We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome show”

Kauai's Best Luau - Hawaii Alive!
Ranked #3 of 5 Concerts & Shows in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hawaii Alive Luau Show is an outstanding show that brings you a unique and authentic Polynesian cultural experience through live traditional chants, music, drumming and dancing from the islands of Hawaii, Tahiti and Samoa. The show is located within the Marriott's enchanting tropical gardens and includes live music, an interactive host, traditional and modern hula, ancient chants, a chance to learn the hula yourself, Tahitian dancing, and the thrilling Samoan fire knife. We also offer optional private dining prior to the show, which you can enjoy with just your family or guests in the open air at the Kaua'i Marriott's Kukui oceanfront restaurant.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome show”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a large group of 18 including children as young as 6 and teens up to 18. All had a great time! show was very entertaining and had audience participation. We even were able to have seats all together reserved. Highly recommended

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    19
    15
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The dancers were great, singing and venue not so great”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were purchased tickets for the show only due to the previous comments on Tripadvisor! We were told to arrive at 7:00 p.m. stood in line until they opened at 7:30 p.m. the introduction was slow, singing was poor - Tiny Bubbles were terrible! When the dancers were presented the show picked up and was good. It lasted a total of 1 hour, there was no bar (who has ever heard of a Luau without a drink. Sat on folding chairs. I can't believe that this is the best show.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 0604sherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall great experience!!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We attended the luau in late January and had a great time. There were vendors on property to buy local goods and I found them to be very nice. The buffet was good with plenty of options. The drinks were great....Blue Hawaiians!! The show was more of a theatrical performance but it was good!! Had a great time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank chad p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome luau show - far exceeded expectations”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is not a huge Vegas-style production. There were ~100 people attending when we were there and it is clearly a show run by a family (their 3rd generation of the show) that loves to share culture and history with visitors. The heart and spirit of the performers and audience contributed to the production and made it all the friendlier.

We had been warned that many luaus were overly kitschy and tacky - this was simply too genuine to be that. From kids to a 77-year old uncle on the ukulele, everyone was having a great time.

We skipped the dinner and just went to the show at the advice of reviews, so cannot review the meal.

We'd recommend this with highest recommendations for anyone interested in a pleasant and entertaining show. (P.S. Parking is apparently free for non-Marriott guests).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
164 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent show--no poi-eating required”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was such a great alternative to a luau! The show was excellent--good music, talented dancers, and the keikis were so cute! Really loved the fire dancers, too. They only do this show on Monday nights, so be sure to plan ahead to attend. They take a photo as you arrive--I asked the photographer if my eyes were closed, and he said, no, it was a perfect picture. Guess what, my eyes were closed, so he missed a sale at the end.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank an2net_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai's Best Luau - Hawaii Alive! also viewed

 

Been to Kauai's Best Luau - Hawaii Alive!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing