We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Nearby Hotels
$479
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$419
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$779
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$629
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poipu Bed and Breakfast Inn(Poipu)(Great Value!)
$195
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiahuna Plantation Resort(Poipu)(Great Value!)
$212
$194
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,330)
Filter reviews
2,330 results
Traveler rating
1,835
349
100
36
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,835
349
100
36
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred saltpool barsmall hotelnespresso machineour honeymoonocean frontcontinental buffetpoipu beachsushimega resortsbreakfast packagevalet guysmacadamia nutsturn down serviceeggs benedictrain showeran ocean view room
Filter
Updating list...
1,226 - 1,231 of 2,330 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My fiance and I came here for what we jokingly referred to as our pre-honeymoon, but it might have just been the real thing. Everything about Koa Kea was perfect and thoughtful from check in to check out. The worst thing I can say is that everything is dreadfully expensive - but it is definitely worth the emptying of our checking account for beautiful accommodations, wonderful food, great service. And you can't beat that view.

Room Tip: We had a garden view and it was what we could afford. If you could, you probably want to spring for at least a partial ocean view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent 7 nights at the Koa Kea at the end of May. Our room was on the second floor with a view of the ocean, the sunset, and the pool. It was pretty impressive - when we checked in, the hotel person at check-in showed us two different rooms and let us pick! really - when does that happen? There is a great package that includes breakfast each day plus a $50 credit at the pool, restaurants, room service etc. Don't go without this - breakfast will really cost you. The room was very nice - but it was the view and the service that made our stay so enjoyable. There are only 120 rooms so they get to know you and your preferences. Of special note were the valet guys - they were super helpful when it came to ideas and directions - so friendly. Also - Red Salt - the restaurant is wonderful! Poipu is quiet - so if you are looking for r and r this is a great spot. I highly recommend the Koa Kea for the discriminating but not snobby traveler.

Room Tip: You may want to avoid the first floor if you want to use your patio - people are walking by - not the greatest for privacy. Room with a view is worth it!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pstein5534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The setting, The first class feeling and amenities. The quiet, clean and beautiful grounds all rolled together in a "teak it easy" Kauai kind of way made this a very special stay four our 10 year anniversary.

100% of the Staff was 100% awesome.

$6 to have your 6 star breakfast (souffle pancakes with fresh strawberrys!) delivered and setup on your terrace to watch the beach and surfers. best $6 I've spent in my entire life.

This hotel is about 3x more expensive than what I'd normally pay around the world. IMO it's 10x better.

loved it and want to build my own at home.

Room Tip: West Wing Grand Deluxe better view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d16rr702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Poipu is a little sun trap and this hotel is a little slice of luxury right on the beach. The pool area is great, complete with poolside jacuzzi. Great food and drinks at the pool bar. Lovely sea views. The rooms are contemporary and beachy - dark wood and aqua colours. Everything is pretty new. There's a gym. We had a room facing out over the pool and to sea. We watched sunsets from our balcony. Red Salt, the restaurant, is a must! People come from all over the island to this place.
We loved being on the beach as my husband surfs. There are restaurants in walking distance - Keoki's Paradise does a great hula pie!
This was a great way to chill out at the end of our honeymoon. It was very peaceful because its a boutique hotel - we had just come from the St Regis and dont think a stay at the neighbouring Hyatt - the other glam option around here - would have been what we were looking for at that point. We wanted to wind down at the end of our holiday, catch some rays, potter out in the evening. We could see whales from our sun loungers -a bonus of going at the time of year we did. We also did a boat trip relatively nearby with Capt Andy's whale watching - cannot recommend enough!
Do not overlook this place - it's amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beachchick12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ok, when you finally FIND the Koa Kea resort in Poipu, you will arrive at what looks like an overhauled old hotel. Don't miss the tiny tiny sign at the shared driveway or you will drive around Poipu looking for it.Yes, the service is lovely and friendly. Really, valet parking, while a nice touch, not necessary. We can see our car, can't we just go and get it?? The pool area is nothing flash. It looks like a residential pool not a resort oasis. There is no beach in front of this hotel. It has a boardwalk where people parade along looking in at you. If you want sand, you have to go in front of the timeshare next door with about a thousand other families. Fabulous. Not. Certainly not my idea of romance. The rooms were nice but nothing special. The balconys not the slightest bit private. The only thing we loved about the Koa Kea was the service an Red Salt restaurant. That I must say was very very good. We've been to romantic resorts, but this is just a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CottonWoolOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews