We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had an outstanding stay at the Koa Kea hotel. Just a few minutes on foot from Poipu Beach, with easy access to the major roads on Kauai, we thought it was a perfect location. The hotel is quiet, and very well appointed with clean, minimal design. This is a place great for couples looking to get away, not a lot for kids, and I didn't see many at the resort. Service is excellent - everyone was friendly and helpful, especially the valet parking staff! The rooms are very nice - comfortable, spacious, and with your own private lanai. You can also leave the door open as they have screens if you want to take in the ocean air. Rooms are modern and clean. We also ate at Red Salt and had a wonderful meal. The concierge staff was also top notch - they were able to provide us very helpful information regarding activities on the island. We will definitely stay here the next time we can visit Kauai!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the splurge. Second floor and up is quieter, since you won't be dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mpcSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved the personal service of the valet who were sincere in their questions and conversations. The hotel had a sushi happy hour that was fantastic!! The guests were quiet and respectful of each other. The laundry machines were convenient. We would recommend this hotel if you are the type of traveler who stays in the area. We were almost too busy exploring the island to fully enjoy what the hotel has to offer, making the price more than what we got out of it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunshineExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very nice small hotel, at least small by Hawaiian standards.
The service was excellent, the rooms not massive but nicely decorated and comfortable. Go for a beach front. The location is great because you are sheltered from the larger hotels which are situated either side of the Koa Kea, the beach (a 25yd walk) is fab, great swimming etc. Red Salt was the best restaurant that we ate in during our 2 weeks in Kauai, the sushi in particular was superb. Its a long way to go but we will do it again.

Room Tip: Beach front is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Koa Kea is the place to stay in Kauai: small, friendly, good location, high quality rooms and services, beautiful pool and facilities, good food, special atmosphere, beautiful sunsets, and above all very helpful and caring staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francesca d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a wonderful upmarket resort, a nice size and and lovely quiet atmosphere. It is located next to the Marriott which is huge and crowded. This hotel is just right. A lovely ocean view aspect with a nice pool area. The rooms are luxuriously appointed with high end facilities. The rooms are serviced twice daily and the staff are very helpful. We were transferred from the airport and didn't hire a car. We have walked to most places but have felt a bit restricted without the car. A good lesson for our next visit.

Room Tip: The beds are quite soft with luxury feather donnas and pillows. However there was no lighter bed cov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BluskyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Ko’a Kea, but I’ll start with the negatives, just in case any of these is a deal-breaker for the reader.

First, a warning: it’s hard to find the hotel, especially if you’re driving at night and coming from the airport. The one sign that says Ko’a Kea is hidden on the side of a stone wall that you won’t see as you travel west – not by day, and certainly not by night. It’s best to call the hotel in advance and get detailed directions of the landmarks you should look for.

Second, perhaps the obvious for a hotel of this kind: when you get a price quote, find out what the price is all-in, after resort fees, valet fees, taxes, and the like. On the bright side, our deal included a cumulative $50 per day that could be spent in the restaurant, on room service, or in the boutique. We’d rather have had the $50 as a rebate, but it came in handy when buying gifts for the folks back home.

Our room was average-sized, less spacious than one might have expected at these rates – but Hawaii is not cheap and doesn’t have much of an off-season. We were surprised that the bathroom did not include a tub, though it did have a large shower, and were told that only some of the rooms have tubs. The bathroom also had Kohler fixtures, which are not top-of-the-line. The room had a fairly large TV but no DVD player.

The great thing about the hotel is its staff, which is highly professional and responsive. It helps that there are only 121 units in the hotel, far less than some of the neighboring resorts. The staff went out of their way to help us, up to and including calling us while we were on our way to the airport for the trip home, because we’d accidentally left an item behind. They were also very helpful in helping us plan our day trips, suggesting sights to visit and handing out cards with detailed driving directions on the front and summaries of the locations’ history on the back.

The grounds are well-manicured, with a large lawn facing the ocean. The shore directly outside the grounds is covered with rocks, but there are sandy beaches on either side of the hotel. To get to the beach on the west side, you have to climb carefully over some rocks. On the east side, you can take a sidewalk till you reach the sand.

There is a nice pool and hot tub, which were not too crowded during our stay, perhaps in part because there were not too many children in the hotel at the time.

The room came with a ceiling fan. If you’re feeling adventurous, you can shut off the air conditioning and sleep with the help of the ceiling fan and the screen door to the lanai. The lanai comes with a table and two chairs. If you are going to take any meals in your room, that is the place to do so. Inside the room, there isn’t really adequate space to eat.

Room Tip: The top (third) floor has better ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JMBnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Koa Kea is the perfect combination of luxury and comfort. It has a friendly staff and an unbelievably beautiful location - as well as being convenient. From the wonderful sunsets to swimming in the salt water pool after a morning run, it was perfect. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joanloui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,382 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $465 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing