We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location to explore beautiful Kauai”
Review of Kauai Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kauai Beach Villas
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coquitlam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal Location to explore beautiful Kauai”
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This was our first trip to Kauai, and we spent a week at the Wyndham Kauai Beach Villa resort from Sept. 19th to the 26th through an RCI exchange. Given some of the negative comments on TA, we had some misgivings about staying here, but we were pleasantly surprised, and the resort exceeded our expectations. We were assigned a comfortable one bedroom unit (C17, third floor), nicely renovated bathroom and kitchen with updated appliances, washer/dryer, hairdryer, etc. (a huge plus!). We had a pleasant view from our balcony – lovely shrubs and plants in front, with a view of some of the low mountains in the background.

Staff were most efficient, friendly and helpful, and the welcome presentation very informative.

The resort is in an excellent location, approx. midpoint between north and south, and easy access to shops, restaurants, activities and sightseeing. The grounds are lovely and well maintained, tranquil and peaceful. The beach is ideal for walking or simply relaxing with a good book.

The pool is small but adequate and nice to come back to for a quick refreshing cool down after a day of sightseeing and activity.

Don’t let the dirt bike track bother you – we hardly ever heard the noise. Besides, you will be out and about all day.

Yes, the roosters will give you a “wake up call” at 3:30 am, but they, the hens and chicks, are part of the island charm!

The only downside, some of the air conditioners are rusted and quite an eye sore.

Kauai is a beautiful island and there is still so much more for us to see and explore, and without hesitation, we would come back to stay at the Kauai Beach Villas.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerBCCoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    202
    78
    32
    13
See reviews for
150
225
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were lucky enough to have a first floor, beach front condo. Everything was very clean and contained everything to make it feel like home. We very much enjoyed the grills just outside the pool area - the kids could swim while we cooked and just enjoyed being on such a beautiful island.

The staff was very helpful and supplied very detailed information about local grocery stores, attractions and activities. We can not wait to go back!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MarylandMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Great location that makes it convenient to experience the entire island. The room was very clean and well appointed. The staff was extremely friendly and genuinely seemed committed to making their guest’s stay enjoyable.

My wife and I had booked a one bedroom/one bathroom through an RCI exchange. We called ahead and requested an ocean view. They processed our request but also informed us that most of the ocean view rooms were two bedrooms and usually went to owners. We had an early flight and arrived at the resort at about 1 PM. We again asked for an ocean view but expected a parking lot view. They put us in an ocean front room in building G. It was fantastic! The view was incredible. We still had to wait until 4 PM to check in but that gave us time to explore the area and pick up provisions for the week.

The view from the lanai was so great that we ate more meals in the room than we had originally planned. We purchased steaks at Costco and made use of the grills on the property. Very few restaurants could match the combination of the meal and the view.

Just a word about some of the common complaints I have seen listed in other reviews. First, the air conditioners. They are made of metal and subject to corrosion. In looking around the property, many are rusted and falling apart. Others are brand new. It appears as though they are trading them out. As we arrived in our room, the maintenance staff was replacing ours. It only took about 30 minutes. If your air conditioner is not working, call the front desk. My guess is that they will swap it out for you. Next, the pool. It is small and not that nice. We didn’t care. We weren’t there to hang out by the pool. If that’s your thing, pay the nominal fee and go next door to the Hilton. Theirs are very nice. Lastly, the chickens. They weren’t nearly the inconvenience others had made them out to be. If you go to Kauai you will be around chickens. Deal with it.

Overall, if you are looking for an inclusive resort where you never have to leave, this is not it. There are very few of these on Kauai. If that’s your thing, go to another island. If you’re looking for a very comfortable home base, in a beautiful setting that allows you to explore the island, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 92081Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

I simply had to post this review after reading "an honest review." I won't debate how they felt about their experience. But I must say that our experience was much better. And that might be because we are in a different age bracket with different interests. We were told the same thing about the beach front rooms - they're only for owners. I was disappointed at first to be facing the lagoon, but we came to love it. We were in a ground floor unit - D 14. Ended up w/a two bedroom in this particular exchange even though we only need one. We never used the second bedroom. The bathroom for this bedroom and living room could have been much cleaner. We especially enjoyed all the critters that came begging. At first, I shooed them away but when the people above threw food, I thought, what the heck. After that, they were very amusing - the roosters, chickens, ducks, and cats. The roosters weren't all that annoying. And we were there at a time when the chickies and ducklings were little so they were fun to watch. We didn't walk around the grounds much and there was definitely duck poop galore. Although the lagoons were fit only for feathered friends, the view of them was better than expected. We spent most of our days somewhere else on the island and this location was, indeed, perfect. Plus, it is a little isolated so no traffic noise. I guess the off road park was closed by the time we came to our room because it never bothered us. The pool was definitely bad. No doubt about it. Someday they will have a new one. The AC in the master bedroom didn't work, but it wasn't necessary as it cooled off at night. All the guests and clientele were reasonable people. No rowdies. The beach is beautiful and dangerous. Because it was steeply sloped, it wasn't a good walking beach - and it seems to have a robust flea population according to my legs.

We decided to submit to the timeshare presentation. Groan. We do this at times for the goodies. The first salesman was nice but the two follow-ups by the attractive young women were simply something one has to put up with. They have an answer for every objection and are good at what they do. Don't be offended when they get their final no from you and stomp off. What an awful job to have.

We used our discounts for the Catamaran Kahanu trip to the Na Pali Coast. It was terrific. Captain Lani was extremely safety cautious and full of historical lore. He will definitely chide you if you let go of the railing. Our weather was very calm and we got very close to the shore. As a Hawaiian native, Capn Lani has insights and access to things the monster booze cruises do not. I highly recommend them. Lunch was tasty. (bring your own water) This was our 3rd trip to Kauai in 10 years.

We saw and enjoyed new beaches including Tunnels (snorkeling) and Anini (you can find shade to sit under and ground cover with no sand - plenty of sand and shallow water for little ones.) Snorkeling is so so. We also spent a beachy/reading day under the shady palms at the public park adjacent to Po'ipu Bay Resort. There was nice ground cover there and we had a "good enough" view of the sandy and crashing waves. (We don't particularly like sandy beaches in full sun due to youthful overexposure which has resulted in cancer and wrinkles now.) In late afternoon, after most of the swimmers were gone, we enjoyed strolling on the high part of the park near Brennecke's Beach with the beautiful light on the water that highlighted the tons of turtles feeding.

There's a fabulous scenic oceanfront paved walkway in Kapa'a that we discovered on our last trip. Perfect for walking and jogging. We also discovered a free - and stunning - Moir orchid garden in Poipu on Kiahuna Plantation. Lots of wonderful screensaver pictures from our two trips to that. We also got lucky with our trip to Waimea Canyon to have a clear day (unlike our other 2 trips). This time, we went clear to the end and frolicked on the rocks to enjoy the vistas of Kalalau Lookout of the Napali Coast.

We always enjoy a quick cruise/walk through Hanapepe and Koloa. This time, we went out to the Kilauea Lighthouse. Didn't pay to go in. The free view is stunning and it would be hard to take a bad photo of the lighthouse from the upper parking lot.

We LOVED kayaking up the Waimea. Rented kayaks right at the entrance (get there early as the self guided rentals are limited). We hoofed it up to the falls which are a big whoop if you're from the NW where we have these everywhere. I can't believe people do this hike in flipflops, but they do. We wore Keens which were sturdier and adequate. We could see how it might get very muddy w/rain. There were tons of people at the falls from the guided tours so we came, we saw, and we booked on outta there. Still, the hike is pretty and recommended. Loved kayaking up by the fern grotto. It's a state park, so as long as you don't touch the dock, there a tiny shallow spot to tie up the canoe and you can go sneak in to see the fern grotto.(Pretty. but sure glad I didn't pay extra to see it. Thankfully, no tour boat was there to yell at us.) Coming back about 12:30 p.m. the headwind will give you a workout but it's not awful and you can enjoy a hearty lunch afterwards with no guilt.

We typically don't eat out much. Costco is a favorite shopping stop, as well as grocery stores. Two thumbs up to the absolutely fabulous dinner at Duke's. The setting and decor is lovely. The salad bar upstairs is terrific. We've also enjoyed the Olympic Cafe in Kapa'a on numerous occasions.

Overall,this was our best trip to Kauai due to weather, vacation friends, and timeshare accommodations. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Axelant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2009

The staff were courteous and helpful. The room ammenities were well above average. However, it could use a good cleaning such as baseboards, tops of televisions, lamp bases, etc... they were filthy. The resort feels very "enclosed" and the pool is the size of a a backyard pool for many, many units. In fact, the pool resembles an old Motel 6 style with a 5 floot block wall surrounding it with dark blue, medium blue and light blue stripes painted on the interior wall surrounding it. The patio furniture was very old on many of the units and paint was chipping off on my imparticular. I used this property as an exchange w/RCI. I own a 2bedroom full ocean view in Cabo San Lucas. I received a "pool view" which honestly wasn't much to look at. They said only there owners get the ocean views. Hmmm, that isn't what RCI said. At times, so many people were in the pool I had to pull our 5 year old out as a precaution of getting over run. There were a ton of buildings with 5 BBQ areas to service all of them.. It was a long wait at dinner time or we had to eat really early. You could use the adjacent property the "HIlton" for 15 dollars a day up to 4 people that had a childs pool, water slide, pool side grill... but honestly, once we did that it made me even more unhappy with what we had to return to. Like I said the layout of the INTERIOR of the property is nice.. but super old and after speaking to several other guests learned of the same disappoinments. Dont' waste your money here... The property also is adjacent to a motorcycle dirt track that is in full throttle on Saturday and Sundays.. So between the duck poop eveywhere (with that fabulous smell) the chickens and roosters, well, they are everywhere but there poop isn't so noticeable and it gave us something to look at that was amusing. This property has lots to be desired. Lastly, the beach is very, very dangerous! We found a cross on the bank as well. It is close to a public beach though... but it just didn't out weigh the overall expereince of the "resort". We weren't too thrilled with class of the people we found there as well. We are not snobs by all means... but didn't really enjoy all the Super Loud music coming from the rooms around us starting early and ending late. Can't forget this.... this resort is a VOLUNTARY NON-SMOKING FACILITY. If they could stop smoking wouldn't the smokers have already done so. I really disliked my 5 year old having to breath all the smoking on the balconies equipped with ash trays. We kept our doors closed alot. The internet access offered... well... just didn't work and it wasn't the first time they heard it.. They offered me again to walk to the Hilton for their wireless. Save your money or down grade your car and get a place that really is worthy of your flight time. This review could not be more honest. Like I said the staff were very nice... but I paid for a room with any kind of worth while view... and peace and quiet.. even roosters, duck and hens were welcome... .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stampinncampin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed at the condo from June 23-30th and had an absolutely fantastic time. We have stayed in condos on 4 different islands over the past two summers and have to say that this was one of the nicest and most trouble free experiences..from booking, to arrival, departurs, accomodations, location...all were great. visiting Kauai for the first time, the central location was ideal for seeing everything that we wanted. The beach was fantastic...great for morning walks and runs(including the extensive running path along the ocean that starts a mile or so down the beach!) Would recommend to anyone and would definitely book again for our next Kauai visit. Maholo! Rob

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlf361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed at the Kauai Beach Villas for 5 days in May of 2009. After leaving an absolutely dreadful place elsewhere, we were thrilled to get a room here last minute. Clean, comfortable, and the location is perfect. The only downside was the roosters! Make sure you bring ear plugs when staying here since the roosters start at 3:30 in the morning! Other than that we had a very enjoyable stay and would definately go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa3452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Kauai Shores Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kapaa
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Villas

Property: Kauai Beach Villas
Address: 4330 Kauai Beach Dr, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lihue
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Villas is set in Hanamaulu, 43 km away from Princeville. The accommodation is fitted with a cable TV. Some units have a balcony and/or patio. All units feature a kitchen fitted with a dishwasher and microwave. A refrigerator and kettle are also offered. Each unit is equipped with a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hair dryer. Bed linen is provided. Kauai Beach Villas also includes an outdoor pool and a hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kauai Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel Lihue
Kauai Beach Hotel
Kauai Beach Resort
Pahio Kauai Beach Villas
Kauai Beach Villas HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing