We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boutique Hotel in Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is by far the best boutique hotel in Hawaii. Breakfast is excellent; the hotel is quiet; the rooms are nice (except for the low ceilings), everything is updated; the grounds are immaculate and the service is almost one on one. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Hawaii or on Kauai.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiff1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,427 - 1,433 of 2,161 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed this hotel. We went for our anniversary. The hotel staff from the valet attendants to the bartender/wait staff were all very nice and made an effort to remember your name. The pool is great and the beach is close by. You can sit in a lounge chair and enjoy the pool behind you, but stare out to the ocean. Our room had a great view of the ocean, although was closer to the main part of the hotel. The room was perfect. Bed was very comfortable. Food at Red Salt restaurant was great as well. We enjoyed the bar area. All in all, we loved it! Would highly recommend and go again. In fact, the reason we booked was because of all the great reviews we saw on Trip Advisor!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Don't hesitate to book here. Royal service indeed and nothing to complain about. They take care of Everything .

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jersey_Traveller0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My husband and 7 year old daughter visited the resort in late March and stayed 4 nights at the Koa Kea before departing to the St. Regis for the rest of our stay. We were impressed by all of the great reviews but I must admit that given the high expectations I was not amazed. We have stayed at various types of properties and usually prefer boutique and smaller, unique properties when we can find them. The decor is beautiful and all of the common areas, including the pool were great. The bedrooms felt small however. We had to keep our clothes packed up because there were hardly any drawers and room to unpack. I was expecting a bit more room for the price. Beds were very comfortable however. In general the staff were nice but did not necessarily go out of their way and the service in the restaurant was lacking. In particular, we had dinner with another family one evening and waited a riduculously long time to receive an edamame appetizer to hold our kids over while they waited for their dinner. The food was good and the adults had no problem waiting because it was a busy night, but they did a horrible job accomodating the 3 children. When my husband complained to the manager that it shouldn't take 30 min to get edamame and another hour for the children's dinner to come out he responded that "his restaurant was full." Having owned a restaurant, this is not an acceptable answer. Overall I would likely stay at another property if I ever went back to Poipu (the north shore is far better but Poipu is great for more sun and a visit to Waimea).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bini17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This small hotel is located between two large facilities with its own private beach, spa, wonderful restaurant. It is a little secret on south Poipu beach. The lagoon is wonderful with snorkeling and surfing. The salt water pool is lovely. The Spa is terrific with special hawain special treatments. The restaurant was wonderful too!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

After researching many hotels on the island of Kauai, my boyfriend settled on the Koa Kea based on the great reviews and the fact that there weren't supposed to be many children around ( no offense kids or parents, i have 25 nieces and nephews who i adore, but it is necessary for quiet time in a world that doesn't have much). This place was a true treasure. It is stressful thinking of spending hard earned money on an experience that is upsetting and overpriced but the Koa Kea truly caters to your every need. I felt like I had so much peace and quiet when I needed it, and when we wanted to be social, hanging out by the pool or the indoor bar was great. I had many mai tai's while on the island, and Koa Kea had the best!!! Red Salt restaurant was super tasty and the bread is outstanding. Every single staff member was so kind, cool, and helpful. I was pretty sad leaving honestly, the aloha spirit is abundant there... I went on this vacation in May of 2011, and it has taken nearly a year to write a review, but I wanted the staff to know how much I truly appreciated every single thing they did to make sure our stay was the best.

Room Tip: Go for a 1st floor room!! We never heard noise above us and we once at breakfast out on the lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank christinah958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you like being treated like royalty at a beautiful and intimate resort, this is the place for you! The Koe Kea really understands the meaning of customer service - every single employee went out of their way to treat us special. We were looking for a quiet, clean place right on the ocean and this was the perfect choice. We recommend the upgrade to an ocean front room on the second or third floor - it felt like we could reach out and touch the ocean. We also highly recomemend the breakfast package - the food is excellent. We walked through the other surrounding hotels during our stay and there was no comparison - the Koe Kea is by far the best choice in Kauai.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,356 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range: $453 - $1,605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the golden beaches of Ko`a Kea Hotel & Resort, an upscale 121-room boutique oceanfront property in sunny Poipu on Kauai's south shore. This intimate and romantic Hawaiian resort offers the island's closest hotel accommodations to the water, complemented by award-winning service that is both highly personalized and personable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing