We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service,hospitality and a true vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My partner and I are world travelers and have been staying at this property no less than three times per year. we have personal contact with
All of the staff including the GM Chris who will go above and beyond to
Make sure your stay is perfect. Everyone from the Car valet attendants,
Front desk staff, servers at the Red Salt Restaraunt will go above and
Beyond their call of duty. The housekeeping staff will assist you at any
Time and I will tell you, if you want pampering and a true vacation this
Hotel is for you. It is romantic, quiet and highly personable! If you want
The corporate feel, lots of children and impersonal attention, then you
Would want to stay at the hotels in the area like the Hyatt, Marriott or
Any of the other chains.
we are already planning our next return visit to Koa Kea and plan on
Staying in the Ocean View room or the Ocean Front. You definitely
Would want to spend the extra cost to experience any of the ocean views.
This is an excellent property, and being world travelers you will find this
Place to be in the top. I might add that Marlina at the Restaraunt and Shyla and Brianna are three of the nicest people that I have ever met.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kuma75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 2,206 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Surprised by the "average" nature of this hotel. The only exceptional hotel offering are the toiletries. ....worth the money? Turn off by the limit of one small free bottle of water per day (per room, not guest). Nespresso offered with 6 pods for a full week stay? Small issues...but nothing sticking out as special.

Pros: Nice and quiet. Bed very comfortable. Red Salt restaurant offered good food.
Cons: poor size and privacy of patio/balcony. Dingy/stained carpet in hallways. Price.

Would be considered good compared to Holiday Inn....but is it really worth the premium pricing? Always a trusting Trip Advisor follower....first time I have been disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bigdtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The is a fabulous place. We did not opt for the ocean view so we looked out on the pool and ocean but it was lovely! Being on the first floor, we had a seating area with a lounge chair as well as a table where we enjoyed our fresh chocolate covered strawberries (yum!) and complimentary champagne for my husbands birthday. The beach is terrific, with beautiful sand and snorkeling. You can watch the sun rise AND set over the ocean from neighboring beaches. It doesn't get much better than that!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are lovely as they have a lounge chair and look out on the pool and ocean. This was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank levinfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Koa Kea on January 12 to 17th. We requested and ocean veiw room, but none were available. It is a small hotel. Our room was very clean, updated and did have partial ocean view. Pool and hot tub are a bit small but clean and inviting. Great restaurant, Red Salt. We opted for the breakfast buffet package and it was great. The staff was friendly, polite and helpful.
Limited parking requires mandatory valet parking. I thought the hotel was outstanding, my wife was not that impressed (she travels globally for work) she thought is was average.

Room Tip: a room forward of the bar will give a better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Had a nice time here, not too many children and nice bar/pool area. Got a partial ocean view room but there wasn't a view unless you were on the balcony. Was easy to rent surfboards and snorkelling gear. Service was outstanding, don't book boat tours from reception though, they're half price across the road in the agencies.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bigrobmac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

This is simply the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in. We chose to upgrade to a room directly overlooking the beach and ocean and it was worth it. The beds were extremely comfortable. The rooms were quiet. The sound of waves hypnotic. The restaurant was excellent. Sunsets beautiful. We hope to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathilinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Loved this small, intimate resort. Just one pool, terrific bar service (best Mai-tais). Quiet and very few kids. Perfect for an adult R&R vacation. Our rate included breakfast which we had delivered to the room so we could sit on the balcony and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Be sure to order the soufflé pancakes; they are incredible! Although Red Salt is a great restaurant, my only complaint is that it is indoors. No outside dining available other than the pool bar.

If you are looking for multiple pools and restaurants, and a kid-friendly atmosphere, this isn't for you. If on the other hand you you want a small, quiet luxury hotel, it's the perfect choice!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Teri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,421 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $482 - $973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing