We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elsewhere”
Review of Kauai Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kauai Beach Villas
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
GreenLeadersBronze level
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Stay elsewhere”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been coming to Kauai, our favorite island, for over 20 years. We have stayed at the south end, Poipu, north side, Princeville, but prefer Kapa'a for its central location and proximity to the Hindu Monastery, where we enjoy the daily pujas at 9am. We booked in October for a month, so our usual places were already booked, or didn't have a solid month of availability. Arriving at KBV, we found our unit (E-5), did not have working internet, and the kitchen was not fully stocked for cooking (no cutting board, cheese grater, or skillet). The management quickly rectified the kitchen items, and Craig, the property manager, was great. The internet was fixed our third day in, and required substantial wiring from the cable company. As other posters mention, the units are very dated, but that depends on the individual owner. Ours is like something out of the 1970's, with old stained carpet, a small tv that is not a flat screen, and wicker furniture. Ac in bedroom only, but it is cool this time of year, though I imagine it gets quite toasty in here in warmer months. We paid $4300 for the month, which seemed like a lot at the time, but I guess next time I will either book further in advance, or pay more for a more pleasing ambiance. Then, I had to fax something and went to the office to fax it. Initially, they said it would be $2 a page, then when they asked me what unit I was in they said they couldn't fax it for me at all, and in an insulting, very unfriendly manner, told me to contact the owner of my unit to find out where to fax things. Very very unfriendly. Having complained sufficiently, we are spoiled westerners who acknowledge our great good fortune at being able to take a month off in this tropical paradise. Just don't stay here without knowing what you are getting into. Places in Poipu are cheaper, newer, better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brucemitchell108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    205
    79
    33
    13
See reviews for
153
227
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit facing the "lagoon" and the pool area. The smell of mildew was overwhelming, especially in the master bedroom, but other than that, the place was fairly clean. Outdated and worn furniture and beds, but the kitchen was great - it was stocked with every necessity. The daily calls hounding us to attend the timeshare presentation were annoying. That said, we enjoyed our stay. The condo was roomy and the balcony had a great view. The adjoining hotel (Kauai Beach Resort) allows those staying in the villa to use their facilities, so we took advantage of the two beautiful pools there, as well as the spa. The lounge at the beach resort has live music nightly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginger3390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We arrived the last week in December 2012 and stayed until just past the New Year. We had a two bedroom unit. The unit had a well equipped kitchen if you like to cook while on vacation. The unit also had new flat screen TV's, which was nice. I would have to say that the rest of the unit was disappointing. The furniture is old and uncomfortable. The bedrooms have window AC units which are very loud. The main areas are not air conditioned. The pool area is small, but kept clean. There are several gas barbecue available near the pool area. Our unit backed up to the main entrance and there was construction going on. So, beginning at 7:30 am you would hear the "beep beep" of heavy equipment moving around, men hammering, etc. I don't know if moving to another unit would have helped, because on the other side of the complex was a dirt bike track. The noise of engines was very loud. And to top it off the place is over run with birds. The roosters start crowing at sun up. If you are a light sleeper or want some quiet, you will not like this place. The other things that we found disappointing are no lobby, restaurant, bar on the property. You can walk next door to another hotel and use their amenities if you like. And no maid service. I don't know about you, but when I'm on vacation I like to have maid service. The name "Beach" villas is also not very accurate. Only a couple of the buildings are near the water, the rest have no view of the ocean at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank INTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

When my wife called the timeshare trade service and they had a 2 week vacancy here on Kauai we jumped at it. They just finished renovating the timeshare condos and ours was beautiful. It was a two bedroom, two bath with living room, full kitchen and terrace that overlooked the pool and grounds. The bedrooms faced the mountains and had beautiful sunsets. Its centrally located on the island less than ten minutes from the airport and Lihue. Its adjacent to the hotel and we were allowed to use the hotels facilities. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms spacious. It was just the two of us so we each had our own bathroom. My wife loved that idea. The only fault was the unit does not have central air conditioning. There are a/c units in the walls in the bedrooms only. The bedrooms were very cool but it was hard to cool off the whole unit, but it was comfortable. Kitchen was fully equipped. There was a washer and dryer in the unit which was very handy since we stayed here for 2 weeks. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 96Roadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Well most of the reviews basically say all the same things i experienced. property is dated , beds are uncomfortable , but in ths plus side location is great views are nice and office people are pleasant and helping when possible.plus in the condo everything does work and is functional for the valve its woth it because most of the time we spent doing things on the island during the day and at night the bar by the beach people were all very helpful and kind .So its alittle dated still was a nice place not recommmeded for people who need the granite counter tops and first class all the time. For the average person i think its fine....hey youre in hawaiii what could be better ?????

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micror54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our first stay in Kauai after a short taste from our cruise ship stopover. Found this resort well located with a 15 minute drive to Costco, Walmart and the Kmart mall also to Lihue airport. Found the room that slept 6 was roomy with a good view of the pool and grounds. It was clean, well supplied with dishes and any extras we needed was promptly provided. Air conditioned in the bedrooms. Noisy but didn't need it at night as screened windows opened. Parking no problem. Did like the pool here as found most people went to the next hotel to use theirs so the pool here was generally quiet. Found the hottub a little on the hot side. Some games and books to borrow and a cupboard of some beach chairs and stuff left from other guests which was helpful. The staff was helpful and friendly but of course wanted us to sign for a timeshare spiel. Did sign for it not realizing it is a 90 minute commitment before you get your "goodies" Worth it if you plan on doing a lot of things as you do get a discount of about 25% and at this date also $100 towards certain things (groceries at Costco) for sitting through it. This place is near the beach but not a swimming one. Told we could snorkel but water too rough in December to do that. Need water shoes on most beaches we did see. You do hear roosters early in the morning but sleep with ear plugs so not a problem for me. There is a BMX track nearby and you do hear that some of the days. This time of the year it was not daily but don't know at other times. Felt safe walking around at night and a lounge at the hotel next door with local music at night. Would use this resort again. One downside is no elevator here so if you are on the third floor could be a problem carrying those suitcases up. Probably could get help if it were day but we were a late arrival and the office closed so got the key from the hotel next door so checkin was the next day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My first experience with my ocean view villa was a 24 hour delay in response to an issue with the ocean view door not locking. The door was rigged with a wooden broom stick as a lock to secure the door, the front dest personnel stated that is their security lock. Then housekeeping came by only to replenish the towels and did not clean or give enough toiletries for the entire 7 days that we stayed. The last bad experience was when inquired about a late check out. Erica Eluce , the receptionist, told us that we could not check out late, but after our 10am check out we could use the facilities and public showers and change in the public bathrooms before going to the airport. That was very degrading and disrespectful to us and in addition we are also Time Share holders.

Room Tip: Stay at the resort not the Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
0.1 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
12.1 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
3.0 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
782 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Villas

Property: Kauai Beach Villas
Address: 4330 Kauai Beach Dr, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lihue
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Beach Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Villas is set in Hanamaulu, 43 km away from Princeville. The accommodation is fitted with a cable TV. Some units have a balcony and/or patio. All units feature a kitchen fitted with a dishwasher and microwave. A refrigerator and kettle are also offered. Each unit is equipped with a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hair dryer. Bed linen is provided. Kauai Beach Villas also includes an outdoor pool and a hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kauai Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel Lihue
Kauai Beach Hotel
Kauai Beach Resort
Pahio Kauai Beach Villas
Kauai Beach Villas HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing