We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Place”
Review of Kauai Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kauai Beach Villas
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed in E-10. This place was horrible. The carpet was badly stained. The furniture was stained. There was dust everywhere. Half the light bulbs were burnt out. The kitchen appliances still had food on them. The shower curtain was moldy. The bathroom fixtures had rust on them. For something listed as a Gold Crown Resort this place was not it.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lovethesunAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 501 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2007

We stayed 2 weeks in unit G-6. it was newly done and was very clean. Decor was great, especially enjoyed the up-graded patio
furniture. A great location to be in, all the island is easy to get to from here. Beautiful view from the patio, enjoyed breakfast every morning there.Great beach with hardly any one on it. We have been to the islands over 25 times and this is one of the best condos we have stayed in. We give it an A+++. PS-the rental office is nice to work with.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 65vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2007

We stayed at the Pahio at Kauai Beach Villas w/o 12/15/07. We booked the unit through a timeshare exchange. The complex is located on the East side of the island making it centrally located but that was part of the problem. It actually is not located close to very many things except the airport which makes it necessary to do a lot of driving.

Be forewarned the units are very old with little money being spent on them. The unit we were in had a nice family area but that was where it ended. The bathrooms where small with combination tub/shower arrangements. ( rarely do I see timeshare units without walk in showers) The bathroom fixtures and chandeliers were old and rusty, bathrooms had no fans, some of the screen doors were falling off and you couldn't close them, and the tv's are old. Like I say this place is spending very little money!

The place is overrun with chickens and the damn roosters start crowing at 4:30 am. ( I counted as many as 8 roosters at one time) I don't expect them to exterminate the things but they sure could live trap them and remove them.

The staff is friendly and adequate. I believe Wyndham purchased the property earlier in the year and you can get a timeshare presentation if you like. They are not pushy about taking the presentation.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Themudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

We stayed in G-6 for 7 days the first part of December 2007. I would definitely recommend staying here. There is ample information already about the remodel on the owner’s website so I won't go into that. Yes, the remodel results are great. Contact the owner directly for all the info you might need as he is very helpful. The actual renting is done through Kauai Vacation Rentals & Real Estate where there will be a non-refundable $110 cleaning fee so no need to wash the linens before departure. The unit was for sale but that did not impact our renting. However, I would advise asking about the sale in case it would impact you. The AC set a 72 in the bedroom was very nice if your used to sleeping at cooler than Hawaii temperatures. Also has a washer and dryer, TV with VCR/DVD, and high speed cable internet. The entire grounds of the complex, pool, etc. are well kept and taken care of. For example, our neighbors’ refrigerator broke and someone from “housekeeping” was there to haul it away fairly quickly. I don’t know how soon they got a replacement. The patio looks out north down the coast which is very picturesque. The location is central for dining, shopping and exploring. It is a few miles north of the airport along Hwy 56 sharing the stretch of beach with the Hilton. Lihue is 5 miles south and Wailua/Kapaa are less than 10 miles north. There were maybe a handful of people on the beautiful beach (idyllic) that stretched for miles at any given time. The water/currents here are dangerous so if you want to swim, travel a few miles north to Lygate park.

The patio does look out to a dirt track along side the beach. We were at the condo maybe half the week and during that time there were maybe 4 hours total of motor escapades. It looks like a track where locals stop by now and then to run their dirt bikes and three wheelers and not a scheduled big event racing thing. When someone did show up, there were maybe 1-2 people. Not a big deal.

You can easily walk south down the beach but that side is more rocky than going north. The beach going north has a larger expanse of sand and visual appeal. However, to go north on the beach you must traverse a shallow “stream / pool” a few yards wide. The water was not even moving and depending on the tide was up to your knees. Only a problem if you’re handicap.

One last thing concerning Kauai’s weather and not the condo itself: Understand the weather before you go and set reasonable expectations. If you think you’re going somewhere to escape the mainland winter and only sun-bake for a week, you don’t know Kauai. The island has many other sites to see other than beaches; things you can do in the rain. Kauai gets as much rain as the Pacific Northwest and if you hit a Kona storm in the winter you may get a few washed out windy days, a few mostly sunny days and some in-between…like we did.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jandttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed in unit G-6 which has been recently remodeled. The condo is nicely decorated and very comfortable.

This unit is on the top floor of a three story oceanfront building. The unit is actually located on the side of the building, with a great view of the coast. We think that this is actually a little better than the units that face directly out towards the ocean, as you got a great view of the coast plus protection from the trade winds.

We really enjoyed our stay here!

Stayed: October 2007
Thank billr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

We just stayed in unit G-24 for 10 nights. We had a fabulous ocean view/corner 1 bdrm suite which was recently upgraded and very comfortable. The villas are centrally located on the island which made it really easy to go north to Princeville or south to Poipu-took about 30 minutes each way. The Hilton next door is available for drinks and food if you don't feel like cooking. It was also a nice option to bar-b-que fresh fish/steaks right outside our condo door. The pool isn't anything to write home about, but was nice and refreshing to take a dip in the afternoon.
I think it depends on the unit you reserve whether or not the accomodations would be satisfactory. I recommend contacting Kauai Vacation Rentals-they were great and will e-mail you pictures of the exact condo you reserve prior to booking.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sunset94971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

My wife and I just stayed here for 3 nights (out of 6 in Kauai, also stayed at the Sheraton Kauai Resort and the Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy). The Beach Villas were OK. We had a one bedroom and everything was fine, but nothing special. Hotel and furnishings are fairly dated, and the walls are pretty thin (sounds travel easily between units). That being said, we had tons of space and plenty of everything we needed. The resort is in a very central location on the island and it is fairly quick to get to anywhere. Would recommend staying in the Kapaa area instead of the Lihue area for a central location though. We enjoyed the Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy in Kapaa much more. Overall we can't really say anything bad about the resort (other than the beach in front of the resort is not swimmable or even worth sitting at, but there are plenty of great beaches close by). Nothing to write home about, but a decent choice.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lobbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
0.1 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,380 reviews
12.1 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Villas

Address: 4330 Kauai Beach Dr, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lihue
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $232 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Villas is set in Hanamaulu, 43 km away from Princeville. The accommodation is fitted with a cable TV. Some units have a balcony and/or patio. All units feature a kitchen fitted with a dishwasher and microwave. A refrigerator and kettle are also offered. Each unit is equipped with a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hair dryer. Bed linen is provided. Kauai Beach Villas also includes an outdoor pool and a hot tub. No elevators. Dear Guests, Resurfacing of our stairwells leading to our guest units will be taking place September 5, 2017 through January 1, 2018. Passage through these work areas may be required to access guest units. Additionally, you may notice construction related noise and dust between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday – Friday. Every effort will be taken to reduce the sound as much as possible and respond to any concern. Once again, mahalo for your understanding and cooperation during this emergency repair work. Warmest regards, Resort Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kauai Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Villas Hotel Lihue
Kauai Beach Hotel
Kauai Beach Resort
Pahio Kauai Beach Villas
Kauai Beach Villas HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing