We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, Awesome”
Review of Kauai Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kauai Beach Villas
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Forest Grove
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great views, Awesome”
Reviewed November 22, 2005

Nov.2005
I've read the reviews and I must say it must be which unit you stay in as to your surroundings. My family, including 2 children, 2 gr-parents, husband and I had rented H-12. The unit HAS to be the BEST! 2 bedrooms, 2 Bath, living room, kitchen and dining nook. Beautiful decor, fresh, and no odors.
1st BR has a nice KING bed and bathroom, second has 2 TWIN beds,LR has a sofa bed (which we did not use, but surprized me that it was a sofa bed)The unit also had the most fantastic view of the ocean, and a great view of the Raddison pools next door. (But as of Nov, it is no longer the Raddison, but under another mgmt company). There was plenty of room for 6 of us, and the kitchen was well supplied. (newer appliances, and all that we needed:Blender, toaster, griddle, and more...)We used the BBQ grills one night, (gas)and they were close by and CLEAN. Coffee on the Lanai in the morning is a wonderful way to wake up.
Most days we walked on the beach in the morning and then used the small pool on site in the afternoon. There were times that we were the only ones there. There were other families at the pool, and it had a predominance of families with children and seniors, with very seldom younger singles at it.(They could have been at a different pool). One day on the beach we got to see a Seal that was sleeping, he was cordoned off so that visitors would not disturb him.
If you go with children, Lydgate park with Kapalani playground is the place to go. It's about 1 mile up the road, just past the golf course and has protected swimming reef (2feet deep on one side, and 6-8 feet on other) plus the greatest playstructure I have seen. Although on our last day at Lydgate/Kapalani the playground was a little dirtier than prior days. Midweek is quieter there than weekends (for obvious reasons) and on the weekends there are alot of locals having family time and birthday parties at the park. Which is nice to see as well. With 2 small children we tried all of the recommended parks, swimming areas but came back to Lydgate in a minute. By far the best and oh so close!
Do take a helicopter ride and get an overview of the island. It was great. Weather was cloudy/rainy some days, but if it's raining you go south to Poipu,or the Waimea area and the weather is sunny and warm.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank waiting4myship2comein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    199
    77
    31
    13
See reviews for
145
223
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2005

We stayed in the villa #E9. It was a 2 bedroom / 2 bath timeshare. It was large with a view of the lagoon with swans and ducks. You could also see part of the ocean. It was nicely kept and had air conditioning in the bedrooms. There was also a portable fan that can you use to circulate the air into the living room. It rained for about 20 seconds each day we were there. They say you can't swim at the beach, but it's a nice walking beach or sand building if you have kids and it's not crowded. The Beach Villa is also conveniently located near a Safeway and a Walmart. You can also get some discounts if you go to a timeshare presentation. They were offering a 2 for 1 tubing activity and a $25 voucher at Gaylords when we were there.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank webmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2005

We just returned from a stay at the Kauai Beach Villas on 10/3/ - 10/7/05. We had an oceanfront unit on the second floor, so the view of the surf was great.

The furnishings in the unit and the building itself looked a little worn. The unit and bed linens smelled musty, probably from all the moisture Kauai gets. We even bought air fresheners.

Our two-bedroom two-bath unit was large. It would have been nice if the bedrooms had an ocean view as well. I know it can be done. We have a two-bedroom condo in Florida and the living room and both bedrooms are all gulffront. If we visited Kauai again, we would probably stay at a newer large resort.

As far as the island goes, we loved the helicopter tour with Inter-Island Company. The doors of the helicopter were off for thrills and better photos. This was much better then the catamaran trip. Much of Kauai is inaccessible by car, so the helicopter ride was a good way to see those sights.

We rented a Jeep to get around the island and did a lot of driving on the coastal roads. Anini Beach was calm and lovely. Kapaa was a neat little town with much to do. Breakfast at Eggbert's there was good. Smith's Family Luau was not as good as the Old Lahaina Luau on Maui. In fact, we liked Maui better than Kauai. It is much more accessible by car. Kauai's sights are large and grand. Oahu / Honolulu was too crowded!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lv92900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2005

First of all Kauai is the most amazing, beautiful place I've ever been to. We just recently returned from our honeymoon in Kauai where we stayed at the Kauai Beach Villas. The rooms are spacious, especially the bathrooms. Kitchens come nicely equiped with all necessary utencils and appliances. One negative is that the bedroom had a window AC unit - so the bedroom was ice cold, but the rest of the place (living room, kitchen, ...) could get pretty warm. The property is just steps from both the Radisson resort and the beach (although it is not swimable.) Lydgate Beach Park is about a 5 minute drive North - they have a great protected snorkeling reef. Lastly, I recommend 2 amazing restuarants in Lihue - Coco Cafe and Mermaids Cafe. Aloha!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mmirsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2005

Located between Kapaa and Lihue on the eastern shores of the beautiful island of Kauai, is Pahio Kauai Beach Villas. Convenient to such things as the airport and WAlmart in Lihue, as well as the grocery stores and shopping centers in Kapaa, KBV is very well located. It's also centrally located for easy travel to the north, or south. The resort Is just off the main highway, but it is set far enough in that highway noise is not a problem.

Unique to this resort, is the fact that it shares the grounds with the adjacent Radisson hotel resort. Along with the private Pahio pool and jacuzzi, Pahio guests can also use the 3 pools and jacuzzi of the Radisson. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained and also include a large lagoon. There is a very nice restaurant and bar within the RAdisson. Be sure and attend the orientation breakfast served there! Or go to the RAdisson luau. They also have a dinner theatre show once a week. Nightly there is a free lighting ceremony with happy hour (discounted drinks for Pahio guests, free drinks for Radisson guests) and hula dancers.

Although most of the condos don't have an ocean view, most of the rooms do have a lagoon view (note: the 1 bedroom/1 bath rooms look out over the parking spaces). THe rooms are quite large and beautifully decorated. Among other things, they come with washers and dryers, coolers, full refrigerators, pool towels, dishwasher, fully equipped kitchens, soaps and detergents for a couple loads, and air conditioners in the bedrooms---something not many accommodations in Kauai offer. THe bedrooms and dining rooms also have ceiling fans. There are sliding glass doors leading out to lanais.

The Pahio office also has a conceige who will help book activities. Also in the office is a supply room where you can borrow assorted things from---such as folding chairs, boogie boards, rice cookers, etc. We've also requested oscilating fans and they delivered them to our room. If you arrive into Kauai between 4 and 9, you can pick up your keys right at the airport.

RCI gives Pahio Kauai Beach VIllas a Gold Crown. I agree with that rating whole heartedly.


Helpful?
43 Thank slabeaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2005

The key to any condo on Kauai is renting from a private owner. There are many Vacation Rental companies on the island who professionally manage condos for owners on the island. Since the units are privately owned, I have found the owners have that financial interest to have the best of the best.

We stayed in Kauai Beach Villas G-6. A one bedroom facing the ocean. Everything was very clean and the A/C in the bedroom was nice. You just can't beat the view. We stayed 10 days and not a drop of rain. We like visiting the North shore however you always risk the rain. Wailua Bay was very central to everywhere on the island.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank vacationkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2005

I tried really hard to like the KBV, but in the end there is very little I can say positive about this RCI timeshare. I've stayed in Gold Crown resorts before and there is no way I would rate this as Gold Crown.

Upon checking in at the airport, we were told that our room was upstairs, overlooking the lagoon. Imagine our surprise when we got there to find out we had a ground floor room overlooking the parking lot. The staff at KBV had a very, "too bad, so sad for you" attitude, telling me that I had to call RCI to fix our room. When my husband went back to the office, he was somehow able to get us moved off the ground floor but still overlooking the parking lot. Be warned, there is a motorcycle racetrack next door that operates from sun up to sun down on the weekends. Be prepared for a lot of noise (we couldn't relax in the room it was so bad).

The room itself was okay, if a bit outdated. The furniture wasn't very comfortable and looked like something out of Miami Vice, circa 1986. The rooms all had fake plants that had a ton of dust on them, as did the blades on the ceiling fan. If you have allergies and problems with dust - stay away. Our bathroom wasn't very clean and always smelled a bit like urine. I'm convinced the toilets were simply wiped down and not cleaned with disinfectant. The showers also had mold spots in the grout.

The grounds looked like any condo development you'd find in the US, meaning that it wasn't particularly tropical in design and didn't have a lot of amenities for vacationers. It had one pool that was not headed and was nearly too cold to swim in. I will say that the jacuzzi was nice and the grills were a nice amenity.

In regards to the property being adjacent to the Radisson, this is true. However, I don't know that it reason enough to make your stay at KBV worth it. The pools there are cold and not heated. the jacuzzi was overun with kids every time we tried to use it, and the breakfast buffet is overpriced and not all that great.

As for the staff, they left much to be desired. When asking the front desk how to get to a restaurant in Kapaa, we were told they didn't know and we'd have to ask someone else. When calling for a phone number, we were told to use the phone book. Not the kind of service I'd expect from a gold crown property.

Overall, I would never recommend the KBV to anyone. If you're booking through an RCI exchange, I would recommend instead that you head to the Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy in Kapaa. The grounds there are tropical and inviting, with hammocks overlooking the ocean, the pool is warm and more than just a round cement hole in the ground, and the staff is kind and helpful. Definitely an improvement over the KBV.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Becky-in-Oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
0.1 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
12.1 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
3.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
17.5 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Villas

Property: Kauai Beach Villas
Address: 4330 Kauai Beach Dr, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lihue
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Villas is set in Hanamaulu, 43 km away from Princeville. The accommodation is fitted with a cable TV. Some units have a balcony and/or patio. All units feature a kitchen fitted with a dishwasher and microwave. A refrigerator and kettle are also offered. Each unit is equipped with a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hair dryer. Bed linen is provided. Kauai Beach Villas also includes an outdoor pool and a hot tub. *Please note we are making minor repairs to our roofs, replacing parapets and caps. Weather permitting, we expect the project to be complete by June 5th, 2017. You may hear construction related noise between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday – Friday. Every effort will be taken to reduce the sound as much as possible and respond to any concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kauai Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel Lihue
Kauai Beach Hotel
Kauai Beach Resort
Pahio Kauai Beach Villas
Kauai Beach Villas HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing