We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Korean Chicken”
Review of Mark's Place

Mark's Place
Ranked #8 of 120 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Korean Chicken”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We almost skipped this place based on the guide book we had, but we were looking for some good local food and luckily looked online. The ratings were great, so we decided to try it, and we're so glad we did! The Korean Chicken is amazing!!! Like popcorn chicken, but the flavor is soooo great! The chicken cutlet, teriyaki beef and loco moco were good. If you want to try the spam musubi, make sure you go early as they run out quickly. The prices are very good for the huge portions they give. All food is to-go style (in Styrofoam containers), but you can just walk out the doors and sit at one of the picnic tables right outside (just don't forget the bug spray for the mosquitoes). It's located in an industrial area, which is a little odd, but don't let that scare you away. This place is great and you should definitely not miss it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    92
    31
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Plate Lunch I've had on 4 Islands”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife have been to 4 different Islands on Hawai'i, and I have gone out of my way to find the best plate lunch on them (Maui, O'ahu, Big Island, Kauai). Mark's is it. Why? The Udon noodles underneath the protien, the protiens, the price, and the variety. I got the Teriayaki Steak and Chicken Combo, and was able to sub out mac salad for a tossed salad with the yummyest dressing I've ever had. Hands down, Mark's is the place to go. It's a little off the path, but WELL worth it. Also, they offer mini plates with a protien and one scoop rice which was perfect for my wife. While there, we saw the owner purchase a cooler of fish caught just an hour prior. THAT'S FRESH! ALOHA!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bootleg711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great green swamp
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Can't tell its an eatery from outside”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

You'll probably want to use your garmin to find this one. It's a great place to get a Hawaiin plate lunch. My husband got the fish with salsa and he said it was excellent. I got the special, the beef - very tender.
It's particularly nice for those of us who hike and beach it all day. You can come here grubby - order at the counter and pull up a picnic table or take it back to your hotel. No inside seating, just decent food. Service was excellent, friendly.

Over all the food was good, lots of it and good price. And as stated, needed to find an outside place after hiking all day.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swampsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Bento boxes!”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The first chance we get once we arrive in Kauai, we head for Mark's Place for bento box lunches before we head for the beach. They are onolicious! For a great price, we get teri beef, chicken, hot dog, salad, hash patty, slice of spam and rice. What a great deal and very friendly staff. For good local grinds, look no further!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spunkymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little out of the way place.”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stopped in around 5pm (9/6/11) and picked up dinner. Great food, fresh cooked and the staff was friendly. Being an everyday guy this was my kind of place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LyleZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark's Place also viewed

 

Been to Mark's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing