We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beach - Great View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalapaki Beach

Kalapaki Beach
Ranked #4 of 55 things to do in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Beach - Great View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

This beach can be accessed from the street or via the Marriott Kauai Resort. If you like gentle waves and soft sand, this is the place. Always can find a pick-up beach volleyball game if you are in the mood.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    208
    61
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
773 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Nice Family Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Kalapaki Beach, which overlooks Nawiliwili Bay and Hoary Head Mountains is located along the beautiful grounds of grass and palm trees in front of Duke’s Restaurant and the Kauai Marriott. This beach offers a variety of water activities and public restrooms & showers. If your not staying at a nearby hotel, then parking can be difficult to find. We ended up parking in the lot next to JJ’s Broiler.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MitchPhyllis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for our last afternoon in Kauai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We truly enjoyed the beach in front of the Marriott Resort on our last afternoon in Kauai. The grass area, shade from the trees, great beach and surf offered a bit of everything. Recommend this as a great beach stop!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJMbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This beach was in front of our hotel, so we had a good chance to inspect it. While the water isn't a beautiful transparent blue color that some of the Kauai beaches are, the beach front & sand are very clean, there is a beautiful mountain view, and it is a great beach for paddle boarding w/fairly gentle waters. We felt very lucky to look out of our hotel room window and see this beach every day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach Located within the Kauai Marriott”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Since our Cruise ship was at the port, this beach was the closest beach within walking distance from the ship. It is one of the most beautiful beaches to be on. This public beach is situated next to the Kauai Marriott, so the grounds next to the beach is beautiful with grass, then sand, then the ocean. There are palm trees for shade, and enough space for both Marriott guests and everyone else. Even tough you can use the beach, you cannot use the lounge chairs provided by the Marriott. This is an inlet beach - you can see NCL's Cruise ship docked. There are beautiful views all over.
A number of restaurants are available in the Marriott, you never go hungry. Shops/restaurants line the outer streets as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ljc5855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalapaki Beach also viewed

 

Been to Kalapaki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing