We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Little Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kauai Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kauai Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Upland, ca
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Little Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a smaller hotel that sits beneath two great mountain views. This hotel is quiet and peaceful away from the highrise hotels. Bonita and her sister are very accomodating and try to meet all your needs including advise on where to eat. This hotel does not have an elevator so if you have trouble carrying bags upstairs ask for a groundfloor unit. Coffee, Juices, sunblock, boogey boards and repellant are all availble to use. The grounds are beautiful and the room is very comfortable and the hotel is close to the airport if you need something close by. Great servcie and great comfort.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so ask for a groundfloor unit if you have a lot of bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coosbaygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    151
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
55
193
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Kauai Inn is a great choice if you aren´t a luxury traveler in search of "cut and paste" resorts. The rooms are pretty big (many of them with lanais), fully equipped and the breakfast is amazing. In addition to this the Inn is strategically located, allowing you to visit pretty much every place in the island without much fuss.
Nevermind the port, which is in the way from the airport to the Inn... the Inn is a couple of blocks beyond it, in the middle of a all-locals zone and near of the Menehune Pond.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pros: Quiet location, well-kept grounds, affordable, clean room, no smoking and no loud music policy
Cons: Breakfast! Please don't advertise bagels, jam and cream cheese served for consecutive 5 days as breakfast. We understand that continental breakfast is a bonus BUT previous reviews described breakfasts in this hotel as a great treat loaded with fresh fruits. They are NOT THERE ANYMORE. So, for anyone counting on breakfast as per previous reviews, you have to look for it somewhere else. Also, be ready to pay $1 per page printed at the little computer desk in hotel's office (if you need to get your boarding pass for example).
Overall, we had a good stay but would be much happier if a friendly staff at small expense shared with us local fruits of which Kauai is famous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We came in on a late flight and needed accommodations for just one night, until our cottage was available in Kekaha.
Check in was friendly and very welcoming, with suggestions for dinner locations (we chose Mark's Place, a good choice).
The location is really quite good, close to the airport and restaurants, quite, with fine views. The staff was always friendly and eager to please.
The grounds are attractive and well kept. I would not hesitate to recommend the Kauai Inn to anyone, for either shorter or longer stays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregG610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is NOT a big time resort. Rather, it is pleasant little hotel, a bit off the beaten path, with a swimming pool, a resident feline, and a friendly group of people running the place. It does have a bit of history. The cast and crew of "Donovan's Reef" (directed by the legendary John Ford and starring John Wayne and Lee Marvin [among others]) stayed at the Kauai Inn. They probably enjoyed the breathtaking view of the mountains, and the proximity to the ocean.

The reason I chose to go to Kauai in the first place was that my late father, who was stationed there in World War II, had told me that it was one of the most beautiful places he had ever seen. So, I planned to spend my time exploring the island. Paying a "resort fee," along with a fee to park my rental car, was something I dreaded. THE KAUAI INN DOES NOT CHARGE THESE FEES. Thus, it was perfect for my purposes. Meanwhile, my wife fell in love with Jezebel, the little black cat who is secretly the owner of the Inn.

If I ever go back to Kauai, I will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank licrimlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
Level Contributor
215 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

All right, the start was not that good. I had expected a friendly Aloha, instead I got 3 warnings in 1 minute: you better have reserved, when you smoke, you pay 200 $, and when you leave after 11.30 hr you pay another day.
Welcome on Kauai ! When I asked for wifi, I was told that there is free WIFI accessible besides the pool. Having a jetlack, it did not help that one of the many cocks started waking me up at 4 am.

Fortunately things changed the next day. The breakfast was great (but is not served from 01.03 onwards anymore), a friendly receptionist gave me a code for free internet, and whereas the way from Lihue to the Inn looked unpleasant (industrial and embarking area for cruise ships), the route on the other side of the inn is beautiful. The housing is ok, perhaps somewhat outdated, but clean. The neighbors are easy to hear. The price is fair for what you get.

The location wrt the airport is very good, 5-10 minutes. It is a 2 minutes drive to a small tourist center on the port, and a 5 minutes drive to a big mall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed overnight in January 2013 and thought it good value. A clean and comfortable room and a nice continental breakfast served outdoors. This is an older hotel but it's good-basic with friendly management. 10-15 mins from the airport by taxi, it's located at the edge of an industrial area but don't let that put you off. The hotel is fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thorac519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
0.8 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,045 reviews
7.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
1.1 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kauai Inn

Property: The Kauai Inn
Address: 2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kauai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kauai Hotel Lihue
Kauai Hotel Lihue
The Kauai Inn HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing