We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean View Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ocean View Room”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

First class resort and staff is excellent. Ocean View Room great to recharge in the afternoon on the porch with the constant breeze. The one night of rain was fine sitting in the covered porch. Adult pool is a fun and relaxing. Look for small spots along the lazy river. Waterfalls along the river have cove hid always.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Swans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    304
    90
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
1,696
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have been coming since it opened in 2009. We have to thank the Grand Hyatt because just before our vacation in 2009 they offered us upgrades on our stay there if we moved down to the Koa Kea the last few days of our vacation. Free stuff and a better room (they overbooked and needed rooms for a convention) so why not...

Their loss we have gone to the Koa Kea every year since 2009 when they opened.

If you want the true feeling of Hawaii and virtually walk out your door to the ocean this is it

The staff, and it starts at the top with Chris Steuri, General Manager who has this incredible staff. It would be hard to single out one or for that matter even 20.

I think it says something when the valet people know your name and welcome you back each year.

Oh and the rooms are as awesome as the pictures on the website. That probably should have been noted first.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlHermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Everyday was the best day...Nestled between some big name hotels was this beautiful, romantic, indulgent resort. The rooms were pristine, refreshing feeling and comfy all at once. The bedding is as nice as mine at home (maybe nicer) The little touches - espresso machine, luxury toiletries, turn down service, shells, notes in the room, always calling me by name- took this resort to the next level. They thought of everything. The staff was so accommodating and sweet.... definitely one of the best levels of service I have ever experienced. Red Salt had great food and wine list. Breakfasts were delicious. The pool area is quiet and beautiful BUT if you want beach time - the ocean is right there - just turn your head! Close to other great restaurants and the coffee plantation/national gardens/waimea canyons! If you are looking for a place to call home for a day, a week or a month - I would make this your home. It is everything and more.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must - #376 was a suite (telescope included to whale watch)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights on the first branch of our honeymoon. We couldn't have picked a better spot for what we were looking for. The hotel itself is small (100 rooms or so) and doesn't have the grandiosity of many of Hawaii's mega resorts, which is part of the reason why we chose it. The setting makes it perfect for quiet relaxation. The grounds are beautiful and extremely well-kept. There is a nice pool and lawn area with plenty of lounge chairs to go around. Almost all of the guests were adult couples, so the noise and energy levels were low and it was easy to lay by the pool with a drink and fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. We were awed by how tranquil the overall atmosphere was. The beach immediately outside the hotel is rocky but a short (3 minute) walk to the right or left will bring you to a nicer sandy area on Poipu (though it gets more crowded as there are other hotels in the area).

What really sets the hotel apart was the exceptional service. I don't think I've ever been to a hotel where the service felt so reliably attentive and genuine. Every interaction with staff was even better than the last. We felt so at home. Even the housekeeping was impeccable. It truly put the experience over the top.

The options for food on-site are the restaurant, Red Salt (for breakfast and dinner), and the pool bar. Both exceeded expectations. We had the full breakfast included in our room rate and I would recommend it as there was plenty of food and it was all delicious (it includes a continental buffet plus one cooked entree and one side per person).

My one complaint is that I didn't feel the spa was up to par. We didn't think the spa experience was worth the price and the atmosphere left something to be desired.

That being said, I would still go back to Kauai anytime just to stay at Koa Kea again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Incredible resort! We stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon. This resort is definitely a 5 star resort. The pictures depict it as an older property, and if you look at the outside it has an older hotel look, but the minute you step inside it is extremely modern. Everything from the marble bathroom, to the beautifully appointed room screams luxury. I think the greatest thing about this resort is the absence of children running around (thank god), this is pretty much an adults only resort. We stayed in room 242, it was a great corner ocean view with beautiful sunsets and a great view of the beach. Here are some details:

Room – Great décor, incredibly comfortable bed and comforter, if you need a lighter sheet just let the front desk know and they bring it up.

Bathroom – Bathroom is incredibly nice. All marble, plenty of room, and a dual headed shower (Great for after the beach)!

Staff – INCREDIBLE! They were available at any time, everyone from the valet (mandatory), to the maid were so very nice. They have a turndown service every day so you get to come home to a fresh bed

Food at Red Salt – It was very good, but VERY pricey for the portion size. Appetizers are designed for one person so plan on 2, we enjoyed the dining experience, but I have had better…

Beach – Immediately out front the beach is rocky, so go to your right towards the Marriott…there is a nice sand bar where you can easily get in and out of the ocean and snorkel. We actually saw a beautiful sea turtle that was right next to the beach.

Spa – We purchased a couples massage which was very nice, but $250 for both of us was a little pricey to me.

Drinks at the pool bar – Great drinks! Try the “antioxidant”, very refreshing after being in the ocean. Downside is that the drinks are $12-14 each, we picked up a bottle of vodka and some mixers at Wal-Mart next to the airport and that kept our bar tab down.

Overall this was one of the nicest resorts we have ever been too. Give it a try and you won’t be sorry. Last thing, and this is important…this is a VERY expensive resort so just plan ahead so you can enjoy it and not have to count pennies while there…remember you’re in paradise so enjoy!

Room Tip: Room 242 is next to the stairwell, but our privacy was never a concern and it had a great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We chose Ko’a Kea to celebrate our 25th Anniversary at and it could not have been any better. We were so very pleased with the Hotel and the entire staff. The level of attention & service we received was absolutely exceptional. We wanted a more intimate setting and this property was perfect, it’s just the right size with mostly adult guests which we really appreciated and added to the quiet & restful atmosphere we were looking for. The only negative point I can come up with was the limited amount of storage space in the room & the complimentary espresso coffee maker was not our style so we chose room service for our daily coffee. We definitely look forward to visiting Ko’a Kea again on our next trip to Kauai. We loved the ambiance of this smaller Hotel & were glad to find it was not too over-the-top such as the Las Vegas style atmosphere found at the Grand Hyatt down the street.

Room Tip: Top floor ocean view room was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora Johanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the resort in Kauai following a 5 night stay in Maui. I had originally picked the location and resort through Trip Advisor, and it definitely lived up to the wonderful reviews. Upon check-in, the valet/bellmen took our rental car and bags and greeted us upon arrival, providing information and asking about our trip. Traci at the front desk was very welcoming and made recommendations for activities. He provided a lot of helpful information and escorted us to our room, explaining all amenities that the resort had to offer. Our room was very nice and clean with a Nespresso machine available to use. The bathroom was very large with a two headed shower and L'Occitane products. It is a smaller boutique resort with excellent customer service!

We then left to explore the local area. All of the valet staff were again very helpful, and always remembered our name from the first day on. They also offered recommendations for activities, dinner, and directions. When we returned, we had champagne in our room because we had mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary. It seemed that there were a lot of couples staying that were recently engaged, honeymooning or getting married in Kauai. All mentioned they had a wonderful experience with the resort. The resort also provided turn down service and would leave a nightly bottle of water, which we appreciated as well as turn on light music by the bed.

The pool area was nice and was never crowded. The pool bar had an excellent frozen coconut mojito and bloody mary as well as good lunch or snack options. We just wished it had been open for longer hours throughout the day. I think the hours were 11am to 6pm, but the indoor bar was open afterwards, as well as Red Salt for dinner. All of the staff again were friendly and accommodating. We had water and fresh pineapple brought to us while we lounged at the pool. A water cooler was also accessible to the public.

The fitness area was more than adequate and easily accessible although I did not take full advantage of it. There were mostly cardiac machines, free weights, and yoga mats, which I should have used daily.

On my last day, I did have a Lomi Lomi massage by Noreen in the cabana by the beach. It was great. They also will keep your bags or try to provide a hospitality room if available if you are leaving on a later flight after check out. This made our last day much easier!

The resort has direct beach access, but you do have to walk a few steps in either direction for more space to lay out. It is a few minutes walk from the Poi'pu Beach park and very close to the Poipu shops and Kahuiula shops, a few minutes by car. It is also very close to Old Koloa Town. It is truly a great location.

We had purchased the breakfast package so we had access to the buffet which features italian meats, cheeses, oatmeal, cereal, toast and fresh fruits and juices as well as an entree per person each morning at their restaurant, Red Salt. It was a good choice. The food is good, and it gave us one less thing to worry about while on vacation. We also had sushi on Tuesday, which was also excellent.

The concierge took care of arranging all activities, which were easily billed to our room including our helicopter tour to the Jurassic Falls. The front staff also could take care of anything that you needed.

We drove the entire island. Nowhere was too far. After being in Hanalai and Princeville which are very nice areas, I'm still glad we stayed at the Koa Kea in Poipu. We loved loved loved the hotel and the staff and would not have traded it! We could've stayed forever.

Room Tip: No room is a bad room. The building are arranged in a U formation with oceanfront, oceanview and ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piphiangel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,272 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing