We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A magic honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A magic honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We spent a week there for our honeymoon and I have to say it's the best hotel I've ever stayed!! I would define this hotel with the words "real and simple luxury" because it's charming, cozy, elegant, but at the same time simple, not over the top or too uptight. The service was great, the rooms really beautiful with an amazing view and the fact that it's adults-only, makes it the best place to spend your honeymoon. I would love to go back there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natapico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,547
    286
    86
    29
    7
See reviews for
130
1,597
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Overall a really nice stay! Clean resort with friendly staff.

The pluses:
- clean bright rooms; half-bottle of champagne welcoming us into our room was really appreciated
- breakfast entree items were really good: their peppered steak and eggs were done really nicely, as was their Hollandaise sauce on their egg benedicts
- drinks at the bar were nice and strong. Our favorite martini was one that had passion-fruit puree with champagne and Stoli vodka: we loved it so much we had one every day.
- wifi speeds were very good and extended well across the entire resort; multiple device connections were possible per unit
- staff overall were really cheery and friendly and seemed genuinely happy to be working there
- although the immediate beach area in front is rocky, it is directly adjacent to beautiful sandy beaches on either side which is a plus and barely a 20second walk away.
- onsite coin-operated laundry (in addition to laundering services) which is a nice option though we didn't try to use it.
- we liked how they didn't force you to 'sign out' towels everytime at the pool desk. You just took what you needed and returned them at any of the conveniently located bins. I think this is a huge huge plus for the hotel - they don't treat you like a time-share or chain hotel where they presume you might steal a towel; the trust system at Koa Kea made it feel more like home.
- valet service was really fast and the guys working it were really friendly and nice, always offering to disard any garbage we had with us when we dropped off the car

The minuses:
- oceanfront units (at least on the first 2 floors) were not as private as we had expected; our unit was on the 2nd floor and we had to close our blinds just to change or sleep as people walking in front on the boardwalk could easily see inside. I would recommend getting a 3rd floor oceanfront unit if possible.
- hotel made the presumption that we were "Mr. and Mrs. [insert last name here]" as reflected on the couple of personalized cards in our room. Prehaps they just forgot to contact us beforehand (though we booked through their IPrefer booking system so they should have had our contact info readily available). They would probably do well to either contact the guests before arrival before presuming, or use gender/salutation-neutral headings: in our case they got it wrong both ways (a married same-gender couple, technically Dr. and Mr.). Had we known that personalized greetings would be present in the room, we would have taken the initiative to contact the hotel ourselves first. I'm sure that there were some unmarried opposite-gender couples on the resort and so I'm curious as to how they felt being greeted as 'Mr. and Mrs'. Other resorts we've stayed at (ie. the Fairmonts) usually reconfirm the guest names and genders/relationships by email prior to arrival.
- the spa menu descriptions aren't completely accurate; face and scalp massages listed as part of a body treatment were not provided (but the overall body treatment / massage was otherwise excellent!)
- gym has excellent cardio options (treadmill, bikes) and has good A/C. Weight/strength options are really limited though and difficult for more than 1 or 2 people to use at any one time as there is only one set of freeweights (up to 50lbs), a single bench, and one exercise ball. They could really use at least one more bench in the gym (they certainly have the space for it!).
- we tried their Red Salt restaurant for dinner one night and it wasn't particularly spectacular; they didn't notify my husband until mid-meal that they had run out of endives, and so they substituted it for some sort of lettuce that tasted like coleslaw. We brought it to the attention of the server, but our concern was casually dismissed and I highly doubt the chef was ever told. They seemed to be unusually busy that night so perhaps they were overwhelmed. Our dinners at 2 other nearby restaurants (Tidepools at the Grand Hyatt, and The Beach House) were better. We would likely give Red Salt another try in the future though as it may have just been an off night for them. Lunch by the pool was really good though (their Koa Kea burger was cooked perfectly).

Otherwise this was a wonderful stay for us and despite these few shortcomings, we would definitely consider the hotel again.

Room Tip: If you are splurging for an ocean-front room, try to get one on the top/3rd floor for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were warmly greeted, given the quick tour, and were accompanied to our room upon arrival. This kind of attention/interaction continued throughout our 5-night stay. Having spent the first part of our vacation at a large resort on one of the other islands (at which we had a very nice time), it was refreshing to stay at a smaller resort where the staff was friendly, helpful, and service felt more personalized. The rooms are not large, but very comfortable. The beach is just a few steps away - even saw monk seals sunning and napping. We had a package which included breakfast each morning at the resort's restaurant, Red Salt - delicious way to start the day! We also enjoyed dinner there - very good service and presentation. Room service delivered to our lanai complete with set-up and linens - nice touch. Great pool area with bar - and numerous lounge chairs looking out over the water - relaxing.
The resort is very quiet in the evening, which may be just what you need after a day of touring and exploring... but if you are looking for other things to do for the night they are just a walk or short drive away.
The location of the resort works well to explore the rest of the island easily.
Overall, a wonderful stay and we hope to return!

Room Tip: Ocean view room is on the inside of the "horseshoe" layout of the property - decent angled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 652Jean2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I had done the all inclusive deals, done the sprawling resorts and wanted something different! We found it! No more getting up at 7 in the morning to secure a beach chair and an umbrella! No crowds, no noisey guest, no watered down cocktails! Koa Kea is the best place for couples looking to relax and enjoy a resort environment not poluted by music and noisey guest! You get the breeze, the sun, the rustling of palm threes, light conversation and that is it! The Red Salt restaurant is great! Breakfast is the best! Staff are very polite and friendly! Poipu beach is easily accessable! Poipu is considered one of the sunniest spots on the island and we certainly experienced it. If your looking for free drinks, 5 pools, kid friendlyness, and elbow to elbow guest to party with this is not the place. If your looking for something different and better Koa Kea is it! When we go back we will stay at no other place. We were disappointed with what the view that came with a 'partial ocean' view. We weren't expecting to have to trying really hard to find the ocean through thick bushes. Though we did not spend enough time in our room to really have it make a difference in our opinion.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view is very partial indeed! if you like to spend time on your balcony (lanai) then di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We traveled to Kauai for our anniversary and ended up booking this hotel as a default as the local starwood st.regis and hyatt were all booked. So much for having starwood points you can't redeem. I have to say we were lucky as this place was perfect. The service and staff were great. There was a very personal feel as they seemed to know all guests by name. It was great for couples and very relaxing. The hotel is flanked by two family friendly hotels but the feel of this boutique hotel made it feel like we were isolated from all the nextdoor noise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brenev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We visited this hotel due to the reviews we read on this site. I can confirm, it indeed lives up to both the ratings and the recos. Stay here if you have a chance, it's one of the best places I've visited. Friendly staff, great views. The stay was worth the ducketts.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank beman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We wanted a quieter relaxing spot, but not a lack of services (I.e. open pool bar at sunset or bloody mary available at brunch, ability to eat outside by the view, dinner unavailable at 9pm when returning from a long day, a beach or a pool service of any kind, and maybe it's silly but it's the only hotel on Kauai that turns off its torches at 9p which makes the resort very dark very early. Overall, the place seemed under staffed and that each team member had multiple roles. That said, the staff on hand were terrific and friendly!

Be wary of the "partial" ocean view room as its more like a sliver view and directly faces the other hotel with chickens running freely all over and and sounding off at 630am. A line of palm trees is hardly a "garden" compared to our other hotel stays in HI and the cost for this room is considerable more than ocean views at many other quality resorts. Also, there is little privacy on the balcony as all units on a floor share one big one. The bed and shower are excellent and the decor is modern HI. Overall, its a nice spot, but the online hype is above reality for the costs.

Room Tip: Get a direct ocean view or don't bother for the costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank maxtout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Property: Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing