We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I spent the first half of our honeymoon at the Koa Kea, and it was the best decision we made. We loved the luxurious rooms, the stunning view, the delicious breakfasts and the relaxing spa to name a few. The Koa Kea had just the right mix of activity and quiet. My only wish was that we had beach access right in front of the resort, but it was only a short walk to the neighboring hotel's beach access so it all worked out!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Looking for a romantic honeymoon spot? This is it. The wife and I stayed here on our wedding trip and flat out loved everything about it. Relaxing, clean, beautiful and peaceful. This is really a perfect getaway for couples. Waking up our first morning here, my immediate thoughts were "this must be what heaven is like." You can enjoy an entire day here and not leave the grounds. We purchased a breakfast package and it was totally worth it. Dinner at Red Salt, adjacent to the lobby was also delicious, with lots of fresh seafood dishes. The grounds were exquisitely maintained and great for just finding a chair and a Mai Tai and watching the sunset. The beach is not directly in front of the hotel, but there are great ones on each side just a few steps away. We actually found this to be a good thing because it kept the vibe of the hotel from becoming loud and crowded. Also great pool, hot tub and bar area. Very mellow. Perfect place for recharging the batteries. Doctors should prescribe this place instead of anti-anxiety meds.

Room Tip: Second floor, with an ocean view. Worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 amazing days at this Boutique Hotel. Service was perfect! Surroundings Beautiful and our stay Peaceful!!!! I loved that the Hotel was a little more intimate that the much larger hotels that we've stayed at before. I will tell you, that the BEST fine dining restaurant on the island is located right in the Hotel. Red Salt is by far, the best Dining you will experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I chose Koa Kea because of the location. It is the smallest resort in the area but it surrounded by large resorts. It's about one mile to town and the grocery store. The waterfront is rock but Poipu Beach is a five minute walk. They have comfortable chairs on thier grounds but there is a hedge blocking some of the view. I think the hedge may possibly block the wind at times too. They did fulfill my request to have a room on a higher floor that hears the sound of the surf. The robes, feather pillows, mattresses and linens were all quality as was the l'occitane amenities. There is no self parking but they didn't charge for valet parking and if you called down before you left the room, your car would be waiting. The shower was a generous size with a seat. The lanai was rather large but there were only 2 chairs and one table. My complaint is that they charged $1.00 for Nespresso capules for the room and $8.00 for a beach chair if you wanted to take it to the beach. My partial ocean view room was nealy $400.00 a night so I though they could include these free of charge. They also didn't have scales in the room for weighing luggage.

Room Tip: We were in room 371 and it had a nice sunset but it did look over a roof of the neighboring condos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fishingchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Booked 7 night of an ocean front room. This place is amazing. It is small and intimate. The room was great from the feather pillows to the rain shower in the bathroom. The breakfasts were decadant and had many options. Red Salt is expensive but food was great. The hot tub was a better option ... the pool water was a bit too cool for our taste. The staff was super friendly from the housekeepers to the valets. They were always smiling and ready to assist you. Front desk staff had many suggestions on sightseeing options. Take the helicopter tour. Great memories

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweeka53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Koa Kea resort for seven nights in March 2013. The check-in process was smooth and we got the room that we reserved without a hitch. The location is on the south side of the island, in Poipu. The south side is drier so the weather was generally ok. The resort has its own beach access, which is nice. You can sit on the lawn chairs and watch the ocean. We even caught view of quite a few whales breaching in the distance. It was magnificent.

You can also easily walk to Poipu beach park that has some of the best snorkeling on the island. The location is great for some nice walks by the beach either to the east (2 miles to the Grand Hyatt) or to the West (about three miles to Spouting horn). There are plenty of good restaurants around the resort. The Red Salt on location is also very good (see separate review).

The staff was very good throughout our stay. The valet guys are extremely nice and helpful, the waiters at Red Salt are great and the housekeeping staff as well. The property is not very big, so it feels more cozy than a large resort. The downside is that you don't get all the spectacular landscaping at places such as the Hyatt. The room was good and the shower was clean and spacious. Towels are large and lush and the L'Occitance soaps and shampoos smell wonderful.

Overall, a good stay. Would definitely recommend for those interested in the South shore area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prozach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband, 15 year old daughter and I just spent several nights at the Koa Kea for spring break and thought the hotel was just perfect. We loved the smaller size of the hotel, the perfect location on Poipu beach and the elegantly appointed decor. The hotel is of modern decor with an Asian/Hawaiian twist finished with lots of dark woods warming up polished travertine, cream leather and glass. Our room was a bit small, but we loved the amenities, and the partial view of the ocean off our deck flanked by tropical plantings which kept the view cool and private.

The service was really top notch. Our rooms were newly done and kept in pristine condition. Linens and towels were luxurious - we loved the uber soft and comfy white cotton bedding! So cool and comfortable - pillows were perfect too. We were greeted with friendly smiles and intelligent service every step of the way, from friendly and kind maids, wait staff, car staff and super thoughtful concierge. They had pre printed note cards for every excursion we wanted to take, including accurate directions. Smart.

Lest I forget, it was great to be able to "do" a couple of loads of laundry in newer, clean washer and dryer while there - just down the hall. Made life easier.

Dinner and breakfast buffet at the Red Salt were lovely - the food exquisite. The morning buffet was a relative bargain at 12 dollars for lovely fresh papaya, pineapple and blueberries, a charcuterie of meats and cheeses, hot and cold cereals, and breads and muffins for toasting. And fresh juices, teas and Hawaiian coffee. Lovely ocean views too.

Our days spent taking day trips and /or relaxing on the lawn over looking the ocean were just what a vacation is all about. And, the staff helped us continuously. Even though the weather included some rain, we found we could easily adjust. Our day trips included a drive to Hanlei Bay on the north end of the island to explore waterfalls, the north shore Lighthouse, lunch at the posh St. Regis, paddlers on the river on the bay and a hike at the end of the road at Kei Kei beach. Another day was spent on the Blue Dolphin on the Na Pali coast watching lots of whales, spinner dolphins, sea turtles and snorkeling. While at the hotel, we took surfing lessons, snorkeled, shopped and dined at lovely other restaurants, including Merrimans for the best Monchong ever!

I would highly recommended this smaller, elegant hotel. We look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Our third floor east facing room was tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Staci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,396 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $467 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing