We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elsewhere”
Review of Kauai Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kauai Beach Villas
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 19, 2005

I tried really hard to like the KBV, but in the end there is very little I can say positive about this RCI timeshare. I've stayed in Gold Crown resorts before and there is no way I would rate this as Gold Crown.

Upon checking in at the airport, we were told that our room was upstairs, overlooking the lagoon. Imagine our surprise when we got there to find out we had a ground floor room overlooking the parking lot. The staff at KBV had a very, "too bad, so sad for you" attitude, telling me that I had to call RCI to fix our room. When my husband went back to the office, he was somehow able to get us moved off the ground floor but still overlooking the parking lot. Be warned, there is a motorcycle racetrack next door that operates from sun up to sun down on the weekends. Be prepared for a lot of noise (we couldn't relax in the room it was so bad).

The room itself was okay, if a bit outdated. The furniture wasn't very comfortable and looked like something out of Miami Vice, circa 1986. The rooms all had fake plants that had a ton of dust on them, as did the blades on the ceiling fan. If you have allergies and problems with dust - stay away. Our bathroom wasn't very clean and always smelled a bit like urine. I'm convinced the toilets were simply wiped down and not cleaned with disinfectant. The showers also had mold spots in the grout.

The grounds looked like any condo development you'd find in the US, meaning that it wasn't particularly tropical in design and didn't have a lot of amenities for vacationers. It had one pool that was not headed and was nearly too cold to swim in. I will say that the jacuzzi was nice and the grills were a nice amenity.

In regards to the property being adjacent to the Radisson, this is true. However, I don't know that it reason enough to make your stay at KBV worth it. The pools there are cold and not heated. the jacuzzi was overun with kids every time we tried to use it, and the breakfast buffet is overpriced and not all that great.

As for the staff, they left much to be desired. When asking the front desk how to get to a restaurant in Kapaa, we were told they didn't know and we'd have to ask someone else. When calling for a phone number, we were told to use the phone book. Not the kind of service I'd expect from a gold crown property.

Overall, I would never recommend the KBV to anyone. If you're booking through an RCI exchange, I would recommend instead that you head to the Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy in Kapaa. The grounds there are tropical and inviting, with hammocks overlooking the ocean, the pool is warm and more than just a round cement hole in the ground, and the staff is kind and helpful. Definitely an improvement over the KBV.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Becky-in-Oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 511 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2005

Our family of 7, including grandparents and 3 kids, stayed in building complex B in a very large 2 bedroom/2bathroom condo from Jan 1- 8/05 at Beach Villas. It was a wonderful experience. We rented from an owner which I would recommend as we got an awesome deal. Prices will obviously vary with each owner. The condo was very clean, with all the amenities:A/C, d/w, microw., ect... My mom and I really appreciated the washer and dryer right in the unit. Our unit consisted of 1 king, 2 doubles which we pushed together to make a giant bed, and a queen hideaway in the living room. Each room had a TV with satelite hook up. There was no computer but had DVD player with stereo. Housekeeping came the 4th day to replace our towels other than that there is no housekeeping. We had access to the Radisson pools but we found ourselves staying at our own pool and hot tub as at the time our hot tube was warmer than theirs. (Radisson guests were coming to our hot tub.) Although the beach is only a 5 min. walk away, you can't swim there due to the rocks and coral. Our boys still enjoyed the waves up to their knees our first day but then we went to Lydgate Park, a 10 min. drive away, which is where we spent most of our beach time. It has a lifeguard and offers bathrooms/showers, an awesome playstructure and a place for kids to swim. (we couldn't use the kids area as the island just had a storm before we arrived and it was full of debrie) Watch out for timeshare pressure.

21  Thank momwith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2004

25  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2004

11  Thank Wendywins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2004

7  Thank Rissanela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2004

2  Thank pele5474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2004

8  Thank fandingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
0.1 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,421 reviews
12.1 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
3.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Villas

Address: 4330 Kauai Beach Dr, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lihue
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $248 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Beach Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Villas is set in Hanamaulu, 43 km away from Princeville. The accommodation is fitted with a cable TV. Some units have a balcony and/or patio. All units feature a kitchen fitted with a dishwasher and microwave. A refrigerator and kettle are also offered. Each unit is equipped with a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hair dryer. Bed linen is provided. Kauai Beach Villas also includes an outdoor pool and a hot tub. No elevators. Dear Guests, Resurfacing of our stairwells leading to our guest units is currently taking place through June 2018. Passage through these work areas may be required to access guest units. Additionally, you may notice construction related noise and dust between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday – Friday. Every effort will be taken to reduce the sound as much as possible and respond to any concern. Once again, mahalo for your understanding and cooperation during this emergency repair work. Warmest regards, Resort Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kauai Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel Lihue
Kauai Beach Hotel
Kauai Beach Resort
Pahio Kauai Beach Villas
Kauai Beach Villas HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing