We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Authentic Mexican Restaurant - Awesome food and excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant

Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 116 Restaurants in Lihue
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Aiea, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Restaurant - Awesome food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were staying in Kauai for the weekend and while driving around exploring the island in our rental car, we heard an ad on the radio for this restaurant so we decided to go. My family is from Oaxaca Mexico and I was thrilled to hear the cooks were from there as well. Our server was from Sonora Mexico and other staff members were from Mexico City, Rosarito, and other places in Mexico. Being Mexican I asked what they recommended for our authentic taste. They offered me the chicken mole from Oaxaca and they offered my boyfriend enchiladas, especially made for him (spicy). They had dos XX on tap. Awesome time, fantastic food, authentic to the core, would love to go back to Kauai for this restaurant. I highly recommend it!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aieagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    113
    78
    30
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, RI
Level Contributor
220 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican choice...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice view, outside dining, adjacent to a small shopping area. Very good prices for the area. Of our four meals, the carnitas ($19) were the best. Chile Verdi ($17) was so-so, refried beans did not look homemade. Excellent beer prices ($4 for Coors, $7.50 for 24 oz Modela). Service was adequate. Total lunch bill was $95 (4 entrees, 4 drinks, no appetizers). Overall a decent place and worthy of a return trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edtoby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho, USA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Shocker!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Wow were we surprised to find such good Mexican food in Kauai. We travel the world and this is actually one of our best finds. The servers were very nice and friendly and constantly checked to see if everything was ok. The warm chips, homemade salsa and guacamole were perfect. The beers were super cold and dinner awesome. Also, the price was very good, especially for Kauai!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeslieIdaho_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The service was wonderful. the view of the beach was nice. great balcony. The food was very good. I loved the chicken enchiladas. The Margaritas were fantastic!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a taste of old mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

A nice place to sit and have a beer and good food. Everything was prepared just the way it should be. Being from NM we know good mexican food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Transplanteds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mariachi's Authentic Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing