We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute & Cozy”
Review of The Kauai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kauai Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2009

My husband and I had such a great stay at the Kauai Inn. With no reservations and a late night arrival we were accomodated nicely. Our room was cute & cozy. Every one was friendly. We stayed 1 night and In the morning we had some fresh fruit & muffins that was served. The coffee was really good. Our main reason to visit Kauai was to hike the Napali Coast. Which We recommend as a most do. We camped for 5 beautiful nights. Then went straight back to the Kauai Inn for a relaxing couple of day's before catching a flight home.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissTravel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for The Kauai Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 371 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2009

Upon arriving at The Kauain Inn my traveling partner and I felt immediatley at home and relaxed. Our room was really comfortable and plush. Jamie M. (owner/opperator) and staff made sure we had everything we needed, she helped us with our travel plans and helped us get to where we needed to be. Sit and enjoy the family run relaxed environment, and feel at home (friendy attention lovin pups included)!

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-ravelTough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Just a brief note to say how much everyone enjoyed the ukulele workshop given in March by three Hawaiian master musicians. The musicians (George Kahumoku Jr., Dennis Kamakahi and Richard Hoopii) gathered on the lawns of the Inn, to share their rich and diverse talent in the arts. Young and old participated in this once in a lifetime experience that most will never forget. As the late, great comedian, Mr. Bob Hope would say: Thanks, for the memories...

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokeyjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Me and my husband spent a week there in March. I loved the garden and the flowers, our bed was really comfy and the owner was extremely kind but I was a little disappointed with some things. First of all, you can hear everybody who is close to your room. We had a family with children staying next to or above(?) us and it wasn't that great listening to them running around. Luckily we just basically slept there, but I guess if you are into hotels and want to spend a lot of time inside, it's not the place to go. The idea of having fruit for breakfast is good but there were 1-2 days when it wasn't fresh.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronbalogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed her for one day while we were waiting for a late-night flight back to Seattle. The rooms were small but immaculately clean and well-maintained, very comfortable, and even conveniently had a small fridge and microwave. The location was lovely and very quiet, with beautiful views of the mountains and the river. The staff was more than friendly and helpful. There was free high-speed internet, although it was spotty unless you were standing in the bathroom with the laptop! Overall, it was a great value and a good experience!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarabic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

Stayed here during Christmas week for 2 nights due to a misunderstanding re: our condo. Not easy to find a place that doesn't require a week's stay during the holidays! The Kauai Inn was pleasant, very close to Kalapaki beach/Duke's/etc and convenient to the airport. Area is OK though you may wonder after driving past the harbor, etc. - no worries. Lots of Aloha spirit and the rooms were fine. I wouldn't necessarily book here if you are looking for the ultimate Kauai vacation on the beach, but for other purposes, it fits the bill just fine with good rates and excellent people.

Regarding the air conditioning comment.....I hate a/c so it was fine with me to go without. December is cool enough, anyway!

Mahalo for a great visit.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swami12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for a few nights. We stayed in the 300 building which had a great view of the mountain. The room was roomy and comfortable. They serve coffee with some English muffins in the morning 8 till about 9:30 which was perfect for us cause we like to stay in.
They have internet wireless for free!!! Thank God . I cant live with out my computer at hand. They do have a computer to use in the office as well which my daughter was on pretty much all morning.

Great staff.

The cons: You need to rent a car for this island. There are so much to see. & Leaving Today

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank icecream07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
4.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
7.3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
9.3 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
352 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kauai Inn

Address: 2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range: $130 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kauai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kauai Hotel Lihue
Kauai Hotel Lihue
The Kauai Inn HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing