We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We just returned from a Hawaiian vacation which included five nights at Koa Kea. Without a doubt, Koa Kea the most restful, elegant and staff-attentive accommodations on Kawai's south shore; great location, access directly to the beach and to paths to other hotels and beaches, pool, hot tub and an excellent restaurant, Red Salt. Koa Kea is designed for couples with no special facilities for children. If you are looking for those facilities, or multiple food and beverage locations, you would be better off at the Hyatt on the south shore. But if you are looking to unwind and appreciate great service, try Koa Kea.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean view room if possible, including a breakfast package; there is also a package for IPre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rhale53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 2,158 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

All of the positive reviews I read between the time I booked the Koa Kea and the time we arrived made me a little nervous; nothing could be this great. But it is great, starting with the welcoming, pleasant greeting we received upon driving up to the entrance. The entire staff is extraordinarily warm and friendly. Extra hangers, an extra chair in the room, extra face clothes, all attended to promptly and without question. The bar and dining room staff was equally friendly and helpful. The food was the best of any restaurant we tried on the island. The entire property was perfectly clean and our ocean front room was comfortable and had wonderful bed linens and the best view of the beach and sunset. What we loved about the Koa Kea besides all of the above, is that it is quiet and small and perfectly located with fun shopping close by. Although the most recommended restaurants are within a mile, the best food is at Red Salt in the Koa Kea. I cannot leave out the amazing front desk and concierge desk staff; always helpful and always friendly. We loved the Koa Kea so much that we booked for the same time next year. I'll be counting the days.

Room Tip: They have both ocean view and ocean front, so be sure you understand which you are getting. For sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Ko'a Kea was the perfect smaller resort we were looking for on our honeymoon. The entire staff was friendly and professional. They immediately made us feel welcome and answered all of our questions. The room was very nice, and cleaned twice a day. The valets provided suggestions on where to go on the island based on the weather conditions. The pool and hot tub were wonderful, as were the cocktails at the pool bar. I highly recommend the breakfast package - you will want to try everything on the menu. And, the location is perfect for the time of year because of the sometimes rainy conditions everywhere else on the island. A spa day was also included in our package, which was very relaxing and perfect for a rainy day. Overall, it was well worth the price and we were so happy we stayed at Ko'a Kea for our honeymoon. We hope to be back sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We visited this great hotel this week. I must say I was really impressed be the pleasant staff. They would always greet you with a smile. The location was fabulous and the rooms where modern and clean with nice details and effects like Nespresso machine and local macadamian nuts to welcome you. I guess this is a typical romantic honeymoon hotel.

If I had to criticize anything it would have to be that it might be a bit too romantic, in a sense that they could have had more local activities in case of rain or even common activities like sunseth dinners or even a bbq at the beach. As a european I am also used to everything being included in the price. Please be aware that even though the room price itself is not that bad, the total price will probably double when you include tax, tips and daily resort fee. I would prefer paying this upfront. Breakfast could also vary a bit more.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CeeDeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Lovely hotel with a private, calm feel. Perfect for relaxed days on Hawaii. Rooms are nice and in very good shape, two smaller beaches are just some steps away from the pool area. The restaurant is excellent (has improved a lot over recent years). Excellent service in the hotel/restaurant. Breakfast with a smaller variety of food but excellent pricing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mksgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

What an amazing resort the Koa Kea is! I was so impressed with how beautiful and quiet the resort was and that it's right on the ocean. I stayed in an ocean front room and loved it!

The pool bar has a fabulous view of the ocean. The pool bartender Jamie Fain has to be the best bartender I've ever encountered!! Her drinks were amazing but her customer service was unlike anything I've ever experienced. She really goes out of her way to make you feel like you are a friend and not just a customer :) The amount of people that knew her by name and came up to the bar asking for her really is testament to how fantastic of a people person she is.

Come and stay at this resort and you will love it!!! I've stayed at the Sheraton in Poipu and the the Westin in Princeville. While they are certainly nice places, hands down the Koa Kea is my all time favorite.

I loved the amazing shower in the bathroom with a rain shower head on the ceiling and a regular shower head too. Definitely one to be enjoyed with a partner :) The bed is extremely comfortable. Extremely clean and nicely decorated rooms.

The restaurant specials for dinner were fantastic! We were here over the Christmas holiday and the weather was fantastic!! Snorkled right in front of the hotel with a lovely sea turtle. The water temperature was perfect. I was even able to head home with a nice tan :) All around this is a resort I will return to :)

Room Tip: Splurge on an ocean view room or even a partial ocean view room and you won't be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Koa Kea is a relatively small luxury hotel. The rooms are large, comfortable, and well maintained. The staff is exceptionally friendly. The beach in front of the property is not very interesting but nice beaches adjoin. There are plenty of lounge chairs for relaxing. The small, shallow, noodle-shaped pool is not very useful for swimming but the hot tub is popular. The hotel has a nice fitness center as well.

For us, the drawbacks to the Koa Kea are the bland aesthetics and unimpressive continental breakfast buffet that came with the room. On several days our rooms were not cleaned until very late in the afternoon.

If you want a quiet and comfortable place to stay in the Poipu area, this is an excellent option. It is within walking distance of several good restaurants and shopping areas.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,355 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 Green Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $454 - $1,616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing