We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Boutique Hotel in Poipu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Boutique Hotel in Poipu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We chose to stay here based on the TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. A small hotel (compared to the large complexes to either side), with a very attentive and helpful staff. The hotel has two wings enclosing a pool and lawn area, with access to the beach. The rooms are very well appointed and extremely comfortable.
We had a package that included breakfast at the Red Salt restaurant, and this was a great value. This included nearly everything from the breakfast menu including souffle-pancakes and eggs benedict.
The hotel has valet (required), but the cost is included in the daily resort charge (about $15/day). Overall, we found the service to be first rate with very attentive, helpful, but not intrusive staff in all areas.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a partial ocean view, which was nice, but especially nice to have a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike22315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,547
    287
    86
    29
    8
See reviews for
130
1,599
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Fe, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We decided to stay at the Koa Kea based on good reviews and we got a good deal on luxurylink. the hotel is surprisingly small. we were surprised at the "ocean view room" because technically, you'd have to crane your neck to look past your neighbors' lanai to see a tiny view of the ocean while you're on your lanai and that the true view from the room is the pool and other rooms. I wouldn't count that as "ocean view room". sensing our disappointment, the front desk girl offered us "ocean front" option. now this is MUCH better because you're technically steps from the waves, on the third floor which is their highest floor for $700+/night. the red salt restaurant is the highlight of the hotel. their food is spectacular. the staff is extremely friendly and always ready to help. would I stay here again? probably not. it was overall a nice experience but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

It was fabulous. Best most attentive service I’ve ever received at a hotel. Facility was top notch and dinners at Red Salt were wonderful.

I really liked the way that EVERYONE we ran into each day would ask what our plans were for the day and then would make helpful suggestions to enhance our experience. Not sure if this is an expected protocol or just everyone being helpful but it came across as a sincere desire to improve our experience on the island.

BTW, we had an ocean front room and we were so close to the water that I swear I could throw a rock and hit a surfer... Not that I tried :) ALSO, We had some of the best snorkling in Kauai just a 90 second walk down the beach (to the left).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Had a minor issue with the room at check-in, that was resolved by the front desk staff in a satisfactory manner. Ended up on the ground floor with a walk-out to the pool that was heaven. Rooms were comfortable. Bathroom was a good size, with a large shower. Bath products were L'Occitane, which are my absolute favorite! Staff and service was great. There were a lot of options within walking distance for meals. Beach was small, but I'm not much of a beach person, and enjoyed sitting by the pool more. Hot tub was also delightful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nowaytobegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
echo78
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Beautiful, quiet with first rate service. The staff could not have been more accommodating. The room was chic and clean. We had an ocean view and we could hear the waves as we slept. There is no beach to sit on but the grounds are just steps from the ocean and there is ocean access if you would lime to swim. The breakfast is superb especially the lemon soufle pancakes.

Room Tip: Ask about any special upgrades they may be offering
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank echo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I spent the second half of our honeymoon here. We spent the first half at the Mauna Kea resort on the Big Island. After reading all of the great reviews on Trip advisor, we had high expectations. We were sadly disappointed. We paid extra for the "ocean view" room. The first one we had was on the first floor. That night we could hear the people upstairs peeing and flushing! For $400+/night, I would expect to not hear that! We woke up to the sound of the TV of someone either in the room next to us or above us. Not sure which. Again... for $400+/night, I expect more soundproofing. We requested a move to an upper floor after that night and received an "ocean view" of the pool and restaurant. The pool is really small and the pool loungers and umbrellas are less than a foot from the edge of the pool, making it very uncomfortable to swim in when the loungers are all occupied by people. Its a really small resort and everything is really crowded. For our honeymoon, we thought we would appreciate the "couples retreat" feeling but it was actually oddly uncomfortable. We thought that the location near poipu beach would be perfect but it turns out that poipu beach was a dirty disgusting beach with chicken bones, cigarette butts, sunflower seed shells littering the grounds. Really, really gross.

Breakfast was included which I have to say was really good. A continental buffet plus your choice of a hot entree is included. The eggs benedict was perfect every day we ordered it. The lemon souffle pancakes... to die for!

The staff are all quite friendly. I thought it was a bit weird that we had to pay $2 for a small toothpaste when most hotels would just give it to you.

Room Tip: The hotel is a U shape so all inside rooms are oceanview except for the ones at the end that are ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank rissandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

My Husband and I recently spent our Anniversary at the fabulous Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, and it turned out being the most romantic vacation for us! The Koa Kea is a small Botique Hotel, not a massive complex like most hotels in Hawaii, which was a nice change. The Resort was conveniently located next to the Mariot, on a great beach; there was alsoreally good food as well as places to shop in the area. We found the location to be a really good base for sightseeing in Kuai!

The Rooms were spacious, looked exactly as they appeared in the websites photos; its way worth it to upgrade to the ocean view!! The Staff at the Resort was wonderful, they were very frindly, and provided excellent quality service during our entire stay...really made us feel at home.

A big thanks to our travel agent Renee at Unforgettable Honeymoons, who helped us figure out exactly what to do while on the Island, they also sent us tons of maps, brochures, even some useful discount coupons (which we swore we wouldn't need at first...!)--great suggestions on where to eat and go for the day too...was like we had a personal guide with us the whole time, telling us exactly what to do while there. This was a great change from us booking online and getting no real help when we needed, and their price for the entire packge deal ended up being a little less expensive than doing it all on our own!

So of course, my Husband and I are more than pleased with how well everything had turned out for on this trip...Thanks especially to the lovely Koa Kea Resort, and for providing such amazing service and accommodations for our very special occasion...this really was a wonderful experience for our anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smariekell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing