We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I recently enjoyed a 6 night stay at the Koa Kea. Located nestled between the Marriott and the Plantation, it's a bit tricky to find. Look for the little blue signs after you make the turn into the entrance. Location is great. Very close to shops and restaurants (with a number within walking distance). Beaches are just slightly off to the right and the left of the resort, which is nice because people aren't parked right in front as you enjoy lounging on the chairs by the pool. Amazing sunset views! Resort is spotless and very well maintained. Every single staff member we encountered was pleasant, helpful and eager to assist in anyway possible. I even asked if they had a noisy fan I could borrow as white noise (my husband snores) because the rooms were so quiet ... and they did even better!! They produced a portable sound machine with different options (waves, rain, birds, etc.). Amazing and worked like a charm!

The pool is small, but the resort wasn't overcrowded so it didn't matter. No kids around during most of our stay, although we did notice a number of babies arriving near the end and a couple with a rather noisy toddler checked in beside us for the night. Can definitely hear through the walls and the lanais are not private. Rooms are clean, bed is fantastically comfortable and bathrooms are gorgeous. Food at Red Salt and the poolside bar was delicious. Lunch was a good value compared to local restaurants.

Not sure why there are a couple of negative reviews on here (no one had to pay for chairs/umbrellas while we were there). If you're looking for a big resort, Koa Kea is not for you. It's advertised as a boutique hotel, which is exactly what it is. If you're looking for a smaller hotel with excellent service, clean comfortable rooms, a gym, pool, hot tub, laundry facilities, small fridge and a good location in Poipu, then the Koa Kea is for you. We stayed in #342, which is at the end of the hall with an ocean view.

We highly recommend the Koa Kea. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,620
    299
    89
    29
    9
See reviews for
139
1,670
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pullman, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our three glorious weeks at the Koa Kea were magical! We have been doing an annual trek to Kauai for about 10 years and have watched the re-making of this wonderful little hotel. We were so excited when it opened -- we first stayed there when it was the Poipu Beach Hotel in 1992. It is a stunning and elegant resort, and the service was impecable. We felt like family! Chris Struery and his staff attended to every detail and their customer service was the best. It was the perfect place for our annual "recharge"! We can't wait until next year -- we will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAH432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned from a two week stay in Hawaii and stayed four nights at the Koa Kea. It was one of our favorite places. It is a lovely place with great service and beautiful and elegant rooms. We stayed ocean front on the first floor and loved sitting out on the lanai and watching the sunsets daily. We got the Romance package which included breakfast daily and champagne on arrival. We had breakfast via room service three of the four mornings and loved eating on our lanai overlooking the ocean. We only wish we could return tomorrow!

Room Tip: We liked ocean front ground floor. There is some walking traffic but it didn't bother us at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennetts907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This place is absolutely amazing. First off, every single person that we came into contact with at Koa Kea were so nice and genuinely friendly. The service is immaculate. When we first arrived we were 5 hours before check in because of our early flight and they let us go up into a room and hang out, shower, and change our clothes while they held our other bags and parked the car. They told us to stay as long as we liked in that room until our room was ready for us. This was the first good sign of many things to come!

After we checked in we were walking to our room with the hotel staff person and noticed that they were touching up the area with a fresh coat of paint. I can't stress this enough, they up keep the heck out of this place!

The rooms are beautiful with the biggest towels in the world and the most comfortable bed that you have ever laid down on. Our room was on the ground floor and we had our own little private balcony just a stones throw from the ocean. As far as the hotel staff, they actually clean and make up your room two times a day which was a nice touch as well.

The location is perfect! Right on the beach, and also very close to shopping and food. The great thing was that shopping and food is close enough to walk if you want, but since Koa Kea is at the end of a dead end road, it is very peaceful and quiet.

The pool is great and the hot tub is even better. It was amazing because on the hot tub "rules" sign it showed to limit your time in the tub to 15 minutes or so to give other people a chance to enjoy it by themselves too. I was floored that everyone followed suit and out of the 5 nights we relaxed in the hot tub only 1 night we had another couple with us. Speaking of couples this place is made for them. The whole time here I only say 1 child. Only 1. It was great.

And then there is Red Salt. This place has without a doubt the best food on the entire Island. We ate ourselves fat here and although it was a tad expensive, it was worth every single penny. Again we were treated to amazing customer service, which the entire hotel displays and it was the perfect honeymoon. This place is amazing! We can't wait to go back! Thank you Koa Kea!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thrillh0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for 14 days recently for our honeymoon...we had initially only planned on staying 7, but when we went up north to the St. Regis in Princeville we turned around and re-booked at Koa Kea. Here's what we loved...

- The hotel is fairly small and intimate. The pool wasn't overcrowded, and there were hardly any children there during our visit. We liked that we could step out of our room and be at the pool, beach, or valet in minutes.
- The service here is INCREDIBLE. Between the valet, reception, spa, restaurant, housekeeping, and outdoor bar, we felt the service was truly personal and genuine. I have to say that Nancy, one of the bartenders at the outdoor bar, was exceptional - she always had a smile on her face and provided great service.
- The grounds and rooms are modern, comfortable, and well-maintained. We loved our room, and the bed was super comfortable. We were constantly seeing the rest of the property being scrubbed, swept, etc. No dingy lounge chairs or peeling paint here!
- The food/drinks were great. We tried it all - pool bar, room service, inside bar, Red Salt restaurant...while the food and drinks were spendy, the quality was great. If we were too tired to venture out for a meal we were never disappointed to eat at the hotel.

We would absolutely come and stay here again. The price is a bit steep...but in my opinion worth it given the level of service. Opt for the breakfast package, since you also get a $50/day credit at the restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a "partial ocean view" which faced the pool...but you could see the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank octriptaker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I rarely write reviews but felt compelled due to the subpar experience we had at Ko'a Kea and felt we needed to warn others. We were expecting something terrific based on photographs on website + online reviews. The hotel looks nothing like the photographs. Shared balconies mean you have no privacy. My husband got bit by mosquitos on balcony. The room was rundown. This three storied hotel looks much like a motel (my husband likened it to a holiday inn) with laundry mats and the elevators were very dirty. You have to buy everything - even umbrellas and a lounge chair. Overpriced drinks + sandwiches.There is only one VERY small kiddie pool and absolutely NO other facilities. There is no private beach. You have to walk to neighboring hotels to sit on the 1 mile strip of beach which can get crowded. This is NOT a resort. Nothing offered beyond the small pool and lounge chairs and therefore it's very deceptive to call this a resort. we ended up staying for 1 night and booked out of there earlier and cut our vacation short. We paid only $70 more than the Four Seasons at Mauii so I was irate that this very expensive motel/hotel could call itself a resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank PVG111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I decided to come to Koa Kea for the first part of our honeymoon before heading to the Four Seasons on the Big Island. After reading the outstanding reviews on Trip Advisor, Yelp, etc. we were super excited to check it out. Not sure why there is such a vast discrepency between the other guests and ourselves, but we were so dissapointment that we checked out early the next day (were supposed to be there 3 nights) because we were so unhappy with the accommodations.

Our first and biggest dissapointment was the overall quality of the rooms, for several reasons. First off, the rooms are incredibly tiny, about ~400 square feet (note they do not advertise the room sizes on the hotel website or trip adviser). We had a difficult time walking from one side of the room to another. Secondly, our upgraded "partial ocean view" was kind of a joke. At north of $400/ night, you should not be getting a tiny sliver of an ocean view (not exaggerating). After expressing our dissapointment to the hotel staff with the ocean view, they offered us an available "ocean view" for an additional $100 per night. This was even more of a joke than the partial - we could barely see any ocean. For an additional $100/night, there should be a tangible difference.

Last but not least, we were dissapointment in the service. After continuing to express our dissapointment, never once did the staff elevate our concerns to a manager, or offer to improve our experience in any way shape or form. Only after we told them we would be checking out early, completed our check out, and called our car around did someone ask us "is there anything I can do to help?" At that point, it's clearly way too late. We then spent the remainder of our stay at the Princeville St. Regis - would recommend if you are looking for the best hotel on the island.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Ashlee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing