We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst "hotel" ever”
Review of Kauai Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauai Beach Villas
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst "hotel" ever”
Reviewed September 17, 2007

I have stayed at a lot of resorts and hotels , and this was probably close to the worst. When we arrived at about 10 minutes before 4 pm , ( check in is at 4 pm) they said that our room wasn’t ready. I asked how long and they said about an hour in a half, and that it needed to be cleaned.

We had traveled 10 hours that day and just wanted to get settled. We left and Came back an hour later. Room was ready. We had the building farthest from the beach. It was about a 10+ minute walk. ( no big deal)..The room was cozy and roomy. However it was dirty , the dishes and glasses were still dirty , the bathroom was gross, and worst of if, MY PILLOWCASE HAD DRIED BLOOD ON IT !!!

The “office” itself wasn’t a huge help with anything and if you do need something, you have to go get it from the “front office” This isn’t the type of place where they bring you items to your room. This is definitely not a “resort” in my opinion…One positive thing is that the grounds were kept up , the plants and flowers were nicely trimmed throughout the hotel. It nothing more than a mediocre hotel. We had a 2 bedroom unit , which I have to say was a nice large size but it jus wasn’t what I had expected on the “cleanliness” side which is more important to me than the size of the unit. I would never stay here again and I wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone I know. Also, if you have a need for internet at all , forget it !! They claim to have FREE highspeed internet access in the rooms, however I could only sign on one day out fo 7 days there. I called the acess helpine about 5 times on various days and it still wanst resolved. I had to go to a local place and pay 10 dollars per day and sit there in order to sign on...

If you have choices, I would pick a different place.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank nab922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    210
    80
    33
    13
See reviews for
157
228
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2007

We stayed at the Kauai Beach Villas for a week. The rooms were clean, spacious, comfortable. The free breakfast with information abut the island was useful and truthful. The whole resort looks nice and clean. We had room with oceanview and it was really beautiful to wake up looking at the ocean.
Most of the day we were out, so we didn't even see the pool. The location of the place is very good also because from here you can reach many interesting places (beach, waterfalls, hiking trails etc..) on the island. The staff was helpfull and kind.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Martina999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We are pretty picky about our vacation rental experience, and this place was perfectly lovely. We stayed in G-24, a top floor corner 1BR 2BA unit. $1300/wk. We had read previous reviews and were worried about the motorcycle track next door -- I had pictured a racing track with stands for spectators, etc, but really it's just a dirt track through brush and trees. Once or twice I heard a bike, but it was really no big deal. A little more annoying were the planes -- this place is not far enough away from the airport, and though the planes turn out to sea before they get near this place, you can hear them roar in the distance several times a day. But still, it didn't wreck anything for us. The unit itself was clean and nice. 50 yds from the ocean, strong breezes all day and night, beautiful. we'd consider coming back, because we love Kauai. BUT -- traffic on Kauai has gotten really bad, especially in Kapa'a. Several times we were stuck in a traffic. Because we love the North Shore beaches, next time we're going to stay on the North Shore. But overall this place is fine and the price is pretty good.

  • Liked — Beachfront location
  • Disliked — Busy traffic in nearby cities
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank GlendaleNaptime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Rented one of the beach front 2 bdrms. Loved the location, while you can not swim the beach, the beach walks were excellent. The location is great, very central for exploring other parts of the island. We spent most of out time hiking and lazing on Kauai's fantastic beaches and rivers. You are near the airport and a dirt bike track but never found them bothersome as in some reviews....guess it was because we had a oceanfront unit. Not much of a pool...if you are looking for a full service resort, look somewhere else. We liked it for the nice clean unit ( G-15), excellent beach strolling, and central location

  • Liked — Large clean condo
  • Disliked — pool\ spa....no work out facilities
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank gasmanHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We just came back on 20 July from Kauai after having a 10-day vacation there. We stayed at this resort for a week at the invitation of our friend who's a time-share holder. Our unit is F18 on the top floor, just a minute away from the beach. The moment that we opened the door to the condo, our jaws dropped to the floor... the panoramic Hawaii turquoise blue ocean with foam-capped waves roared in saying hello to us and the trade wind was so refreshing. The condo is clean and tidy. Walk along the beach in the morning and evening north and south is highly recommended, but not for swimming! With Hilton next door you can enjoy it's Saturday buffet as well the evening Hawiian dance show just by the pool.

Rent a car and go the Princeville in about 45 minutes to the Golf Club and hotel there and enjoy the magnificant beach view with the volcanic mountain as backdrop. Take a half day off to drive up to the Waimea Canyon to its highest lookout point and Napali coast is out there flanked by steep rising volcanic hills. Go North to the Kapa'a Beach Park and enjoy an afternoon swim in a protected lagoon. Good for some snoggling too. Go South to the Poip'u State Beach where the receding wave from the rocky beach gives sound like firecrackers!!

For food, do not miss the Gaylord Sunday brunch, the hotel restaurant at the Coconut Shopping Centre (in fact we went there three evenings in a row and still find the food there extremely tempting especially their famous soft cake with chocolate filling), and the Blossoming Lotus (the food presentation is stunning.)

We must say that the location of this time-share resort is very good -- only about five minutes to the airport so you can get a good nap right after getting off the plane and no need to hurry on the day of departure.

One thing be careful though is with the management office. Staff there are friendly but could use some administrative training. The thing is: they took my card for making security-deposit despite my friend told them earlier over the phone that she is the time-share holder and things should be charged under her. We requested for a release of my card which they said they did (without giving proof) but end up now they were charging things to my card instead of my friend's. I've to call my card centre to sort thing out with them and this does give me a bad vacation "aftertaste."

ENDS

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KenNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

We just got back from a wonderful two-week trip to Hawaii. We stayed on the big island the first week and the second week we stayed in Kauai at the Pahio Beach Villas (June 6-13th) in Unit D12. This two-bedroom unit was on the top floor, very clean, well decorated, and had a lovely view overlooking the lagoon. The kitchen was small, but had everything we needed. There was just my husband and I as other family members (originally planned) were unable to join us. So, while we didn’t need all the space of the two-bedroom, we certainly enjoyed it!

We had rented the unit through RCI, and having read these reviews for months, I didn’t know what to expect. However, we found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and the complex well maintained. In talking to the office staff, we learned that the complex (I think all the Pahio resorts) have been bought out by Windham, so there may be changes in the future.

First, let me address concerns we had read about in these reviews. The go cart track was probably just beyond the trees outside our bedroom windows, we never heard any excessive noise and had no trouble sleeping. The pool is small, with only about a dozen lounge chairs. However, every time I went there chairs were always available. This Hilton has bought out the condos just across the lagoon, and so Pahio renters cannot use the big pool any more. I was allowed to use the fitness room for a fee of $8.00 per day. As we didn’t always feel like fighting the traffic into Kapaa nights, my husband and I also went to the Hilton a few nights for dinner and/or drinks and relaxation. The Hilton lounge always had some type of live music (starting around 7:30ish), and we were able to order burgers, salads, and dessert right in the bar area, which we did twice.

On Saturday morning, the resort also held a tour information breakfast, which we found very informative. Yes, they want you to book tours, but they gave away some tours as prizes, and explained many sights around the island on a big map of Kauai. While we did not book their tours, we did learn about places that we ended up driving to on our own. We did take a Movie Tours tour that we highly recommend. There is a maximum of 12 people on a van and you are driven to several beaches where movies have been filmed. They show you clips from selected movies and then you get to see the exact spot where the clip was filmed. Our guide, Melanie, was upbeat and had lots of interesting stories to tell. We had a great day.

Our trip was very enjoyable and we would gladly stay at the Beach Villas again!

  • Liked — Beautiful location and well maintained
  • Disliked — No restaurant on site
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank VAtraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

We came back from our trip to the busy SANFRANCISCO BAY AREA relaxed and ready to get back to reality. We are RCI vacation club members and stayed in F-15 which was a very spacious one bedroom unit, clean, and comfortable! Our 15MO old felt right at home! The staff was very nice. KAUAI is a great place to go to relax and if you have small children. Not much to do at night and almost everything closes at 8:00pm. The pool was very small and not very fancy. but the baby did not care! The Hiltons pool was closer to our unit than our pool and wa sunfortunate that we couldnt use it. The resort is 5 min. away from the airport and in the middle of the island, so it was fast and easy to get everywhere. POIPU BEACH PARK on the south shore is the best for kids and a beautiful drive. The GAYLORDS PLANTATION was great for food, shopping and has a great train ride! The beach was steps away from our unit, but no lifeguard and a lot of waves, great for a walk and picture taking. The island has no sidewalks, so we couldnt walk anywhere, so renting a car is a must in Kauai. Overall we were very pleased with the Resort and Kauai.

  • Liked — big, clean, spacious unit
  • Disliked — pool was very small and not very nice
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank stalla18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
0.1 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,310 reviews
12.1 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
3.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
562 reviews
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
3.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Villas

Property: Kauai Beach Villas
Address: 4330 Kauai Beach Dr, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lihue
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Beach Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Villas is set in Hanamaulu, 43 km away from Princeville. The accommodation is fitted with a cable TV. Some units have a balcony and/or patio. All units feature a kitchen fitted with a dishwasher and microwave. A refrigerator and kettle are also offered. Each unit is equipped with a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hair dryer. Bed linen is provided. Kauai Beach Villas also includes an outdoor pool and a hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kauai Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel Lihue
Kauai Beach Hotel
Kauai Beach Resort
Pahio Kauai Beach Villas
Kauai Beach Villas HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing