We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly, and fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, and fabulous”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Koa Kea exceeded my expectations. The staff appeared to have received the same training as staff from places like the Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons. They are kind, professional, and seem so happy to be there. Even before we arrived, my requests over phone & email were handled with perfect efficiency. They helped me book an oceanside massage and picnic lunch via email request. When we arrived, they had a chilled bottle of champagne in the room to celebrate our anniversary.

Our room was on the first floor (165). The front desk agent, Claudine, showed us to the room & gave us a little tour. The Nespresso machine was very cool, but when I mentioned that I didn't drink coffee, she had an electric kettle & tea tray brought to the room while we were away at the restaurant. The room was beautiful and very quiet. The only sound we heard was the rain, waves, and breeze through the trees. There is a down duvet as well as mattress topper but they'll offer to switch it out for something lighter if you ask. That double shower head system is fantastic (great for tall people like my bf).

The weather wasn't suited for swimming in the pool, lovely as it was. We made good use of the hot tub at night, though. It's a nice temperature and large enough to accommodate 2 couples without anyone feeling crowded.

We had dinner & breakfast at Red Salt. I was pleasantly surprised at the inventive, well prepared dishes. Also, our server, Nancy, was a lot of fun. It looks like it could be a rather stiff place with the cool, modern decor, but she was so friendly and cheerful that we felt very much at ease to enjoy the meal. We thoroughly enjoyed every bite from the bread to the dessert. Breakfast was also fantastic. Most hotel breakfasts are, to be blunt, a rip off. But they have a $25 buffet + entree which is a great deal. The bf got steak & eggs along with the buffet and didn't have to eat the rest of the day! I opted for the signature souffle pancakes and those did not disappoint at all!

We were sad to leave this place and will be back again next year and hopefully for many more vacations in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,679
    313
    91
    29
    9
See reviews for
149
1,722
37
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poipu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed for 10 days, had great service from everyone. Loved the Red Salt....ask for Brian but everyone is amazingly friendly and a pleasure to be with. Staff made you feel like you were truly welcome and a guest to them not just a job. Worth the price and I will go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Upscale hotel with personal touches. Highlight of trip with concierge always available for activity advice. Great little gym. Rooms immaculately clean, comfort and fresh as only 4 yrs old. Amazing location near to shops and running, with sunset view. Perfect for couples, quiet getaway. Breakfast and dinners at Red Salt top quality and prices commensurate. Hope to come back! Rarely say that about a hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksaridakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Koa Kea. It is an adult oriented, classy, small boutique hotel…..just a few steps away from Poipu Beach. We stayed in a garden view room which was average in size, but very well appointed. The bed is very comfortable, and dressed in wonderful white linens. Although the bathroom doesn't have a bath tub, it does have a beautiful and large marble shower with multiple rain heads. The room was very private and quiet, and we even had a peak of the ocean when we sat on our lanai. All the people working at the resort are warm, friendly and service oriented. They are proud of their resort and take special care of you so that you have a great experience and want to return again. The pool bar/restaurant makes great drinks and food during the daytime hours. The cocktail lounge makes the most extraordinary chocolate martini!!!! I highly recommend you share it with a friend as it is quite large!!
We will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Koa Kea and would happily return.

- excellent service
- immaculate grounds and rooms
- the bed is incredibly comfortable
- amazing salt water pool
- nice lounge chairs
- NEVER crowded around the pool
- quiet
- poolside drinks were DELICIOUS (albeit pricey)

Overall, we found this hotel wonderful and relaxing. It is teeming with couples (mostly honeymooners like us I presume) and very quiet. Plus, it's on the 'dry side' of the island so we had gorgeous sunshine 99% of the trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Koa Kea for our honeymoon. The staff exhibited such a level of warmth, professionalism, and good-hearted/genuine hospitality, that our transition back to life on the mainland was hard. No more morning greetings of Aloha each morning.

The staff is great -- Phil and his girlfriend, to Jim at that bar -- that guy can hustle and make a fantastic drink -- to Justin's incredible sushi, and Michael's hospitality, and Brian's charm -- the team makes you feel like family. Coming back to DC has been an awakening of how one wishes life could be.

The food is awesome -- we went to The Beach House down the road one night -- don't believe the hype! The Kobe beef burger at Koa Kea is one of the best things that ever touched our lips. Red Salt was one of our favorite places to eat during our two weeks in Hawaii -- we were blown away by the quality, not to mention the most reasonable prices.

Koa Kea isn't a place to stay, it's an "Experience." Truly one of the best experiences I've had. The size of the hotel is perfect, the staff exemplary, and the architecture and style chic and comforting. The grounds are fantastic and the views are incredible!

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the left side of the hotel (as you face out to the ocean -- the views at sunset a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a magnificent 8 day stay at the Koa Kea Hotel and Resort in Poipu Beach Kuaui. I made the selection after reading through Trip Advisor and we were not disapointed. The room was very well appointed with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. It was hard getting up. We were upgraded from a partial ocean to a full ocean view and the view out on the balcony was stunning. We had room service out on the balcony which was a treat, The pool, spa were in top condition, very clean and the bar service pool side was excellent. I recommend the frozen Coconut Mojito. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant 'Red Salt' and it lived up to its reputation. Try the lemon pineapple souffle pancakes for breakfast. They are addictive. The sunsets are wonderful. Overall great and we will be back. The staff are amazing.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor with a full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,309 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing