We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough for a Daytime Stay”
Review of Tip Top Motel

Tip Top Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tip Top Motel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Enough for a Daytime Stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We just wanted a cheap motel to rest at for the day as we waited for our night time flight home.

The reviews are true. It's the size and feel of a small dorm room with the basics: two twin beds, a TV (with plenty of stations), linoleum floors, bathroom with a shower, and that's all. The room, towels, and bed linens were clean. The room was good enough for our daytime stay. Cost was about $88, and worth it to us.

Downside: Crowing roosters. And, it was so warm in the room, that other guests kept the doors open, smoked, and talked outside for hours. (We were okay with this, since it was daytime.) We kept the windows open, since the A/C unit was too loud. Again, the room was good enough & the onsite restaurant was the best food we had on the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SJTraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
4
10
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sullivan's Island, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would stay here only if you dont mind staying in a place that has the same qualities as a prison. This is just a place to stay if you are on a very tight budget. I would not recommend this motel. On the bright side the Motel has a good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lihue hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We weren't arriving in Kauai until after 10:30 pm so we just wanted a cheap motel to crash overnight before heading to the north shore. A couple of places wouldn't check us in that late but recommended the Tip Top as a cheap place. Little did I know this crappy room would be $85! It would have been ok for $30. Cons: Blank cinder block walls, an A/C unit that blew directly on the bed (and couldn't be adjusted to blow away from it), the remote didn't work to control the little tube TV. Pros: hot running water, a lock on the door and a short stay. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Trotter1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

For the price, this place is clean, has a private bathroom and it's own television set. You might also like the youth hostel in Kapaa which has private rooms for about the same price. They take a $50 key deposit, which they return when you return the key. The location is on a side street, so it is quiet. There is plenty of parking in their private lot. I liked that the restaurant was next door so I just walked over and ate breakfast. Be careful because they close during the middle of the day. You have to check in and out when they are open. Check their hours!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Orchid500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Cook, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is by far the worst Hawaii has to offer.There is a very noisy bar below this place so you lay awake at night listening to bottles clank together. you would be much happier to rent a car and sleep in it.

Room Tip: as far as I can tell the rooms are all bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank seamillfarmcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Be warned they have no room telephone nor do they have any wi fi. They do offer air conditioning though. Cab driver told me it's a strange family that run the motel. Also, if you do not have a credit card, the chances are they will not rent a room out to you anyway.
I was there for about one hour and then checked out. I had no intention of staying there. They advertised at $ 49: 00 a night. Yet it was $80:00 dollars a night all of a sudden for me.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank DaleWilhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We live in Brooklyn, NY. To travel to Hawaii, we fly 6 hours to LA where we have a layover for a few hours, and then another 6 hours to Hawaii. We booked a room at the Tip Top Motel the night we arrived, because our flight was coming in after 9pm and we wanted to stay somewhere close to the airport for convenience.

When I made my reservation, I said our flight was arriving after 9pm and made a point to let them know that we would be checking in late. They assured me it would be no problem. A few days before our flight, I called the hotel AGAIN to let them know that we would be arriving after 9pm, and I wanted to make sure that it wouldn't be a problem to check in that late. Again, I was assured there would be no problem. Sure enough, we arrived at the hotel at exactly 9:30 pm only to find the doors locked, the lights out, and the front desk/management gone for the night. Believe me, after 12 hours+ of travel, this is enough to send you over the edge.

We banged and banged on the door, hoping someone inside would hear us, but finally a janitor who was mopping the restaurant (where they serve the famous pancakes) came to the door. He explained that the management had indeed gone home for the night, and he was not allowed to give out any keys to the rooms. From the other reviews, I guess I should be glad we didn't stay there, but at the time I was beyond livid. We were exhausted and faced with having to find another hotel for the night, not knowing our way around Kauai. Book here at your own risk!

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank brooklynnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
1.6 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
781 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
367 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
548 reviews
2.1 mi away
Marriott's Kauai Lagoons - Kalanipu'u
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tip Top Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tip Top Motel

Property: Tip Top Motel
Address: 3173 Akahi St, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1196
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tip Top Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Tip Top Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tip Top Hotel Lihue
Tip Top Motel Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing