We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, problematic location”
Review of The Kauai Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kauai Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a very nice hotel located in an area which has -- based on their own literature, the heyday was the 1960's -- somewhat deteriorated during its existence. It is now very close to a shipping port, requires a car to get to beaches and most other attractions. The port is also the source of noise, mostly the beep of trucks backing up, early in the morning. Especially problematic if you are in the building perpendicular to the road on the left side. (There are 4 separate buildings, 12 rooms each.)

That being said, we were there for only our last night prior to heading for the airport. It is perhaps 2 miles from the airport, and was, for Kauai, very reasonably priced. Our room was large (we had a king-size bed) and comfortable, very clean. It had a flat-screen TV, wireless internet, fridge and microwave. It included a limited breakfast near the pool, basically toast, coffee and store-bought cinnamon buns.

Room Tip: Avoid the building closest to the port side, for reasons of both noise and distance to parking, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NSKramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 383 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

While not quite the five-star style resort you might get in Poipu, the Kauai Inn was a charming, safe and very convenient place from which to plan the rest of our vacation. The staff was helpful and engaged in helping us plan our trip, and the room was plenty nice. The roosters get you up early, but you really shouldn't be sleeping in in such a lovely place anyway.
For the price, I'm not sure you could do much better, and I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: You might want to have a White Noise app on your phone when you travel. There was some sort of loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is near Nawiliwili Bay. This is where the cruise ships come in. Kauai Inn is 1 mile to Kalapaki Beach and Duke's barefoot bar. Clean rooms, and friendly staff. Internet sometimes difficult to connect.

Room Tip: There are 4 two story buildings. Buildings 2 and 3 have the view of Ha'upu mountains, (the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelMomAlameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Given that Kauai is relatively small, Lihue and The Kauai Inn make it a perfect "base camp" to explore it and reach every corner of the island. So this place's location is convenient (you'd better have a car though), it is also very quiet, as well as it is neither far from the airport nor from a shopping area in Nawiliwili Rd./Pikake St./Kalepa St. (there is a Times Supermarket, a shopping center, a pharmacy, some dining opitons, etc.). The property and its grounds are also very nice as well as the close and surrounding mountains. There are also some useful common areas like a self-laundry room, the swimming pool, a "kitchen" (they have silverware for guests as well as tea, coffee and cold water facilities) and the reception, where they have a computer for guests free of charge. The staff is very friendly, efficient, helpful and laid-back.
In regards to the room, this was pleasant, spacious enough (we also had an outside patio :-)), very clean and well equipped (the refrigerator and the microwave are a great help in case you plan to bring your food and have breakfast in the room, in the patio or in some tables found in the "kitchen" area). So it's a pitty that we only had four days to stay in Kauai and in The Kauai Inn because it is a kind of paradise (or almost).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed in the Kauai Inn for 4 nights in Jan 2014. Our room was very clean and the staff were very helpful. The location near the Lihue marina is very convenient for visiting the entire island, and is also very near the airport for sightseeing flights. The pool is medium size and clean. We had a king bed which was comfortable. The breakfast eating area is outside around the pool area, and views the beautiful mountains of the wildlife refuge. The price that we paid for the room was excellent compared to other possible locations. We wanted to do some snorkeling and the inn has a stock of beach equipment that they let guests use for free. Also they provided free beach towels.
However, this is not a resort and is not on the ocean; no beach to walk! Personally I would not consider this inn best for a honeymoon or romantic stays. Also, we found the AC a bit noisy but otherwise worked well. Also, we did not like the door security in that there were not extra door security locks. Also we did not like that the bathroom windows only had sheer window coverings so we felt more comfortable with the bath lights out when showering since other people could be right out side the windows.

Room Tip: We had reserved a standard king bed room. However it was located on the second floor so we asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank meyerla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Quiet, off the beaten track. Clean rooms, and friendly staff. We rented a car to do shopping , sight see and go to the beaches. There is a microwave and small Fridge in the room, so many meals we ate off site. However you can easily make Breakfast and Lunch in your room.

Room Tip: We backed onto a greenbelt, which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 796Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Clean, friendly place to stay. Nice old-style accommodation that is centrally located. Private lanais open on to grass belt. With so much good coffee on the island there is in no excuse for how bad it is here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
4.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,382 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
63 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
7.7 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
9.3 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kauai Inn

Address: 2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range: $140 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kauai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kauai Hotel Lihue
Kauai Hotel Lihue
The Kauai Inn HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing