We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excited to see an authentic Mexican restaurant”

Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 120 Restaurants in Lihue
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Fairfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excited to see an authentic Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We all four ordered taco salads, ground beef were terrible, cold meat, few black beans, mainly lettuce and some sour cream and guacamole on top. Same for chicken and shredded beef. Will it have that again, also refills on soft drinks were extra and also extra for additional chips and salsa.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    130
    88
    35
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avondale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serviceable Mexican fare”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you're jonesing for Mexican food in Kauai, this is place to go! We stopped in for lunch after taking our helicopter tour of the island. Great value, and really good food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DesertDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalapaki Beach, Lihue
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun outdoor atmospher, delightful service and good food”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Excellent , focused service, fresh food, sitting outside; very enjoyable night out! I also ate there for breakfast and loved the coffee dark and rich flavor.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Finally!! Tasty Mexican Food in Hawaii”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have been to Oahu, Maui, The Big Island and now Kauai. This is the ONLY place we have found food that resembles actual Mexican food. Now mind you, we are from San Diego, I grew up less than 5 miles from the Tijuana border so I realize I may be a little biased, but I can honestly write and recommend Mariachi's. My husband had the Chili Relleno combination plate and ate all of it. I had the Chicken Fajitas. There was so much food I couldn't eat all of it. We sat talking with a gentleman that now lives on the island that is orginally from Los Angeles and he said the same thing about this place being the closest he has come to actaul Mexican food. We have eaten at other Mexican places in Hawaii and left completely dissatisfied and hungry only to eat something when we got back to the vacation rental. Great Place to eat!

Helpful?
Thank drmebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Abundant, good food ,friendly service”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We are not big fans of Mexican food. However Mariachi delivered tasty enchiladas and fish tacos , large portions, and the waitress was very friendly and helpful. I saw no negatives in the meal. We took back the leftovers for a snack this morning.

Helpful?
Thank os2wiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing