We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Everything from the staff, restaurant, spa, accommodations exceeded my expectations! Everyone was so welcoming and warm, the room was comfortable and had a wonderful view of the ocean. Red Salt is fantastic - we thought we'd try a restaurant at a neighboring hotel for fun, but ended up walking out before they could serve us to return to the Koa Kea! The valet remarked at how quick our return was, haha!

The pool and lawn area were so peaceful and both the indoor and outdoor bar areas are very well done. We had a late departing flight so on our last day we checked out of our room around noon and spent an afternoon at the spa. I had a wonderful massage, facial and scalp treatment. Afterwards, they offered us the use of their guest suite to pack a few things and prepare for the flight home. It was the perfect ending to an incredible experience.

I'm looking forward to my return trip to Kauai ... I will only ever stay at the Koa Kea!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room and felt it was really worth the premium rate charged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,602
    297
    89
    29
    9
See reviews for
134
1,657
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Last spring we were fortunate enough to be invited to Poi Pu, by our friends, to share in there rental home. We used it as a base to explore the island and fell in love with the beauty and activities of the north shore and appreciated the sun and relaxing of the South Shore. If Koa Kea had a sister property on the North Shore our life would be complete. We spent the final 5 days of our trip at Koa Kea and fell in love. It is perfect! From food to staff to location it could not have been better!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very relaxing stay with great service and fantastic food at Red Salt restaurant. Stayed in an Ocean Front room and received upgrade to Ocean Front deluxe- 3rd Floor (highly recommend). Join IPrefer club for upgrade possibility. Watched whales from our balcony each morning and evening- at least 20 a day. Absolutely incredible! Will return next year.

Room Tip: Join IPrefer club to get possible room upgrade. Third floor Ocean Front recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deegee208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent a few days in this outstanding hotel. It is a very quiet hotel, where the staff will do everything to please you. The rooms are fabulous, the bed are so comfortable, that, when we came back home, we ordered the same pillows and mattress pad (the staff, very kindly gave us the brand and all details). The restaurant "the red salt" is a gourmet restaurant, simply amazing! They serve excellent cocktails too. Very nice other restaurants are 5mn driving from there (the staff can even book them for you). Beaches are all around, from walking distance. You leave for the day, no problem, you can bring beach towels with you. From the Koa Kea, you can visit the whole island. The valet parking service is prefect (you feel that you are a VIP). It is a quiet paradise compared to the Hotel next door. We cannot wait to go back! I would recommend this hotel for adults.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MayaFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The service from all staff, especially Jaimye at the pool bar was exceptional. We were travelling with our 2 small boys and extended family and were always made to feel special. The hotel did not have many families with young children staying as I think most opt for the bigger pools of Hyatt or Marriott near-by. This creates an almost serene environment around you where you can absorb the beautiful surroundings, whales swimming past, turtles surfing in the waves...what more can be said. Would definitely love to go back one day - it was a memorable place!

Room Tip: If you can get a full ocean front room or room at the beach end of the hotel (partial ocean front) y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ktgrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've always avoided Hawaii because I'm not a fan of large, crowded resorts. Koa Kea changed my mind on Hawaii! It's a smaller property without all the bells and whistles of the large mega-properties. But it's peaceful and uncrowded, always a lounge chair or bar stool available. Yes, it's not situated directly on sand, but it is oceanside, and great beaches for swimming and snorkeling are a 2-minute walk away. We splurged on an oceanfront room and were just about as close to the water as you can get in a hotel room--fabulous! Service was impeccable. I wouldn't recommend it if you're travelling with kids--I think they'd be bored. But for a romantic getaway, it was perfection. The rooms were modern and tasteful--not too Hawaiian per say, although some lovely shells and coral as decoration, and they don't really do the Hawaiin thing--no luaus or leis or servers in grass skirts. They did light tiki torches all over the property after sunset, which was a nice touch. There are washers and dryers on every floor, which was also convenient. Our room had an empty mini fridge (room service will stock it for you on request) which was great, and they brought bottles of Fiji water every evening at turn down. There's also a Nespresso maker in the room so you can enjoy your first cup of coffee on your lanai. Complimentary coffee was also set out on the bar every morning. I look forward to returning here!

Room Tip: Ocean front was worht the splurge. Ask for rooms on 2nd or 3rd floor for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hannahytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Level Contributor
271 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The other reviews are all good descriptions. Note that this hotel IS NOT on a beach: the Marriott beach is a quick walk, and then it's over the rocks or around the path in either direction to more sand. The pool is small, by resort standards, and was not "warm." The hot tub is nice and heavily used. People "lounge" on chaises on the lawn, and there are plenty available. The restaurant is way above average; we ate there daily---choices are somewhat limited to other hotels and a few mall options, and Red Salt is a winner. The rooms are nice but standard. Very cool light fixture between bathroom and bedroom. The balconies are not private at all--half walls between each, probably so as not to restrict water views. If your neighbor is out, you will hear every cough, page turn, chair move. A good choice for the south shore if you don't want a condo or a huge hotel property. Not a Four Seasons, but very pleasant.

Room Tip: Join Preferred Hotels for the automatic upgrade (if available).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonamesforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Green Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing