We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great experience!!”

Kauai's Best Luau - Hawaii Alive!
Ranked #3 of 5 Concerts & Shows in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hawaii Alive Luau Show is an outstanding show that brings you a unique and authentic Polynesian cultural experience through live traditional chants, music, drumming and dancing from the islands of Hawaii, Tahiti and Samoa. The show is located within the Marriott's enchanting tropical gardens and includes live music, an interactive host, traditional and modern hula, ancient chants, a chance to learn the hula yourself, Tahitian dancing, and the thrilling Samoan fire knife. We also offer optional private dining prior to the show, which you can enjoy with just your family or guests in the open air at the Kaua'i Marriott's Kukui oceanfront restaurant.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall great experience!!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We attended the luau in late January and had a great time. There were vendors on property to buy local goods and I found them to be very nice. The buffet was good with plenty of options. The drinks were great....Blue Hawaiians!! The show was more of a theatrical performance but it was good!! Had a great time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank chad p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    19
    15
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome luau show - far exceeded expectations”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is not a huge Vegas-style production. There were ~100 people attending when we were there and it is clearly a show run by a family (their 3rd generation of the show) that loves to share culture and history with visitors. The heart and spirit of the performers and audience contributed to the production and made it all the friendlier.

We had been warned that many luaus were overly kitschy and tacky - this was simply too genuine to be that. From kids to a 77-year old uncle on the ukulele, everyone was having a great time.

We skipped the dinner and just went to the show at the advice of reviews, so cannot review the meal.

We'd recommend this with highest recommendations for anyone interested in a pleasant and entertaining show. (P.S. Parking is apparently free for non-Marriott guests).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent show--no poi-eating required”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was such a great alternative to a luau! The show was excellent--good music, talented dancers, and the keikis were so cute! Really loved the fire dancers, too. They only do this show on Monday nights, so be sure to plan ahead to attend. They take a photo as you arrive--I asked the photographer if my eyes were closed, and he said, no, it was a perfect picture. Guess what, my eyes were closed, so he missed a sale at the end.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank an2net_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent show!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I can't imagine why anyone would give this show anything less than an "excellent." It's a family run show that has entertained many celebrities, including John Wayne, for decades. You can't beat that! The master of ceremony gave the audience a very genuine welcoming, explained a little history of Kauai and introduced his nephew and son, two musicians in his band. It's an hour long nonstop cultural cornucopia that includes several hula, Samoan fire knife dance, Tahitian dance and live musicians. In the middle of the show, members of the audience volunteered to go on stage to perform some hula. What a nice touch! This show is perfect for couples, friends, and family and really worth the money ($50 per person). It's located in the beautiful Marriott Resort in Lihue (near the airport) and while we weren't staying at the resort, parking for nonguests is available for free. We skipped the actual luau dinner (an extra $50 per person) after reading some negative things about it and ate dinner at a nearby restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobalCitizen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Smaller is Better”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is not the spectacle you may get at the larger, buffet-style venues. But the performances are authentic and the setting is much more intimate. If you are staying at the Marriott, it is not only convenient but just a great way to absorb a little Hawaiian culture and appreciate the beauty of the islands and their people!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SnowbirdOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai's Best Luau - Hawaii Alive! also viewed

 

Been to Kauai's Best Luau - Hawaii Alive!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing