We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Value, Clean, Extremely friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kauai Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kauai Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Van Wert, Ohio
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Value, Clean, Extremely friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A classic, "old school," resort a bit off the beaten path. While the furnishings are a bit dated, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The pool, although just 3 or 4 feet deep overall, is freshwater and relaxing. The location, near Nawiliwili Bay is a convenient central base to travel around / tour the entire island. If you expect to walk out your door to a beach at the resort, you'll want to be elsewhere. But, if your plans are to trip around the island, see all the sights, and take in all the super beaches the island has to offer, well, I can't imagine you'll find a better value anywhere else on Kauai.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    151
    41
    12
    5
See reviews for
56
193
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 great nights at The Kauai Inn. Our accomodations were excellent and worth every penny.

Sharon at the front desk really played a key role in turning our very good trip into a GREAT trip. Because of rainy weather our helicopter flight on Monday got cancelled. I mentioned this to Sharon on Tuesday morning and she totally took control of the situation. She got right on the phone with another helicopter company and helped us book another flight. Less than 2 hours later we were on that helicopter enjoying the flight of a lifetime. Less than 2 hours after that we were flying back home to California. Sharon jumped in to the rescue in the nick of time. Thank you Sharon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you want to spend some of your time on the east and north shore, and some time on the south shore, which is what we did. We were never too far from the room and were traveling the opposite way of traffic as we went out sightseeing during the day and returning at night. The room was very well priced but extremely small. There was little counter top space and no cabinet space to speak of. Though the refrigerator and microwave came in handy. Beach mats, towels, and umbrellas were available to use at no charge. Beverages were available 24/7 on the patio. The bed and pillow were not comfortable. Although i don't think the roosters are a problem isolated to this resort, it was a nuisance having them wake us very early every morning. Parking was located very close to the unit and we enjoyed having breakfast on the lanai.

Room Tip: Although these are three floor buildings, there are no elevators. If stairs are an issue, specify fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill63131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunakakai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Kauai Inn fit our travel style perfectly. We spend most of our time exploring and not much time in the hotel, so we don't need all the resort style extras. We stayed there twice, for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip, and on our last night. Both rooms were spotlessly clean, and had a refrigerator and microwave oven. Our first room, in building 2, had a comfortable queen bed. The decor had a cool vintage look, and included marble countertops and a gorgeous brass sink! The best part was the lanai area, where we enjoyed our daily breakfast of complimentary coffee and the fruit, yogurt and bagels that we brought with us. The lanai faced a beautiful garden area with a backdrop of the mountains. It was so peaceful and inviting, we had a hard time getting out and on the road each day! Our second room, in building 1, was more modern and spacious with a king bed, but faced the road, so the lanai was not as nice. Both rooms were very quiet, with air conditioning. The landscaping is like a lush botanical garden, and there is a swimming pool with tables and chairs for relaxing. They have gas grills free of charge and all the utensils, plates, etc. that you'd need for barbequing a meal. Beach or pool towels, mats, boogie boards, snorkeling equipment are all available to use at no charge. Complimentary coffee, tea, and lemonade are available all day long in the pool area. Sharon at the front desk is the nicest and most helpful lady and can help you with anything you need. If you are a Hawaii resident, ask for the Kama'aina rates, they're even less than booking on the website. They have a toll-free number and are very friendly.

Room Tip: Room 206 is the best. Ground level end room with a large lanai opening onto a grassy garden area wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molokaigirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This place was so beautiful and relaxing. Tiny little villas surrounded by the amazing kaui landscape. It's very quiet and peaceful in a remote area not too far from restaurants and shopping place, but without all the noise and crowds of the big commercial hotels. The staff was very welcoming, warm and helpful. They made our stay there very enjoyable. The swimming pool in the center of the village was an excellent relaxing place after a day of trekking around the island. The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. I highly recommend this place to stay in Lihue while visiting Kaui. I will definitely stay here on my next visit. The people of Kaui were some of the most genuine and friendly people in Hawaii.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodhisottva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The beds were very comfortable and the place was clean, updated and roomy and air conditioned. My only negatives were that I couldn't have my coffee at the beach and they don't have a breakfast (just coffee and tang). Good staff. Quiet except for the morning roosters (can't escape that in Kauai).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We needed a place to stay before our timeshare started and Kauai Inn is immaculately clean surrounded by a beautiful garden and the price is right but not on the ocean. The pool is refreshing . They are no longer able to serve the delightful breakfast. The room is air-conditioned and the bed is outstanding. The wi-fi is great all over the property. The staff is very pleasant.

Room Tip: We stayed in 101 which is conveniently near the ramp. (There is no restaurant).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrannybabyFSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
0.8 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 644 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,049 reviews
7.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
1.1 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kauai Inn

Property: The Kauai Inn
Address: 2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kauai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kauai Hotel Lihue
Kauai Hotel Lihue
The Kauai Inn HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing