We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good”
Review of Mark's Place

Mark's Place
Ranked #8 of 120 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Jacksonville, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So good”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This mixed plate place is great for takeout or you can stay and eat on the picnic benches provided outside. Portions are generous and savory. Teryaki chicken was freshly grilled. Beef was marinated and tender. Macaroni salad to die for. I hope we have time to go one more time!! Lots of good selections, even high end sounding plates.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicko591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    94
    31
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crows Landing, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Just as good as the reviews!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We tried this place based on the reviews. Excellent food, we even came back a second time. Our favorite was the teriyaki chicken, and brown rice. I was really surprised to be able to get brown rice. It is a great place if you are in Lihue, and want tasty healthy food for a great price. Our order was ready within 5 minutes and we ate out on the benches outside the restaurant. I always had leftovers for later.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyLovesJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great takeout for your condo or hotel”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Marks is a great place to eat, they do mostly catering but have a take out counter, you can get a great meal for around 9.00 usd which on this Island is great, fast friendly service and great daily specials, easy to find in the industrial area not far from Costco and Macys, I would recommend anyone that wants a great meal for cheap go here.
Two of us ate there for $23.00 which included 4 piece meals and deserts , worth looking up if you are here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank halfamileaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Total dive with great food. We tourists stick out like a sore thumb.”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Off the beaten path for sure. My wife and I have been to Kauai many times, but have not been here before. Found this place based on reviews on TripAdvisor. Filled with locals and a few tourists, which are not hard to spot no matter how hard you try to look natural! The by far the best was the teri-chicken. Yum! The worst was the teri-beef; it was almost like jerky. Skip the beef stew, unless you have a penchant for beef stew. The serving sizes are huge. One lunch plate can easily feed two. No indoor seating at all. We certainly would return, but next time, we'd probably get the food to go, and probably just the teri-chicken.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GH_ShrtOrDrCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top 5 taste for price deals on the island”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Delicious, quality food and generous portions. We stopped for lunch and noticed they have take out, family portion dinners to go which I will take advantage of next visit. I was told the wife of the owner is a pastry chef which explains why the piece of creamsicle cake was unbelievalbly delicious. And yes, it tased just like a 50-50 popsicle in cake form.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark's Place also viewed

 

Been to Mark's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing