spa. I loved many things about the spa and it's employees and there were only a few small things that I didn't like. My massage with Greg was wonderfu and one of the best I have ever had. It wasn't a typical rub down but more of an evaluation my body and where I had pain and then he made it better. So if you are looking for some who can help with chronic pain this would be the therapist for you. It was my Grandmothers first time at a Spa and her first massage. Her massage therapist was very sweet and understanding and made my Grandmother feel very comfortable. The only draw backs were that if you are not a guest at the resort you have to be escorted to the spa and that they had a hard time with there comupters at the end. They would bennifit from a receptionist to help make appiontments, ring up clients. ect.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
Thank wonderlustWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed at Ko'a Kea in April as part of a 10 trip to Oahu and Kauai. We had stayed at the Sheraton on Poipu our last time to Kauai and were excited for the opening of this new hotel just down the beach. Our room was beautiful with deep, dark wood colors and a modern feeling to the designs. The bathrooms are generous with a fantastic rain shower in marbled tile. As comfortable as our own bed at home is we have to admit that the down comforters and plush mattresses were some of the best we have had in a hotel. It appears that all of the rooms have some partial ocean view, we had a gorgeous view of the surf crashing over the offshore reef and we could watch surfers testing their skills. Ko'a Kea is about as close to the beach as you can be in a hotel with the fantastic Poipu beach just a few steps away.

We expected with it being a new opening that we would run into some glitches but all of them were very minor and handled quickly and efficiently by the friendly hotel staff. For example our television volume did not work so they just let us have the adjoining room to use for the rest of our stay. We realized that since they were newly opened they did not have full occupancy but it was still very nice that they allowed us to use both rooms.

The pool area is great with a black bottom that keeps that water temperature nice and warm. With the thatch roof bar right next to the pool it was a great place to relax and enjoy a drink. At night they light up the gas tiki torches all around the property that gives it a wonderful tropical flair. We always looked forward to coming back to the hotel after sight seeing or just spending the day at the beach.

We can just not say enough great things about this hotel. The front desk staff was superb, the bell service gave great directions and information about the island. We had our kids with us and they enjoyed the hotel and being able to go to the beach and pool each day with snorkeling just down the beach and surf to play in. If you are looking for a smaller hotel in a perfect setting and more personal service than the larger hotels around the area then try Ko'a Kea on your next visit to Kauai.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

After much research and reading reviews that scared us away from other hotels, we decided to stay the later half of our trip at the Ko'a Kea which at booking time was not yet open for business and had no reviews but who sold us with their website pictures, amenity listing and special opening rate. A risky decision for cautious people, but one that had a big payoff!

The hotel setting is placed upon a stretch of Poipu beach that has immediate access to all water sports - snorkeling, boogie boarding, surfing or just beach walking and watching the waves roll in... the grounds as expected were impeccable, well laid out and private from neighbouring accommodations with an outside bar (which we hope extends it hours until or past sunset and increases lunch offerings beyond two choices, and adds draft beer or Kauai brewed choices), large pool with new fluffy towels and separate hot tub which at the end of a day of beach going or exploring the island refreshed us for an evening of dining. Red Salt was only open for breakfast and dinner during our stay. Breakfast was our favorite meal of the day and did not disappoint starting with self made espresso in our room with real cream provided and in the restaurant - the best eggs benedict! We liked it so much we had it three days in a row. Dinner service a bit of a disappointment as staff not quite flowing yet - a minor detail as the food is why we were there. Menu choices provided classic fine dining ingredients with a contemporary fusion twist showcasing local ingredients. "Ono" - delicious!

Retiring to our room (garden view & top floor and looked exactly like the website photos) was the best way to end the day in paradise with a high quality mattress, linens and duvet, spacious bathroom with ammenties, free internet, 42" LCD flatscreen and semi-private lanai. Evening turn down service a nice touch with a much appreciated chilled bottle of water. We were provided an early checkin/out with only complaint being that we were not offered an upgrade upon checkin as other guests we spoke with were.

We especially appreciated the gracious staff and management who went out of their way to accomodate any request and shared their stories of life on Kauai. We look forward to our next trip & stay!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank umabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed here for our last two nights on Kauai. This boutique hotel exceeded our expectations. The week we were there this newly opened hotel was operating as a "soft open", however we didn't experience any big "kinks". Each and every staff member bent over backwards to make our stay wonderful. The attention to detail was fabulous -the decor, the amenities (the beds and linens are fabulous), the grounds, the service -everything. What's better is that you get that a sunny Poipu location without the trappings of a large touristy-styled hotel. The Ko'a Kea Hotel is luxurious without being pretentious. It's quiet and relaxing with 5-Star quality service.

The u-shaped layout of the building (built on the footprint of a previous hotel destroyed by Hurricane Iniki) offers privacy from the other hotels, giving a nice feel of seclusion. You can easily stroll along the beach on a manicured pathway that winds past the new Marriott Condos in one directions or past the Sheraton in the other.

We HIGHLY recommend the Red Salt restaurant for dinner. If this place doesn't receive a Michelin star for it's cuisine we'd be surprised. The fish is locally caught and fresh. Menu items change depending on what is available. Breakfast can be a little pricey and slightly underwhelming but it is still good and the service is still top-notch. You can choose to eat breakfast on your room's balcony or in the restaurant.

We overheard some people (not guests of the hotel) on the pathway complain about the cost of a night's stay. We can only say that we found a great deal through Hotels.com and the price of staying at the Ko'a Kea was worth every single penny. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank satinnickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews